Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but much much better
As a die hard NFL fan, purchasing Madden every year is essential. I loved Madden 11. I bought Madden 12 expecting more of the same, and it was actually worse, alot worse in some ways. I was very wary of Madden 13.

It is a pleasant surprise. EA have been fairly bold this year, and have changed a lot of the features and options this game is known for. The classic...
Published 22 months ago by Godfather of soul

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some issues
There are some things that I dont like and most of all - the inability to change the positions of the players and to have the opition to change ratings during the gameplay, really anoying.
I bought it "used" from Amazon store and also it could be my fault because I overlooked something but I dont remember if it was mentioned that the online pass was already...
Published 17 months ago by eMs1


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but much much better, 5 Sep 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
As a die hard NFL fan, purchasing Madden every year is essential. I loved Madden 11. I bought Madden 12 expecting more of the same, and it was actually worse, alot worse in some ways. I was very wary of Madden 13.

It is a pleasant surprise. EA have been fairly bold this year, and have changed a lot of the features and options this game is known for. The classic Franchise mode has been merged into the Superstar mode to create the Career mode. Essentially it is an extended version of what you had before. The hysteria saying there is no Franchise mode is ridiculous. At it's core Coach mode is fairly similar to what there was before - you control a team, draft, trade and sign players and play each game throughout the season if you wish. The main addition is that you gain XP pts for your team achieving certain goals. This XP can then be used at your discretion for benefiting your team. It is basically Franchise mode with a few more bells and whistles. The only difference is that if you want to change team a few seasons in, or you want to just take charge of one player, you can do so without having to go right back to the start - all the progression that has occured won't change. There is no fantasy draft anymore, and you can't change the attributes of individual players as and when you wish, but I always found that a bit silly anyway as I want my team and players to be as they are in real life.

However, modes aside the core is gameplay. And again, a pleasant surprise. It just feels better. Passing feels much more realistic. Recievers only become available when they are looking for the ball. Defenders can only defend a pass when they are seeing the ball, so no more 7 foot leaps by linebackers facing the wrong way to intercept your pass. Blocking is much better, you have to be patient and let the blocks set up. I've noticed this a lot more on kick and punt returns, where you don't get hammered after 2 yards like last year. Play-action passing actually works for a change, you don't get instantly sacked. The new physics engine is pretty good, hits look more realistic.

There are a few imperfections here and there, the AI can be a bit iffy at times, GameFlow can get it totally wrong, players fall over each other like drunkards after a play etc etc BUT, it feels like a much better game. It looks better, it plays better, it's presentation is much more polished. It isn't perfect, but it's a big step in the right direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some issues, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
There are some things that I dont like and most of all - the inability to change the positions of the players and to have the opition to change ratings during the gameplay, really anoying.
I bought it "used" from Amazon store and also it could be my fault because I overlooked something but I dont remember if it was mentioned that the online pass was already used. Now if I want a new pass I have to pay additional 8 pounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best update yet, 31 Aug 2012
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madden NFL 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
I've been playing the Madden NFL series religiously for as long as I can remember (I think the first one I played was John Madden Football on the Megadrive in about 1991) and always buy the update every year. Some years I have noticed some big changes which more often than not do work (for example Hit Sticks were a brilliant addition) and sometimes not (removal of the Sprint button) and I must say that with Madden NFL 13 it is very impressive for the most part.

The first thing you'll notice when starting up this game is that the presentation is the best yet. There are the commentators in the commentary booth to open up the game, motion blurring actually adds to the realism, there are NFL Films inspired cut clips in the game between plays which look fantastic. The controls are more fluid than ever too, with quick action plays you can fly through a game in a more fast paced arcade style if you wish, or you can open up the playbook for a in depth way of playing. Madden Ultimate Teams (MUT) is much more improved this year and is a lot easier to work towards your own ultimate team. Online is much more reliable and faster to get into a game then I can remember before, especially if you sign up to a community where you can sign straight into a game with someone else that you may have played before.

So everything is all good (I actually think that this is the best Madden yet, gameplay-wise) so why only 4 stars? Well, this is a massive issue that many people (myself included) will not be happy about - EA Sports have decided to remove Franchise Mode from this year's addition and have replaced it with Coach Mode. This is a big mistake in my opinion as now other than the new Coach Mode, MUT and the Madden Moments, there is nothing else for people who wish to play offline on their own. It's not a massive issue for me personally as I mainly play this online or head-to-head but I can imagine this will make a lot of people unhappy, so be warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seeing Through the Internet Smoke, 2 Sep 2012
By 
S. Behrens "Shaun" (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
It seems that in the US, the internet has gone crazy over this game. And not in a good way either. This review is not a review as such, but is hopefully a voice of reason for someone considering purchasing Madden 13, but who has been a little put off by the outcry.

The main complaints of the public seem to be a "lack of franchise mode", "no fantasy draft", and "no local co-op in franchise mode".

Up front, I'll state the truth about what is a blatant misconception:

THERE IS A FRANCHISE MODE.

It's just no longer called "Franchise Mode". You find it under CONNECTED CAREERS > CREATE A COACH. And don't believe it when you read that you "cannot play solo franchise mode offline" anymore. That's rubbish. There is an option that lets you specifically set up an offline connected career as a coach.

The next two points would have some use as a kind of "buyer beware" warning, if they weren't posted with venomous vitriol by a thousand 16 year olds: there is, in fact, no fantasy draft anymore, and you cannot play local co-op in franchise mode.

First up, fantasy draft: this option in previous Maddens used to allow you to have all the NFL players in a huge draft, letting you select your team from scratch for franchise mode. This is no longer a feature in Madden 13, meaning you have to start with the default rosters. If this was a main reason that you used to play Madden, then you should be cautious about buying it. For me, however, it's not an issue, as I only used fantasy draft once in a Madden game before.

Secondly, local co-op for franchise mode (or a coach connected career, as it now is): This might be a bummer if you liked to play franchise mode season by season with a friend in your living room, each of you controlling a team. This feature is no longer there, and again, you need to be cautious if this was something you valued from the previous games.

For me, these are the only two things you would need to be cautious about. And, as far as I'm concerned (but I may be terribly mistaken here), I would think only a minority of people would honestly be put off by these two features not being included. Which makes the exaggerated protests against Madden 13 even more ridiculous.

The fact of the matter is that this is by far the best Madden I've played. Ever. And I feel like this is another case of internet hate going way too far, and perhaps causing some people to miss out on what is truly a great sports game. We've unfortunately given these unintelligent, hop-on-the-bandwagon internet trolls way too much power - the demands for a Mass Effect 3 rewrite springs to mind. There is nothing wrong with complaining about what you see as issues with any game, but when the user score on a review aggregating site like Metacritic are at around 5/10 based on untruths or over-the-top condemnation, then that ends up being a little misleading to readers trying to get an understanding of the pros and cons of the product.

So, to summarise: Madden 13 is fantastic (you can read about the good things in other reader reviews here). Only if you value the old fantasy draft feature (which will no doubt be back for Madden 14 after this internet hue and cry) or you loved playing franchise mode in local co-op, should you think twice about getting this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Madden NFL 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
This is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars game, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
A little complicated in the terminology for beginners but again worth the effort to understand and play. So much so they are still playing it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars i guess he liked it, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
got it as a gift for my brother who said he enjoyed it but it was not as good as the demo made it out to be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Is that all?, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
Gameplay physics and Inplay graphics are very good!!
Only in english... Every Other Game can handle the Languages..
The graphics around the Game are poor.. The crowd looks like nintendo 64..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NFL 2013, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
Freat - apart from they have removed create your own franchise. ( which was a great feature of previous games )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Addicting, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
I've never really been amazing at NFL games but decent/good, anyone that just wants a good game that gets addicting when you get into it then this is up your street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Madden NFL 13 (PS3)
Madden NFL 13 (PS3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews