Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much better than Fifa..
I'm fairly new to Ice Hockey but entirely new to the NHL series despite being a Fifa player since the '95 version! I have to say, I find it far more realistic to hockey than Fifa is to football. The detail is incredible. I was impressed by how much detail there is in the commmentary, they even referred to the last game I played and what a certain player did in it. The...
Published on 10 Nov. 2012 by C. Preece

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's fine...
not the biggest fun of the menu and the tutorial for the game is not so nice.
also had a lot of problems with the game pass if the game is not sold in your country
Published on 4 Feb. 2013 by miguel costa


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much better than Fifa.., 10 Nov. 2012
By 
C. Preece "ChrisP" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: NHL 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
I'm fairly new to Ice Hockey but entirely new to the NHL series despite being a Fifa player since the '95 version! I have to say, I find it far more realistic to hockey than Fifa is to football. The detail is incredible. I was impressed by how much detail there is in the commmentary, they even referred to the last game I played and what a certain player did in it. The arena announcer announces scorers and assists. Overall it's an incredibly realistic experience.

Regarding gameplay, it was tricky at first even on rookie level, but I got the hang of defending and there is a great satisfaction to be had in scoring although it often takes a lot of shooting to score but I'd rather it be a challenge than for it to be easy to score. There's also a great variety of goals that can be scored. A minor issue I found was that I never got powerplays. In about 50 games as Sudbury Wolves I got 2 or 3 powerplays. However, since starting an NHL season on Pro level I've had a few more and the opposition is far more physical on that level. Saying that, I've found that very few fights occur during a game.

There's a great number of options for game modes but it's a shame there's no career or manager mode, only a single season mode. The winter classic is great (and an easy trophy) but I haven't played online very much and I've had problems connecting with both NHL and Fifa. The GM mode could be good but a drawback is that if you don't have many friends who play NHL (which is likely in the UK) then I'm not sure there's a way to enter that mode of play.

I give this 5 stars and it's highly addictvie but if they added the British Elite League, I'd add some metaphorical stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ellen Ash Treize Bon, 15 Sept. 2012
By 
Johnny Pancakes (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHL 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
A great game. Finally it is a match for FIFA in terms of graphics and gameplay. On the graphics side the presentation is much better than before with relatively close player likenesses instead of generic faces for all but the top stars; there have been subtle changes to the lighting which makes everything look more realistic; the cut scenes actually match where the players were on the ice and what they were doing; Martin Brodeur's mask is the official one!; the Winter Classic looks stunning and it is great to be able to pick your favourite team and have them on the main menu. Gameplay-wise the True Performance Skating gives a completely different feel to everything you try to do in terms of offence and defence. Once mastered it's a massive improvement over previous NHL's. As far as shooting goalie's can be scored on more easily in some ways and not as easily in others. Five-hole shots will work now while cross-creasers aren't a sure-fire goal anymore. The hitting seems to have been toned down and this goes for colliding with goalies where it won't automatically lead to a penalty with so much ease as it did in NHL 12. A new feature is the Chop Puck which is a brilliant addition; great for keeping the puck away from the opposition more effectively than the poke check or even to pass to team-mates. NHL Live Moments is an old idea but new to NHL and it makes for some interesting challenges. The game isn't perfect but it's undoubtedly the best-looking and best simulated version of a hockey game there's ever been. About a thousand times better than NHL 12 that's for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best nhl ever, 19 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHL 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
got it in november and still my fave game !!! real value for money , u get so much with this game !! online , season . ultimate team !!! loads !!! since the nhl lockout this has kept me sane . love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's fine..., 4 Feb. 2013
By 
miguel costa (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHL 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
not the biggest fun of the menu and the tutorial for the game is not so nice.
also had a lot of problems with the game pass if the game is not sold in your country
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well, my son does, 21 May 2014
By 
C. Smith "Kit Smith" (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHL 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
extraordinarily detailed - play with your favourite real-life stars if you have any, make your own team up if you don't. Can't imagine how they get the detail. And the commentary is great. He spends hours on it & can't wait to get the next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Price., 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHL 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
Bought for my partner. He loves this game and praises it highly. Worth waiting till a game is a little older to get a much better price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Clean Fun, 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHL 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
It sometimes seems hard to get an exciting game that isn't full of violence and smut for pre teens. This was just what is required, It was very well received. We're already planning the next version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHL 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
Great fun. Recommend it to anyone who likes playing sports games. Get on it you will find it fun as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's on the tin!, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHL 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
It does exactly what it says on the tin! Bought it and (as usual) was delivered within 3 days. It's a great game - the new skating physics really do add to the gameplay AND the goalies are a bit improved this year. I should point out though, that if you haven't already bought NHL 13, NHL 14 is due for release in September and that looks like a big one - with lots of improvements to Be A Pro (Live the Life I think it's called now, something akin to NBA2K13's career mode) and the fighting experience to be sooped-up. If you don't see a great deal (£20 tops) I'd wait for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars game, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHL 13 (PS3) (Video Game)
My son loved his new game and did not take long to come and he was pleased with it thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NHL 13 (PS3)
NHL 13 (PS3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
£9.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews