Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoya slim circular polarising filter: Quality at a very fair price!
I've given a five-star rating because, first and foremost, the optical quality seems to justify such a rating. Also, the slimline mount seems to be very well engineered: Just the right amount of friction to keep the filter at the chosen angle, but easily rotated as required, with a smooth, 'quality' feel to the movement.

The slim mount is great for use with a...
Published 16 months ago by Laurie M

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to unscrew
I purchased this slim CPF to replace a standard width Hoya CPF that I had purchased for my Panasonic FZ200 bridge camera which causes vignetting at the corners when using the widest angle setting. This slim version has a very narrow (1.5mm) ring that screws onto the lens which unfortunately also has a slightly smaller diameter that the threaded part it screws into. This...
Published 3 months ago by Wookeyhole


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoya slim circular polarising filter: Quality at a very fair price!, 7 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've given a five-star rating because, first and foremost, the optical quality seems to justify such a rating. Also, the slimline mount seems to be very well engineered: Just the right amount of friction to keep the filter at the chosen angle, but easily rotated as required, with a smooth, 'quality' feel to the movement.

The slim mount is great for use with a wide-angle lens, or when using the polariser in conjunction with a second filter: Less likely to cause vignetting than a standard-thickness rotating holder.

Only been using the filter for a few weeks (bought it to go with a new Nikon DSLR), but first impressions suggest quality and reliability.

No surprises, really, as I've been a Hoya user for many years, but it's nice to see their quality being maintained, and available at such a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent piece of kit, 1 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does it just the way it should. Its always in my camera bag ready for use and it works perfectly on my Sigma 10-20 lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as quite good as my Sigma, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pretty good but vignettes on my Canon 17-40mm at 17mm with a Lee Wide angle 100mm filter adapter - OK at 19mm which is that I do - however 1/2 the price of the Sigma - happy overall if I remember to shoot at 19mm :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent colours, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this to cut glare when taking photos across water but the most noticeable difference in the pictures is the colour enhancement. Clouds become more evident. We recommend to any serious amateur - professionals will already have one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hurrah for hoya, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Build quality is very good works like dream, but for a big name in the filter Field so it should. I would recommend this seller as delivery was very quick. I would definitely buy again if or when needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to unscrew, 30 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this slim CPF to replace a standard width Hoya CPF that I had purchased for my Panasonic FZ200 bridge camera which causes vignetting at the corners when using the widest angle setting. This slim version has a very narrow (1.5mm) ring that screws onto the lens which unfortunately also has a slightly smaller diameter that the threaded part it screws into. This makes it extremely fiddly and difficult to remove from the lens. This is not helped by the fact that the ring seems to 'stick' firmly in the fully screwed in position. I have now gone back to using my standard width Hoya CPF which also has a smooth and easy unscrewing action. I do not now use it with the widest angle setting of the camera. I have given it two stars because it might be OK with other cameras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hoya Polarizing filter, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I trust in Hoya products most of the time, never let me down. gone are the days of the A series filters and welcome to the days of Polarizing filters. You may pay a little more but at least it won't drop into the ocean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect fit from HOYA as you would expect, I use it on my Canon 50mm 1.8 in conjunction with a 52mm UV that's already on and the hood with no problems what so ever with it. Top product and great quality as you would expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the second Hoya Polarizing Filter -last one different ..., 12 Jan. 2015
By 
H Smarty (leicestershire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second Hoya Polarizing Filter -last one different size they do exactly what they are made to do if used as should be your landscape photo's will come out brilliant- well packaged and arrived on time-slim design and fits perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Seems a good polarising filter, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seems a good polarising filter. It stays on the camera, so has been in use for every photograph taken since purchase. Any faults in the pictures have been mine, not the filter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews