Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why not? It's a good collection!
Look, I acknowledge that this is yet another compilation; nothing `new' as such.
But this is Mike's personal selection - what he likes about his music and it does differ from previous offerings.
Here we have the very well known, the quite well known and a few are - by comparison, less familiar.
Yes, there are sections `Tubular Bells' - of course and the...
Published on 1 Aug. 2012 by Ben Bottle

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for newbies to Mike's music.
Ok, if you don't own ANY Mike Oldfield albums at all and want a good introduction to his work - start here. It's a broad sampler of his career and covers pretty much everything that will either convert you or make you realise just how much you hate his work. Oldfield is musical Marmite and does his own thing. You either like it or lump it, frankly.

If you...
Published on 3 Aug. 2012 by Ian Armer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Two sides, The very best of Mike Oldfield., 20 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield (Audio CD)
This is a compelation of Mike oldfields best. If you enjoy his music this is a CD you should not be without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good purchase!, 19 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield (Audio CD)
I happened across this playing in a local music store and decided after much deliberation that I would order it here online.

It's a really good listen and was purchased with the intent of listening to in the car should we go for a drive.

If the buyer should like to listen to this CD in the car, I suggest playing the second disc rather than the first as the first CD has a few 'sudden' loud and unexpected moments in certain tracks that might not be expected by the Driver and might make them jump.

However, all in all, a good purchase. ^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Compilation!, 7 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield (Audio CD)
Although I suspect that most Oldfield fans will have just about everything on this two-disc package, it is still an important addition to a fan's discography of one of Britain's finest Composer/Performers.
A great selection of both longer and shorter pieces - it delights throughout!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Two Sides - Mike Oldfield, 29 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this album, but was dissapointed with Tubular Bells, it was only the first part without the Bells, (Good job I still have the original on Vinyl)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb 40 year career overview, 14 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield (Audio CD)
A very good overview of Mike Oldfield's career from the seminal Tubular Bells in 1973 this double CD set spans 40 years right up until Music Of The Spheres in 2003.

And at this price it's a steal!

Highly Recommended, a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two Sides Of Mike Oldfield., 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not certain all tracks are Mike Oldfield - definitely not original versions - vocalists appear different on quite a few tracks from what I remember
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best., 26 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield (Audio CD)
To me each Mike Oldfield album is best of. This selection is really the best of the very best albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Maestro, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield (Audio CD)
Another compilation this time Mike's own choice. Aimed at collectors I feel but obviously all good stuff!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield (Audio CD)
Very good compilation which makes a good addition to anyone's Mike Oldfield collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield (Audio CD)
BRILLIANT AS EVER. MIKE OLDFIELD - FANTASTIC. I DO HAVE 4 OF
RECORDS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield
Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield by Mike Oldfield (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews