Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why not? It's a good collection!
Look, I acknowledge that this is yet another compilation; nothing `new' as such.
But this is Mike's personal selection - what he likes about his music and it does differ from previous offerings.
Here we have the very well known, the quite well known and a few are - by comparison, less familiar.
Yes, there are sections `Tubular Bells' - of course and the...
Published 24 months ago by Ben Bottle

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for newbies to Mike's music.
Ok, if you don't own ANY Mike Oldfield albums at all and want a good introduction to his work - start here. It's a broad sampler of his career and covers pretty much everything that will either convert you or make you realise just how much you hate his work. Oldfield is musical Marmite and does his own thing. You either like it or lump it, frankly.

If you...
Published 24 months ago by Ian Armer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why not? It's a good collection!, 1 Aug 2012
By 
Ben Bottle (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield (Audio CD)
Look, I acknowledge that this is yet another compilation; nothing `new' as such.
But this is Mike's personal selection - what he likes about his music and it does differ from previous offerings.
Here we have the very well known, the quite well known and a few are - by comparison, less familiar.
Yes, there are sections `Tubular Bells' - of course and the delightful `Ommadawn', but nothing from `Hergest Ridge' and `Incantations' - and I can see why, despite the fact I am very fond of the latter.
He's added a few chunks of the wonderfully mad and sublime `Amarok'
What really pleases me personally is the inclusion of the entire end section of `Crises' - that magnificent segment that builds and builds as master drummer Simon Phillips lets fly with some thunderous drumming gradually dominating the multi-layered guitar and keyboard theme. In my opinion - spectacular stuff!
This is followed by shorter pieces such as `Sentinel', `Ascension', `Supernova' and `The Tempest'; all, pleasing enough and good to hear.
Side Two features a more "vocal" approach - and this is where I feel less inclined.
The quirky and slightly silly `Guilty', kicks it off and it is a varied bunch, but Mike's choice. There are instrumental interludes, including the gentle and charming `Etude'.
I paid 8 for this and am more than happy with my purchase; it's pretty good value for money and following his performance at the awesome opening ceremony of the 2012 Olympics, it might prove to be a good introduction to those "new" to his work.
Tubular Bells hits 40 in 2013 and Mike hits 60! You just cannot take away the magnitude of his influence and contribution to popular music. Yes, it has, at times, been a tad patchy and erratic but - on the whole, pretty impression.
Cannot really justify 5 stars but a very worthy 4!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars two sides...more like three or four!, 4 Aug 2012
This review is from: Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield (Audio CD)
Is this the best way to get a taster of Mike Oldfield? Well yes it is.

The fans will tell you that there is a lot of great stuff missing from this disc and they would be right. There's nothing here from Incantations, Platinum or QE2 for example which is a lot of people's favourite Oldfield era but nevermind! If you like what's on Two Sides and investigate further you'll get to that sure enough. Oldfield's output is a bit of a mine field because over 40 years his taste has been very broad indeed. So this collection may show you what to avoid as much as what to delve deeper into. I recommend taking the plunge.

On a slight tangent; don't let the sleeve convince you this just another Tubular Bells release! It's sleekness and chill-out vibes may also give the impression of a chill-out artist but Oldfield's music is much more than that. He's at times earthy, gutsy, dramatic and highly emotive, the sleeve fom 1985's complete Mike Oldfield painted a more appropraite picture.

And to sign off...I've gotten into the habit of telling Oldfield fans about a young whipper-snapper by the name of Andrew Taylor who has released an album called Mohribold (google it). If you like Oldfield you'll love Mohribold! There are some Oldfield-esque moments but he's got his own style too. Maybe he's one to watch out for since Oldfield has called for an instrumetnal rock renaissence after his Olympics appearance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive sampler, 2 Aug 2012
This review is from: Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield (Audio CD)
I was pleasantly surprised at the choice of the extracts included here. Not only is there a good half of Tubular Bells Part 1, but there also sublime sections taken from other instrumentals which provide more than just the 'pretty bits' for new listeners. The Africa section from Amarok is here- parts 1, 2 and 3- the whole damn Sondela including 100 zulus and a personal message to Richard Branson in morse code. The finale from Crises includes the entire build up as each element comes together to form an atomic explosion of sound in astonishing depth. You get the bouncy bit from The Lake and the whole Songs of Distant Earth overture in Ascension.

If you need a sampler with a view to starting out listening to Oldfield- or are a casual fan who wants some highlights to play in the car- then this is the collection to buy.

If you are a rampant purist, only the whole album will ever do...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for newbies to Mike's music., 3 Aug 2012
By 
Ian Armer (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield (Audio CD)
Ok, if you don't own ANY Mike Oldfield albums at all and want a good introduction to his work - start here. It's a broad sampler of his career and covers pretty much everything that will either convert you or make you realise just how much you hate his work. Oldfield is musical Marmite and does his own thing. You either like it or lump it, frankly.

If you own Mike Oldfield albums already, this is pointless outside of the fact that Mike himself chose the excerpts.

For those new to Mike's music - *****

For the rest of us - *
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Oh!, 1 Aug 2012
This review is from: Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield (Audio CD)
It's got to be five stars for content and value but I can't programme either of the discs. Is the problem the discs, my cd player or is it my "weak in t'head" Derbyshire roots? Is anyone else struggling?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LISTEN TO IT, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield (Audio CD)
GOOD VALUE I LIKE IT. TA LOTS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield (Audio CD)
I bought this for a friend for her birthday and I was was very pleased that it came with a free mp3 download for me! Very good album, have played it back to back continuously. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Collection, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield (Audio CD)
As avid Mike Oldfield fans purchased this to add to our collection. Good collection of a cross section of all his albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tubular Bells +, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield (Audio CD)
Felt the need to hear this out, don't know why, just did. mind you I am glad I did. Pleasant surprise with Virgin's first signing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two Bells, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield (Audio CD)
Magnificent Mike at his best he compiled this double cd with some of his finest music to date i would recommend this to any fan of the man himself. Some say the songs are cheesy but when you think how much material mike has produced over the years, the songs stand out for themselves. Hes also worked with other great musicians and female vocalists which on this cd sound superb, so go and buy it and turn up the volume you won,t regret buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield
Two Sides: The Very Best Of Mike Oldfield by Mike Oldfield (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews