Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent card.
This is a great card for the money, this honestly made me think about why I people pay so much for a high end cards.

Getting some great FPS on anything I play, usually at least 45fps on games like just cause 2, on games like blur i'm getting over 60fps. However it did seem to struggle on test drive unlimited (It was dropping frames rather than running slowly)...
Published on 12 Nov 2012 by Lou

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Multiple monitor issues
The card itself was installed and running fine with one monitor (VGA Port) only started to have issues when trying to connect a second monitor to the DVI ports which just do not seem to be working at all ! I have tried DVI cables and VGA to DVI converters and even tried using other monitors but the DVI ports just will not pick anything up.
Published 22 months ago by Ben


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent card., 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus Nvidia GeForce GT 640 Graphics Card (2GB DDR3, PCI Express 3.0, VGA, 2x DVI-D, HDMI, Nvidia 3D Vision Ready) (Accessory)
This is a great card for the money, this honestly made me think about why I people pay so much for a high end cards.

Getting some great FPS on anything I play, usually at least 45fps on games like just cause 2, on games like blur i'm getting over 60fps. However it did seem to struggle on test drive unlimited (It was dropping frames rather than running slowly). Struggles slightly with euro truck simulator 2 on ultra, for comparison, I was getting about 32fps.

I also believe it has 3 monitor support, which is very handy for me being into my photo editing and design. Currently running 2 monitors no problem.

Overall, I'm extremely happy for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Price/Performance sweet-spot!, 4 Feb 2013
By 
LMD (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus Nvidia GeForce GT 640 Graphics Card (2GB DDR3, PCI Express 3.0, VGA, 2x DVI-D, HDMI, Nvidia 3D Vision Ready) (Accessory)
Firs things first, this is a functional mid-range performance graphics card that does a great job of balancing performance with connectivity and price. I was in the market for replacing an 4-year old ATi Radeon card and needed something that supported VGA, DVI ad HDMI. I wanted something that was of at least equivalent performance but that wouldn't break the bank. At about 70 quid, this certainly hit the right price-point. A quick check on some 3d benchmarking websites showed that it was an equivalent performance and it had all of the connectors I wanted. Job done.

Installation was simple. The cooling system is much smaller than my old card and it runs fairly cool so is nice and quiet. It doesn't need an additional power connector which makes it a bit less fiddly too. Once fitted, Windows 7 recognized it without any problems and started to download the drivers from the web, which meant that you didn't have to use the supplied driver CD if you didn't want to. If you want to use any of the graphics tweaking utilities that the card supports though then you need to use the supplied CD (or visit the nVidia website). I'd recommend going to the website straight away to be honest as it's almost certain there's been a sizable patch released since they cut the driver CD in the box and you'll save your self a tedious installation and subsequent download/upgrade cycle by getting them fresh from the website.

Driver installation was not a problem. The nVidia control panel enables you to tweak the display in just about any way you want, including changing the screen-size to better fit unconventional displays (like Plasma TVs). It's been rock solid in use so far and it even gave me an improvement on the graphics element of my windows Experience score (from 7.0 to 7.1). All things considered, a great value card if you're after something to do web browsing, photo editing, office tasks and the occasional PC game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asus GeForce GT 640 - Powerful, Overclockable and Good Value, 8 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus Nvidia GeForce GT 640 Graphics Card (2GB DDR3, PCI Express 3.0, VGA, 2x DVI-D, HDMI, Nvidia 3D Vision Ready) (Accessory)
This is a really good graphics card and is very good value for money. I know that Asus Nvidia graphics cards are extremely good/reputable among many top brands. The Nvidia logo is on alot of games, so there's no chance of incompatible games (this has happened to me with other brands).

I was able to play games like, Borderlands 2, Crysis 2, Fifa 13 and Gears of War on their highest settings without lagging. It also scored a windows Experience Index rating of 7.1 in Windows 7 64-bit.

The Asus overclocking utility, which is included, gives you the ability to boost the performance of the graphics card and make game play a little more powerful. Auto-updating of the drivers is possible too. I really like these features.

Beware that this graphics card takes up two PCI slots, and the fan/heat-sink is quite bulky (not low profile). Make sure your computer has enough space, and take note that the graphics card fan shouldn't be blocked by other PCI cards. There are four display outputs, but i recommend you use the HDMI port if you have a HD or 1080p display monitor. There is no need to connect the PSU to the graphics card, as all its power is handled by the motherboard (but ensure your PSU chucks out enough power).

Overall i really like this graphics card and performance-wise, it's got enough juice to keep up with the latest/future games (GTA 5, Crysis 3). I will stick with the Asus Nvidia branded graphics cards in the future and i recommend this brand to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth what I spent, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus Nvidia GeForce GT 640 Graphics Card (2GB DDR3, PCI Express 3.0, VGA, 2x DVI-D, HDMI, Nvidia 3D Vision Ready) (Accessory)
I bought this thinking I'd need a good graphics card for my new computer. I use a 36" tv and the picture is crystal clear and when on games no jumping or blurring even at high speed car games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars perfect for the money., 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus Nvidia GeForce GT 640 Graphics Card (2GB DDR3, PCI Express 3.0, VGA, 2x DVI-D, HDMI, Nvidia 3D Vision Ready) (Accessory)
i bought this card for a gaming pc i was building, i previously has a radeon 5450 and it done the job. It was alright for the small price of £35. but once i got this card, performance increased drastically. on the old card i would play Call of Duty 4 low settings about 50fps, on this on high settings it's a constant 91fps. Minecraft, over 250 fps on high settings. every hitman game, constant 91 fps again. it's just AMAZING for the money, so glad i bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU BUY NOW, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus Nvidia GeForce GT 640 Graphics Card (2GB DDR3, PCI Express 3.0, VGA, 2x DVI-D, HDMI, Nvidia 3D Vision Ready) (Accessory)
For the price I was skeptical but this is a great graphics card, I can get very high settings out of most games and even medium settings out of The Witcher 2, no mean feat.

Very satisfied, fan is virtually silent also. great product by the team over at Nvidia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best GFX card that does not require External Power, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus Nvidia GeForce GT 640 Graphics Card (2GB DDR3, PCI Express 3.0, VGA, 2x DVI-D, HDMI, Nvidia 3D Vision Ready) (Accessory)
Pros:
+2GB of VRAM - Plenty and good for 2+ monitors
+can power 4 monitors
+Silent - Can not hear it over other fans
+Powerful - Can play BF4 at 1080p Medium to high settings
+nVidia Geforce experience - Optimizes Games for you

Cons:
-Easily bottlenecked - MY core 2 duo 3.0Ghz CPU bottlenecks it.
-No minidisplay port - Meh... not fussed but some people may want it.
-DDR3 RAM - Could be faster with GDDR5 RAM

Gaming:
Bf4: 1080p medium-high settings 40-70 fps*
Crysis 2: maxed 1080p 60+ fps
BF3: same as BF4 exept more settings can be on ultra* = 40 - 70fps
Minecraft: Come on... This GFX card eats minecraft as a snack - 200+ fps
GTA IV: High settings 1080p* = 25 - 30fps

Overview:
Best card under £100 and does not require power

Note = Games with a '*' on the end are CPU heavy... therefore meaning my CPU bottlenecks the GFX card... therefore giving me low FPS...

Will update when new CPU arrives...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Multiple monitor issues, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus Nvidia GeForce GT 640 Graphics Card (2GB DDR3, PCI Express 3.0, VGA, 2x DVI-D, HDMI, Nvidia 3D Vision Ready) (Accessory)
The card itself was installed and running fine with one monitor (VGA Port) only started to have issues when trying to connect a second monitor to the DVI ports which just do not seem to be working at all ! I have tried DVI cables and VGA to DVI converters and even tried using other monitors but the DVI ports just will not pick anything up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Gobsmackingly Beau-u-u-tiful, 7 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus Nvidia GeForce GT 640 Graphics Card (2GB DDR3, PCI Express 3.0, VGA, 2x DVI-D, HDMI, Nvidia 3D Vision Ready) (Accessory)
I am gob smacked, at the power of this card. I installed it into my computer, installed windows 7, then installed Tomb Raider 2013 set the in game graphics to maximum and absolutely fainted at the sight and game play. This card is unbelievable. It comes with a built in fan, 2 gig ram, 2 DVI's, 1 VGA and 1 HDMI socket. The only problem with this card is when you watch your XBMC which I have set up through Linux, as I have two operating systems running on one machine. Linux Qiana cinnamon and Windows 7, on two different installed hard drives. I have the HDMI cable running to my telly 30 feet away and when you try to watch something you need to have two monitors on at the same time. Now unfortunately, when old drivers like NVIDIA drivers go out of date, they become free for Linux users, but they don't do what you want them to do, unless I need to read up and get programming? Not sure.

Maybe I should get a Raspberry PI for XBMC as I have heard they are rather good as a player. This card is well worth it if you are a hardened games player, it does what it says on the tin. I highly, highly recommend this, why buy a expensive one, when this one will do all your gaming needs for you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING GRAPHICS CARD !!!!!!!!!!!, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus Nvidia GeForce GT 640 Graphics Card (2GB DDR3, PCI Express 3.0, VGA, 2x DVI-D, HDMI, Nvidia 3D Vision Ready) (Accessory)
I got this card for my new gaming build ... This card is cheap but for the price you get more than what you would expect ! i also purchased a copy of Crysis 3 along with this card just to see if it could handle the game that is known for having the most demanding graphics... i was told id be lucky to get at least 15-25 fps with this card on low settings, however when i installed the game and played it for the first time on high settings and got 30-50 fps !

I would defiantly recommend this card to any pc gamer with little cash to spend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews