Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars16
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£15.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 August 2012
I've never heard any Eclipse before this album,but i read a few reviews(as you do) and they all raved about it...so off i went. And on first listen i was very impressed,just the right mix of edge & melody,and a superb production job too! As i've said before,if a c.d makes you listen to the end...then go back for seconds,it's got something,this is one of those!
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
It's rare these days that I go and buy an album on the strength of one track, but a pal sent me a link to two of Eclipse's tracks on YouTube (Wake Me Up and the album's title-track) and I was blown away. I went straight to the Amazon Cloud and downloaded it.

And you know how annoying it is when you buy an album of the strength of one-track and the rest turn out to be weak in comparison? Well, this one is the exception. Every track is a winner.

So what are they like? Well, combine musical influences like FM, Tyketto, China, Treat with some of the tight guitars from bands like Within Temptation, Bonfire, Dragonforce and The Rasmus and add a vocalist who on occasion sounds a lot like Helloween's old singer Michael Kiske in my humble opinion, and you have Eclipse.

I have a feeling I'm going to hear this album quite a few times before I move on to anything else, it's THAT good.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
This came highly recommended in Fireworks magazine with a track on their cd and as I knew of the musicians, it was a no-brainer.

Two words, BUY IT. It's packed full of massive riffs, hooks and harmonies, just the way the Scandanavians do things now.

It's little wonder that this region is now dominating melodic rock. I am soon compiling my top 10 cd's of the year for a rock Facebook page, no surprise, this will be No1.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2012
Big Guitars, Big Choruses, Lots of Melody, Great Production.. Bleed & Scream is an absolute gem of an album, over the last few years Melodic Rock has seen such a resurgence, a lot of which is down to those folks at Frontiers Records with releases (to name a few) from Work of Art, W.E.T, Toby Hitchcock, Jeff Scott Soto, Hardline and now this stunning CD from Eclipse.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
Eclipse get better and better , is there any limit to there talent , it think not . The world needs to wake up and appreciate proper rock music again
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
I once read an article on the letters page of Classic Rock magazine where the writer complained that it was rare to be excited by any new music and that he yearned for the days of his youth when he was so taken by a new record that he would listen to it over and over again and tell everyone he knew that they simply had to get into this band . " Bleed and Scream " by Eclipse " is one such release . From the opening to the closing track the band have provided a masterclass in creating songs with a sound and feel that I would describe as " heavy melodic rock " . From their website and press release I understand the band wanted to make the record they really wanted to and it shows . The arrangements are crisp , with the playing being understated yet stunning ( I never thought I would single out the invention and complexity of a drummers fills and rolls above all else on a record of this nature ) . Devotees of the genre may hear elements of all their favourite bands - to this listeners ears , the guitars most evoke Whitesnake and Blue Murder era John Sykes . The songs themslves are so full of familiar riffs and hooks that you wonder how they can not been written before - the opener " wake me up " and " bleed and scream " being prime examples . " Battlegrounds " takes a celtic rock vibe similar to Gary Moore's " over the hills and far away " , the chorus and harmonies on " SOS " suggest The Rasmus whereas the titanic closer " after the end of the world " could be Joe Lynn Turner era Malmsteen . All in all ; a fantastic Work Of Art ( pun intended ) . On a side note , I would heartily recommended you explore the links to other similar artists - they may not all be as good as this but its where I found other great bands like H.E.A.T and Doogie White's release date !
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
Bought this album having read comments in reviews and listened to snippets on Amazon. To say this album is brilliant,does not give it the full credit that it deserves. The track "Bleed & Scream" has one of the most hypnotic tunes of all time and is closely followed by "SOS". I do hope that there is more to come from this group!! Without any doubt, Sweden certainly is the breeding ground for all that is good in classic rock.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
Honestly, in the opening tracks I thought I was hearing the follow up to Treat's 2010 epic, Coup de Grace. Then, moving forward Bleed and Scream began to sound like a mixture of the same with Whitesnake. But those were first impressions.
Fundamentally, Bleed and Scream is a pure melodic hard rock album in the best tradition. It moves on the strengths of great vocals and vocal arrangements, compelling guitar solos, good melodies, and catchy lyrical hooks, all with sharper, near metal, edge. As with the previous album, Are You Ready to Rock, there are no ballads. Although, A Bitter Taste fools you at the start with its slow opening as does About to Break, but both turn into more anthems than ballads.
The rest of the album simply rocks with the formidable vocal/guitar power of Erik Martensson/Magnus Henriksson putting the smack down on your ears. Bleed and Scream, the first single, accomplishes this with vigor. Battlegrounds is a rock romp, moderating between heavy and catchy. Falling Down has that feel of a Whitesnake rush. Generally, its' all good and sounds great with no filler. Are You Ready to Rock had a few dodgy tunes, but that's not the case here. Martensson said they wanted to out do themselves with the new album. With Bleed and Scream, Eclipse raised the bar for themselves and leaped over it. Strongly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Great melodic and hard rock music - and even better when seen live at Bannerman's Bar in Edinburgh (I am no relation to the owner/title of said bar). Grab this album - and in my view I will be buying ALL their work. Delightful, musical, and fun, which is what music should be about....Exceptional musicianship as well in my opinion (and for those who wish to criticise my view, I have seen Ace Frehley, Bruce Kulick, Brian May, Steve Vai, Adrian Vandenburg, Doug Aldrich, Slash, Pete Townsend, Keith Richards, Neil Schon etc live... these guys can really play and deserve much more success than they appear to be getting.

Buy this album....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
i cant quite describe the effect this cd had on me its a mix of hard rocking melodic heavy guitar slinging ricochet of an album if that makes sense i need to see the bullet cases to validate genuineness of this very very good platter
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)