Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense and gripping
"The Journals of Jacob and Hyde" by Randall Morris is an intense and gripping read. Spoken directly at the reader at times it does draw attention right away, particularly with the opening statement "I am schizophrenic," then taking it back and modifying the statement several times. This style intelligently plays with the reader and forces us to 'listen' carefully and...
Published 22 months ago by ChristophFischerBooks

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of time but at least it was brief.
Frankly I dont know how this got published or what some reviewers were thinking. A promising opening gave way to a short story that could have been written as a year 11 school homework essay. Almost totally lacking in suspense, predictable in places with 1 dimensional characters; I read to the end hoping for better but will definitely not be reading others in the series.
Published 13 months ago by D. Gordon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense and gripping, 21 May 2013
By 
This review is from: The Journals of Jacob and Hyde (Jehovah and Hades Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
"The Journals of Jacob and Hyde" by Randall Morris is an intense and gripping read. Spoken directly at the reader at times it does draw attention right away, particularly with the opening statement "I am schizophrenic," then taking it back and modifying the statement several times. This style intelligently plays with the reader and forces us to 'listen' carefully and follow the plot. I don't often like this kind of involvement of the reader and prefer to be lulled into a story but in this book the concept works very well.
We all have heard of the monster story of Jekyll and Hyde. Jacob, narrator for most of the book, tells us how his family is involved and related to the monster story. The rage of the monsters is an analogy to schizophrenia. In the book there are one Jekyll and one Hyde gene circulating, both monster genes but one enables the person to more control of the rage than the other. Jacob is one of last people carrying the 'benign' gene. He is also a teenager in love and an orphan.
The book is well written although in true "Brechtonian" style Morris keeps taking us out of the story by bringing in philosophical debate or unexpected and large jumps in the timeline towards the end that took me out of the flow and experience a little.
This is a very intense, clever and demanding story yet hugely enjoyable and definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 15 Mar. 2014
By 
Jane Roberts (West Lothian, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journals of Jacob and Hyde (Jehovah and Hades Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Gripping story. Loved all the background on the characters and the twists in the story. Found it hard to stop reading kept wanting to find out what happened next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of time but at least it was brief., 10 Feb. 2014
By 
D. Gordon (Lisburn, Co Antrim) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Journals of Jacob and Hyde (Jehovah and Hades Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Frankly I dont know how this got published or what some reviewers were thinking. A promising opening gave way to a short story that could have been written as a year 11 school homework essay. Almost totally lacking in suspense, predictable in places with 1 dimensional characters; I read to the end hoping for better but will definitely not be reading others in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
DjD (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journals of Jacob and Hyde (Jehovah and Hades Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Refreshing variation on the Jekyll and Hyde story.
The author chooses to write in the first person and quickly draws you into a world of violence and suffering.
Enjoyed every bit of it. Any chance of more on this storyline?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 7 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journals of Jacob and Hyde (Jehovah and Hades Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Written in the first person this book draws the reader in from the very first page as Jacob Stevenson attempts to explain his condition and recall his first experience of 'Hyde'.
Well written, well researched, it's a compelling read, offering the reader the opportunity to hear both sides of the Jekyll and Hyde story.
I enjoyed it all...except the last chapter, told by Hyde, which I felt was unnecessary as it only serves to explain to the reader all that has gone before but, as the story is so well written, these questions and ideas are already in the reader's mind.
It's a short book and I would have loved more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Twist, Excellent, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journals of Jacob and Hyde (Jehovah and Hades Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
We know the story of Jekyll and Hyde, but the Journals of Jacob and Hyde has a great twist on the original story. Jacob is the narrator of the story and tells us about his life growing up with the Hyde gene and how he learnt to deal with the angry of Hyde and how they live together, Jacob likes to call himself a schizophrenic, but is that really the case, we could all say we have a little of Hyde in us when we get angry.
This is an amazing modern day take that doesn't follow the original story line, the ending is great and would love to see if the author does anything to follow the story along with the family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different, but good different, 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journals of Jacob and Hyde (Jehovah and Hades Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Randall Morris
The Journals of Jacob and Hyde

From the very first sentence of the introduction this book will grab you, and you'll be questioning the sanity of the author. Once you get past the introduction, the story takes off with its unique continuation of Jekyl and Hyde. I love different, and this book fits right in with that. This story is fast paced, and has a few interesting twists to keep you turning page after page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!!!, 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journals of Jacob and Hyde (Jehovah and Hades Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a unique story.

Told from the writer's perspective was a fantastic way of getting the readers attention.
I really enjoyed reading this and following Jacob as he tries to control"Hyde" throughout his life.
Not alway's an easy task especially when he feels anger.
I really did enjoy this story and thought it was a fantastic way of bringing an old story into modern times in a realistic way without stepping on the original books toes!!!
Would love to read more about his son's lives though and how they come to terms with everything!

A very unique read and well worth anyones time!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews