Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irresistible Northern Soul
Clocking in at 1 hour & 49 minutes it's impossible to find fault with this two disc collection of vintage Motown Northern Soul classics. The Motown beat inspired the whole Northern Soul scene and though often imitated, the Motown beat was never bettered. Highlights include Barbara McNair's majestic 'Baby A Go-go', Gladys Knight & The Pips epic 'Here Are the Pieces of My...
Published on 23 Aug 2012 by OMG! It's got a plug!

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good tracks but a lot of them are very average
A lot of songs for not a lot of money but not quite as expected. Some good tracks but a lot of them are very average. I suppose you get what you pay for. Not really recommended
Published 4 months ago by J. R. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irresistible Northern Soul, 23 Aug 2012
By 
OMG! It's got a plug! (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Floorshakers (Audio CD)
Clocking in at 1 hour & 49 minutes it's impossible to find fault with this two disc collection of vintage Motown Northern Soul classics. The Motown beat inspired the whole Northern Soul scene and though often imitated, the Motown beat was never bettered. Highlights include Barbara McNair's majestic 'Baby A Go-go', Gladys Knight & The Pips epic 'Here Are the Pieces of My Broken Heart' (where Knight delivers one her finest ever vocal performances), the sweet soul of The Isley Brothers 'My Love Is Your Love (Forever)' and two songs from one of Motown's best kept secrets, Brenda Holloway.

There are dozens of Northern Soul compilations of variable quality released each year but anything bearing the Motown logo never fails to deliver. There are some tracks that overlap but this is a fine companion to the 'Cellarful of Motown' series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a must-have !, 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Floorshakers (Audio CD)
There are tracks here that most Motown freaks would have expected.
But,wonderfully enough, there are also tracks that will be new to
mosts ears - absolutely outstanding !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent crossover between Motown & pure Northern Soul, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Floorshakers (Audio CD)
Some of these tracks were commercial chart hits for Motown, others are a little rarer, - so an excellent crossover, and worth it just for the original Brenda Holloway's "Think it Over ( Reconsider ) "
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking !!!, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Floorshakers (MP3 Download)
Good spread of tracks on this compilation, some well known, some more obscure, i do have the 45's of some but they are struggling to keep their condition hence the purchace of the album.
Definate recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep The Faith, 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Floorshakers (Audio CD)
Well what an awesome collection of my favourite Motwon Northern soul. Jo Wallace has put together a stunning compilation and has one of my all time fav tracks " My Weakness is You" by Edwin Starr. A great value compilation and will be hoping for volume 2 soon Jo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a bargin, 10 July 2012
By 
I. Milne "motown soul" (aberdeen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Floorshakers (Audio CD)
for a fiver it's the bargin of the year 40 motown gems put together by jo wallace ,nice choice of tracks, yes alot of the tracks have been released before but to have them all in one place and at a knock down price you have to have in your collection ,also included is ruben howell's "you cant stop a man in love" which i just getting my head around ,and i think this the first time it's been on cd ,jo give us another one i will leave the tracks to you as your taste is excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motown Floorshakers reviewed By StefC Leek Soul Club the home of soul., 13 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Floorshakers (Audio CD)
What value for money can't fault this compliation CD2 does it for me especially Gino Parks and O.C Smith.some harder to find stuff on CD2 but both CDs are top notch. Can't really say no more its a BARGAIN get it purchased .Reviewed by StefC c/o Leek Soul Club the home of Soul.
Omnce again the service through Amazon first class.How do they sell things so cheap?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thats my summer soundtrack sorted then..., 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Floorshakers (Audio CD)
Got mine in the post today...
Gonna have to buy another for the car tho...
Loving it, upbeat start gets ya rockin...been dancing round me bedroom like a goodun...
Anything with Jo Wallace's name alongside it has to be quality, and as usual, she's really delivered here...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Floorshakers (Audio CD)
Great songs on this album , this is a must have for any Motown / Northern Soul fan. Keep up the good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Floorshakers (Audio CD)
A definite must buy for any Motown/Northern soul fan. Brilliant tracks, will get you dancing round your living room reliving your youth! Fantastic stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Motown Floorshakers
Motown Floorshakers by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews