Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant depiction of London's streetlife in crisis
If you're a fan of Plan B and his music then you'll adore this in-your-face, intense blast of aggressive urban realism. The big surprise for me - movie enthusiast - was that it's also a cinematic knockout. Stylish and compelling; great characterisation, vibrant but not overwhelming soundtrack, and some very deft plotting of multiple narratives involving the ensemble...
Published on 11 Aug. 2012 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You're a bad man now........
I wasn't looking forward to this at all. It looked like it was some pop star who had just fallen in the right place, and wanted to cash in on his fame.

But, I never really knew who 'Plan B' was really, apart from some dodgy pop songs.

How wrong I am though, and it takes a lot for me to admit i'm wrong. Ill Manors is easily one of the most disturbing...
Published 17 months ago by Corey Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant depiction of London's streetlife in crisis, 11 Aug. 2012
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ill Manors [DVD] (DVD)
If you're a fan of Plan B and his music then you'll adore this in-your-face, intense blast of aggressive urban realism. The big surprise for me - movie enthusiast - was that it's also a cinematic knockout. Stylish and compelling; great characterisation, vibrant but not overwhelming soundtrack, and some very deft plotting of multiple narratives involving the ensemble cast. If this had been produced in LA it would be a worldwide winner.

The themes, situation and even the overall style of Ill Manors aren't anything new, however. Imagine a mash-up between the first season of The Wire: Complete HBO Season 1-5 [DVD] and Clockers [DVD] [1996], set in the skanky London backstreets of Misfits (Series 1), and you've nailed the mood. Spike Lee melded street music, brutal drug-culture street life and the corrosive effects of gang culture at least 15 years ago, and Ill Manors interprets those same themes on the streets of contemporary London.
But that doesn't diminish Ill Manors in any way - it tells a gripping storyline, packed with punchy 'didn't see that coming' moments of startling drama. It veers from blunt street violence to examining the nature of friendship and loyalty in a snapshot. If you ever wondered how 'nice kids' get dragged into gang, drugs and gun culture then this film sheds light on the power of peer pressure, on the need to conform, to gain respect... even at the expense of another human life.
At time the action and language should make you flinch: there's no avoiding the brutal treatment of kidnapped young women forced to work as prostitutes or the dehumanising demands of a drug addiction. However, this isn't a depressing film, nor a pessimistic one. It strips away the bravado of the young bulls with all their swagger, and highlights the appalling unforeseen consequences of their actions. Violence inevitably breeds more violence... but there is hope. Some can and do choose not to fire the gun, or not to turn away from another person who needs help.

The first half-hour is a bit overwhelming, perhaps too impressed with tricksy filming techniques and a barrage of abuse from all quarters. But thereafter it rips along at a compelling pace, chopping between seemingly unrelated events to weave them into one extremely satisfying conclusion. And look out for the tribute scene to Taxi Driver [DVD] [1976] [1999], and a cameo from John Cooper Clarke.
Easily offended folks definitely should not watch: the script reminded me somewhat of Casino [DVD] [1996] for its creative use of invective. As the action highlights the unvarnished, sordid side of life, so crude and explicit drug use, sexual activity and language are front and central in most scenes.

It's rough around the edges, but all the better for that.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You're a bad man now........, 1 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Ill Manors (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
I wasn't looking forward to this at all. It looked like it was some pop star who had just fallen in the right place, and wanted to cash in on his fame.

But, I never really knew who 'Plan B' was really, apart from some dodgy pop songs.

How wrong I am though, and it takes a lot for me to admit i'm wrong. Ill Manors is easily one of the most disturbing 'urban' movies I have seen in a while. heavily influenced by the two Clarkes Noel and Alan, Drew has given us a film that oozes propaganda and pleas.

The film interlinks three stories, just Like Pulp Fiction, and the narrative is the fantastic haunting soundtrack.

Ahmed is as good as he always is, but is let down by some of the cast, who are just poor in their roles. These people stay in character all through the film, whereas in real life, is just a facade for the street.

The imagery is stark, especially in the baby rescue scene, and it really does deliver it's message, very bluntly.

On a 100k budget, Drew has made a very professional looking movie, and I look forward to seeing what he has to give us next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best British film since 'This is England', 31 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Ill Manors [DVD] (DVD)
This is truly a fantastic film by Ben Drew - AKA Plan B. It depicts several crime-based stories all set in Forest Gate, London. The stories connect like Pulp Fiction, only far more brutal and harrowing, giving the viewer an accurate image of just how hard times are in places. Watching this film also makes the soundtrack album much more enjoyable than it already is. Forget 'The Avengers' or any other 2012 film - Ill Manors is the one to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dubstep cinema at its best, 4 Feb. 2015
By 
Colin McCartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ill Manors [DVD] (DVD)
On the face of it, "Ill Manors" looks like it might be heavy going - and it kind of is, but its fast pace and unpredictable story keep the viewer hooked until the end. Whilst it's a harrowing watch, it is surprisingly, not depressing. Whilst I think this film is still maybe just slightly too long, it was 40 minutes in before I even looked at my watch. An innovative debut from Ben Drew who, on the strength of this, I think we can expect great things from as a director in the future. As another reviewer mentioned, "Ill Manors" does seem to be influenced to an extent by TV series The Wire: Complete HBO Season 1-5 [DVD], although whilst that was largely based on a work of journalism, this I suspect is based on actual life experience. The cinematography is also quite similar to "The Wire" in places though "Ill Manors" is much less character-driven than the former. Fans of Nicholas Winding Refn's Pusher Trilogy [DVD], Mike Leigh's Meantime - Special Edition [1983] [DVD], Ridley Scott's American Gangster Extended Edition [2007] [DVD]" and John Cooper Clarke (- watch the film and you'll see why) should also check this one out.

4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for your collection, 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ill Manors (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Worthy of the hype, 'Ill Manors' is a gritty, powerful anti-LockStock, making Kidulthood look like an amateur production. The multi-talented Ben Drew is a genius, and if he branches out into other genres in future films, he could prove to be one of the greatest writer-directors this country has produced. Nice touches include raps that link and explain scenes (something I don't think has been done before in film), and the inclusion of punk poet John Cooper Clarke (btw, where's the punk album you promised us, Plan B?). Riz Ahmed's acting is as fantastic as always, and he's supported by a fantastic cast.

This film is, simply, a vital addition to your home movie collection.

Karl Steiger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, gritty, twisted stories linked together nicely, accompanied by a raw narrating soundtrack, 12 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Ill Manors [DVD] (DVD)
If your familiar with Plan B's style of storytelling through his music then it will be of no surprise to you just how good he tells the stories of many different people with different lives and paths all very cleverly linked together by the desires they chase and the shockingly harsh circumstances they face, the films title 'Ill Manors' is exactly what you will see, nothing has been prettied up and it doesn't side step any of the the ugly realities in urban life that a lot people are unaware of, some choose to ignore and for many people is day to day business, something else that should be noted is that nothing has been glamorised in fact its the opposite, anyone wishing to involve themselves in any kind of culture that a lot of films and the Hip-Hop scene is constantly critised for glamorising and appealing to young people doesn't happen hear, the people who are stuck with these lives are always dreaming of a way out and those who pursue it usually end up regretting their foolishness, this picture is painted in the film very clearly and for that part alone deserves credit as role model material or a message from the wise to stay out of this world if your fortunate enough to not be a part of it and brings a glimmer of hope to those stuck in it that there is a more positive and alternative way of life if your strong enough to choose it and shows how a few people with their hearts in the right place can make a huge difference in such a dark world. To top it off the soundtrack is raw, deep, heavy, oldskool bass lines and beats, refreshing to hear from today's usual sounds, and Plan B's lyrical narrating skills that ring true to his style, like the stories from his earlier work, think back to 'Sik 2 def' and 'Tough Love' and 'Couldn't get along today' and 'Cast a light' actual story telling Hip Hop that narrates the film and introduces characters as its happening, so well done and giving it that extra unique edge. Bottom line its a wicked film and if you grew up on 'Menace 2 society' Boyz n the hood' 'Lock stock n 2 smokin barrels' you'l love this too. It's good to see Plan B has made a step in to making films and kept true to his routes, well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Your In For A Harrowing Ride" - it's exactly that, 2 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ill Manors (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
I am a fan of Ben Drew's (otherwise known as Plan B) music and i was absolutely blown away by his film Debut Ill Manors a dark crime drama set in modern day East London , to say this film is bleak would be an understatement this film is incredibly dark as everything is not black and white and most of the characters have a terrible unfortunate start in life much like you would expect in a novel by Charles Dickens, actually this film reminds me much of Dickens but with the darkness ramped up even further .

The acting in this film is superb i am familiar with Riz Ahmed so i knew what to expect from him which is no less than superb (watch for Dead Set and Four Lions for further proof). I was really amazed by Keef Coggins as Kirby, Ed Skrein as Ed, Lee Allen as Chris, Anouska Mond as Michelle but that is not to lessen the rest of the supporting cast all are superb and performances feel realistic.

The dialog is snappy and the story beats to a perfect pace and how it hops back and forth in time is stunning Ben Drew has done brilliant. The soundtrack is superb ( i have that too) and most of the tracks tell the back strory of some the characters or from a certain scene in the film and really does add to it. I am looking forward to what Ben Drew has in store for us next as for this debut is nothing less than amazing and i hope we have not seen his best yet, we have much to look forward from you Mr Drew !.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kirby! (Keith Coggins), 30 Mar. 2013
By 
This review is from: Ill Manors [DVD] (DVD)
I very rarely re-watch a film, but I've seen this 4 times now in a month. I've lived in London all my life and these characters are extremely convincing as real people you'd come across in less privileged parts of London. I've always wondered why other productions find it so difficult to research or get this type of natural dialogue and mannerism 'right' but Ben Drew has achieved it more accurately than any 'hood' type flick I've seen yet.

The whole cast represents a true demographic of any impoverished London area and they all gel together well in terms of on-screen chemistry. I can't stand his (Plan B) music but the raps and poems which he used to narrate the movie force you to appreciate it to understand the plot - very cleverly done. The guy deserves serious kudos for what was obviously some painstaking detail across an 8 year production and the obvious direction he gave to the actors in the movie.

If you're reading this Ben - Please cast 'Kirby' (Keith Coggins) again as a main character in your films as he is truly a natural comedian and was absolutely pivotal to this films greatness!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kirby! (Keith Coggins), 30 Mar. 2013
By 
This review is from: Ill Manors (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
I very rarely re-watch a film, but I've seen this 4 times now in a month. I've lived in London all my life and these characters are extremely convincing as real people you'd come across in less privileged parts of London. I've always wondered why other productions find it so difficult to research or get this type of natural dialogue and mannerism 'right' but Ben Drew has achieved it more accurately than any 'hood' type flick I've seen yet.

The whole cast represents a true demographic of any impoverished London area and they all gel together well in terms of on-screen chemistry. I can't stand his (Plan B) music but the raps and poems which he used to narrate the movie force you to appreciate it to understand the plot - very cleverly done. The guy deserves serious kudos for what was obviously some painstaking detail across an 8 year production and the obvious direction he gave to the actors in the movie.

If you're reading this Ben - Please cast 'Kirby' (Keith Coggins) again as a main character in your films as he is truly a natural comedian and was absolutely pivotal to this films greatness!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 11 Mar. 2013
By 
This review is from: Ill Manors (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
I bought this Bluray when it had dropped down in price (£8), but only because I'm not sure if I was going to enjoy all that 'Bollock-Talk' that these youngsters seem to be speaking today. You know, all that, 'in-it' stuff? And I actually wondered if I would have to watch it with subtitles? But, I needn't had worried, the film is absolutely superb - Honestly. 'Ill Manors' is more than a little harrowing, but it serves its purpose. You do ask yourself, 'what has this generation of kids got to look forward to'? The film itself is great though, with us, (the viewer) being introduced to all these weird & wonderful charecters. Admittly, you do feel that this movie is just a generation on a downward spiral, but stick with it & you'll seriously enjoy the ride. Ben Drew (aka Plan B) has done himself proud. I'm not saying I'm going to rush out and buy his latest waxing, but that's not the point. The point, I suppose, is that Mr Drew is an artist who can adapt & this should bring in alot of interest for his fan base, & for those who are not so sure. Well done Benjamin Drew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ill Manors [DVD]
Ill Manors [DVD] by Ben Drew (DVD - 2012)
£10.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews