Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of the Crysis games
i've been waiting a long time for this to come out, and it hasn't disappointed me.
single player game play is grate the new nanosuit is a joy and the weaponry gets the job done .
try doing the game with just the hunters bow you will have hours of enjoyment
Published 20 months ago by Mel Davis

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tedious beyond belief!
Yes it looks good, mostly, but the designers left out one major part of the software and that's gameplay.
This is mind numbingly tedious. Most of the combat is close quarters in low visibility areas with fast moving targets so there's no time to set up strategies.
I am SO sick of Ceph appearing from nowhere in long grass. Progress it 100% linear: just follow the...
Published 20 months ago by P. White


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tedious beyond belief!, 8 April 2013
By 
P. White (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crysis 3 - Hunter Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Yes it looks good, mostly, but the designers left out one major part of the software and that's gameplay.
This is mind numbingly tedious. Most of the combat is close quarters in low visibility areas with fast moving targets so there's no time to set up strategies.
I am SO sick of Ceph appearing from nowhere in long grass. Progress it 100% linear: just follow the virtual lines and there's NO relief from any of this. It takes
itself SO seriously but not with any foundation.
If you want to see the same graphics engine employed to great effect with real gamplay then buy FarCry 3. That game has space to move, light and shade, night and day, interest, humour and excitement. This is just a boring 3D Space Invaders simulation with none of the class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not that good, 9 Mar 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis 3 - Hunter Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Fun game 5/5 on graphics but game play is the same as 2 along with that the campaign stops working after the mastermind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Bunch, 5 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crysis 3 - Hunter Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I'm enjoying this game so much that I am taking my time and slowly playing through it, exploring everywhere I can and basically ogling the scenery. It can be frustrating playing on the highest difficulty but well worth the effort of getting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of the Crysis games, 4 April 2013
By 
Mel Davis "Mel" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crysis 3 - Hunter Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
i've been waiting a long time for this to come out, and it hasn't disappointed me.
single player game play is grate the new nanosuit is a joy and the weaponry gets the job done .
try doing the game with just the hunters bow you will have hours of enjoyment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Game, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crysis 3 - Hunter Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
What you can expect from the CryEngine. Very good graphics and physics engine. However, it does not live up to it's predecessors and lacks the endless replayability that Crysis 1 or 2 had. Sturdy multiplayer mode and solid gameplay mechanics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun game and a good ending to the series, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crysis 3 - Hunter Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I would say Crysis 3 is better than Crysis 2 but still not quite as good as Crysis 1. Still very fun and satisfying to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crysis 3 - Hunter Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Great game top quality graphics combined with intense gameplay, the multiplayer is a nice treat having lots of different maps and game modes as standard rather than having to buy them in expansion packs like bf2 and the cod's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing game, 30 May 2013
This review is from: Crysis 3 - Hunter Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
the graphics are superb and smash the bar set by the original and sets a new standard. the AI is surprisingly clever. this game is just brilliant fun but I wouldn't recommend running this on a low end system. there are little things that annoy me for example not being able to throw barrels with strength mode, but they don't hurt it enough for me not to love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buggy And Not Much Fun, 10 Mar 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis 3 - Hunter Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Having enjoyed the first Crysis, then Warhead and Crysis 2 which was, erm, still okay, I was quite prepared to give Crysis 3 a sporting chance.

The first downside is of course EA Origin DRM/copy protection, but having already installed it to play Mass Effect 3 (another EA game which promised so much but failed to deliver), thought, "what the heck". Installation took a while and had to be kickstarted a second time after the Origin update.

Sadly it's a far cry (no pun intended) from the original Crysis. From what I've seen of the story so far there's no real depth or involvement or any sort of empathy with your character or others in the game. Aside form the Nanosuit, Prophet might be any G.I. Joe running around in COD or NoH. In fact thats how Crysis 3 comes across other than the SciFi element. The much vaunted new Hunter Bow is all very well until you realise you can only carry a tiny amount of ammo. This is a game which otherwise allows you to carry around about 300lb of weaponry on your back, but only 9 arrows and 3 of each Special! Gameplay is tedious as, while you can stealth through the levels, the suit can still lose charge at an inconvenient moment. Even behind cover the enemy can "see" you and promptly spams your position with EMP and Frag grenades - another cheap trick out of the COD playbook. Still could be well and good, but Crysis 3 utilises the - wait for it - COD checkpoint system, no more quick saving your position. So if you've spent the last 20 minutes methodically sniping, stealthing and just out and out gunning the opposition but die 10 metres from the next checkpoint, well tough love buddy you get to do it all again. Even on the second easiest level the enemies are quite intelligent and aggressive, as already noted.

But worst of all is how buggy the code is. I have alredy had three or four lock ups and this evening it wouldn't start at all, launching to a black screen. Some beta testing there, then. Another "fail" for EA then, with the current Sim City debacle the publisher needs to get its stuff together if it wants to stay in business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gameplay and amazing locations., 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crysis 3 - Hunter Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
exceptional graphics, gameplay and amazing locations .... one of the best shooter games if not the best i played .... perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crysis 3 - Hunter Edition (PC DVD)
Crysis 3 - Hunter Edition (PC DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
Used & New from: £46.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews