Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doom 3: BFG Edition (PC)
Let me just say, i' m happy i ignored all the negative reviews here and purchased this edition of Doom 3.

Long story short:

- It includes every Doom game in existence for the die-hard fan.
- It also includes a new mission for those who have completed even the expansion of Doom 3. New mission called "Lost mission".
- Can't blame those people...
Published 18 months ago by Alexandros

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars All the Doom series in one package- but each version has some issues
If you don't already have copies of Doom 1, Doom 2, Doom 3 or its expansion pack, Resurrection of Evil, this package is good value for money.

Doom 3 BFG Edition is a Steamworks-enabled package. Note that in the case of Doom 1/2 you can subsequently launch the games using source ports, if you'd rather not use Steam, and that Steam has an offline mode so you...
Published 13 months ago by tws45


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doom 3: BFG Edition (PC), 25 Feb 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom 3 - BFG Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Let me just say, i' m happy i ignored all the negative reviews here and purchased this edition of Doom 3.

Long story short:

- It includes every Doom game in existence for the die-hard fan.
- It also includes a new mission for those who have completed even the expansion of Doom 3. New mission called "Lost mission".
- Can't blame those people that had so many compatibility issues and more, but the requirements were clear. Having a win 7 64-bit system AND using Steam (which i use for many years now and with no problems actually) it should work out well, so i went for it. Result is, all three Doom games run flawlessly (after a ten minute installation) and make me happy i added this edition to my collection.

The BFG edition also includes multi-player options and dozens of achievements to unlock as you progress in all three games.

My sole complain (which is a minor one, actually) is that an edition like this one should be paired with a decent booklet, (concerning all three Doom games) enriched with historical info, designers details, items, foes and that kind of stuff, you get the meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great FPS fun!!!, 22 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. Rh Childs "monkey" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom 3 - BFG Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I feel they have done a brilliant job with Doom3 BFG. Runs at 120FPS with no slowdown. Graphics look great (not Crysis 2 or Battlefield 3 standard but still great). Played a few enjoyable online games last night of the capture the flag.

This is the perfect game if you want some mindless FPS fun! I pre-ordered and for 12.71 including postage is a fantastic price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doom 3 cleaned up and re-released, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom 3 - BFG Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Since there seem to be several low-rating reviews here where people are blaming the game for not having enough money in their account/not being able to install it/not having a Steam account/any other irrelevant issues, I figured I'd focus purely on the game.

The original release of Doom 3 has been spruced up in some minor ways. Full HD (1920x1080) is now a fully supported resolution, gamma in the game is little more forgiving, and a number of mod fixes for the original release are now standard - there's no more of this silly stuff about having to choose between having a flashlight or a gun ready, your torch is now fitted to your armour, Aliens-style. I personally couldn't see any other difference in graphics, so I'd guess the mentions of better graphics are primarily aimed at consoles (who definitely didn't get a good-looking port first time round).

Doom 3, Resurrection of Evil and the new Lost Mission expansion are presented in a neat single executable as different campaigns in the same game. This really cuts down on install and customising time. The new Lost Missions expansion is pretty good - covering the exploits of a survivor of Bravo(?) team (i.e. the team you're trying to reach in the early part of Doom 3). It doesn't do anything genuinely new but, for a seasoned Doom addict like myself, its a nice bit of extra content to sink your teeth into.

Doom 1 and 2 are included, they seemed to run with no fuss. Nice bit of nostalgia for those old enough to have played them back when they came out.

Overall, I'd argue this is a fine package for both new players looking for a bit of claustrophobic horror (if you enjoyed Dead Space, you'll enjoy this), fanboys, and players who like stuff in Steam - the doom 3 engine is definitely old hat but has aged very well. Its probably not worth getting again if you weren't a fan of Doom 3.

One note is that its a Steam game, so it needs a Steam account and internet connection to install. Oh, and cheats seem to work in Doom 3 - you just need to add the old shortcut addition using Steam's interface (plenty of guides online about how to do this).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doom 3 Bfg is great !, 26 May 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom 3 - BFG Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Having read some of the very conflicting reviews about this game, I thought at just over 7 inc postage it was worth a chance.
Item delivered in less than 24hrs (Wow!). My PC set up is on Windows XP with all updates and a good Nvidia graphics card.
On the back of the game it doesn't mention XP as a platform - OK, give it a whirl and see what happens. There is a clear, seperate paragraph that tells you that internet and a Steam account is required, so if you don't like Steam, you have been given the warning - send it back unopened.In many years of gaming I have never had any problems with Steam and don't understand the fuss about them .
From putting the disc in to having the game on screen and starting to sort out the options took 21 minutes,with no problems at all using XP. To me this is quite acceptable. I opted for game controller , using my X-Box contoller, with default settings and 16x anti aliassing the game plays rock steady at 60fps. If you want there are dozens of cheat codes and the console access is quick and easy to set up. For the few I have tried they work perfectly.
Game play is crisp, well defined with great shadow effects.You can save anywhere which is good for the tricky bits. Vibration feedback on the controller is exactly right - the chain saw in particular.
So, overall, no complaints at all, a good, graphically pleasing game with some scary moments - what more do you want for such a low price ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Game, 3 Jan 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doom 3 - BFG Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I have loved Doom ever since I was a kid. Have Doom 3 already on disc but still got this BFG edition. All the Dooms under one roof on Steam. Nothing new really except a few more graphics options (since recent patch). Motion blur has been used really well in this version and looks very nice. The graphics look exactly the same as they did in the original version which is fine for me. There is also now a FoV slider which goes up to 100 (however I still tweak it to 110 in Steam launch options which does not interfere with Steam achievments). All in all a good collection. If one wants to mod this game then use the original version of Doom 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doom 3 BFG after you played it and past it on., 29 Oct 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doom 3 - BFG Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I had this game given to me off my brother, which both of us love playing games instead of watching mindless television after researching into the geopolitics world. I thought all I had to do was just put in the game type in the serial code and the way you go, wrong. Instead you got to get the person who has had the game before to release the serial key and then you put it on your computer and then the company servers don't accept different ids from different motherboards. As I found out with fifa 13 for the PC, I upgraded my motherboard for a faster computer to do broadcasting from home and now fifa 13 will not work on the new motherboard. So when getting games ask the retailer is the game only going to be linked to one machine and cannot be passed on to family members or friends. It also stops taking games into be traded in at you 2nd hand gaming place and there has already been some jobs lost in the gaming world because of these measures in South Wales. It is not about security it is about game companies trying to profit as much as they can while others suffer including job losses elsewhere.

Either just purchase games when they hit they lower value or ignore until game companies and partners get the message that we are going to be fooled on security measures for games.

This game will ask for your serial key which is fair but make sure the serial key is not linked to another computer or steam account. I thought I better rise awareness on this, so 2nd hand with this game is pointless.

The game is good as I played the early version on my old PC, I also played this game on my bro computer. They are both good for some mindless but more interactive fun than watching tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant remastered version of Doom 3, 2 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. G. McDowall (Stranraer, SW Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom 3 - BFG Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I have always loved the Doom franchise & the original Doom 3 was one of my favourites. I have read some conflicting reviews about Doom 3 BFG Edition; thought I'd take a chance since the price was reasonable & I wasn't disappointed. Enhanced graphics & an extended story thanks to the Resurrection Of Evil & also my first time playing The Lost Mission expansion packs make it well worth it. Granted it requires an internet connection to activate the game, a Steam account & the Steam bootstrap client to be installed on the user's computer but this is not difficult to set up plus to be fair, there are not many computers these days that are not connected to the internet, plus it's made clear that it requires Steam on the description before you buy it, so if anyone doesn't read it & finds out only when they first go to install the game, they only have themselves to blame for not paying attention, so I think people are posting negative reviews about this version just to have a good moan. Once the product key is activated, you don't need to be connected to the internet each time you run the game because Steam has an "Offline Mode". Also as with any PC game, check, double check & triple check that your PC meets the system requirements before you buy it, that's just common sense. If it doesn't or you're not happy about using the Steam bootstrap client, don't buy the game; simple. Brilliant addition to the Doom franchise in my opinion, don't let the negativity put you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars All the Doom series in one package- but each version has some issues, 17 Aug 2013
By 
tws45 (W Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doom 3 - BFG Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
If you don't already have copies of Doom 1, Doom 2, Doom 3 or its expansion pack, Resurrection of Evil, this package is good value for money.

Doom 3 BFG Edition is a Steamworks-enabled package. Note that in the case of Doom 1/2 you can subsequently launch the games using source ports, if you'd rather not use Steam, and that Steam has an offline mode so you don't need an internet connection just to play single-player, but you do need to use Steam for one-time online authentication. Steam has its pros and cons, some like it, others don't, but it's worth mentioning for those who are unaware of the requirement.

Of rather greater importance, in my opinion, are the following three cons:

1. Doom 1/2 are censored in places, e.g. the health kits have been changed, and the secret levels for Doom 2 have been heavily changed to remove all references to Nazis and swastikas, to comply with German laws.

2. Cheats have been disabled in Doom 1/2, as part of tying the games to Steam's Achievements system. To my mind, this is totally unnecessary- it's not hard to set up Steamworks to allow cheats, but disable Achievements for all save games in which cheats have been used (various Steamworks games such as Saints Row 3 do this). I suspect that this decision was made for the benefit of console versions and they just didn't bother to take advantage of Steamworks features that are specific to the PC.

3. Mod support is seriously lacking for Doom 3 and its expansion pack, Resurrection of Evil. You're going to have significant problems getting most mods, such as the popular Dark Mod, to work with the BFG Edition, whereas it is easy to get most of them to work flawlessly with the original Doom 3 patched to version 1.3.1. For Doom 3 fans, this con is likely to be the biggest turn-off in the long run, since some of the better mods offer better gameplay than the original game's level set, and some mods enhance the base game's graphics and capabilities substantially, far more than you get with the BFG edition.

The BFG edition does contain some advantages over the original versions, but not really enough to outweigh the three cons mentioned above. The BFG edition comes with slightly-enhanced graphics in the case of Doom 3 and the RoE expansion, and Doom 2 comes with the XBox expansion No Rest for the Living, and Doom 3 has a new level set known as the Lost Mission, which contains a few good Hell-themed maps.

On the XBox and PS3, the BFG Edition is the best version of the Doom games that you can buy, but on the PC, you're better off trying to find a good offer on the original versions, even if it means spending a bit more cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here is my boomstick!, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom 3 - BFG Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Three groundbreaking games. 4 Expansion packs. Hours and hours of FPS fun. Doom stands as the grandaddy of all shoot 'em ups and even the originals will prove tricky and give days of replay value. If you haven't played these, you need to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars old school fps, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom 3 - BFG Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
no need to add to the good reviews..just note.. you need a steam account to play this game so download steam client (google it)before you install the game,install steam and create an account then while your logged into steam install DOOM 3 from the disc (doing it this way will prevent the problems others have had with steam wanting to download the files instead of installing from disc)
also google system requirements for DOOM 3 BFG before purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doom 3 - BFG Edition (PC DVD)
Doom 3 - BFG Edition (PC DVD) by Bethesda (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews