Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite Honestly, Great.
The new Doom game at first did not make me think that it was going to be amazing or anything new, just a bit of updated graphics and a amalgamation of all three games!

I remember playing Doom when the second one came out and it was scary, when you sit in a darkened room with the volume right up, not knowing what was down the corridor or round the corner. Then...
Published on 19 Oct. 2012 by DecisiveSniper

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very pretty, General. Very pretty. But, can they fight
I I love doom 3 it's truly amazing one of my all time favourite games.
You stalk through the dark corridors of the UAC facility on mars as demons from hell come screaming at you. You fumble for your gun putting your torch away and fire into the darkness towards the foul demon. Ammo is scare so you have to plan carefully, use the shotgun for single encounters and then...
Published on 19 Oct. 2012 by Smash Diasaku


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite Honestly, Great., 19 Oct. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doom 3 - BFG Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The new Doom game at first did not make me think that it was going to be amazing or anything new, just a bit of updated graphics and a amalgamation of all three games!

I remember playing Doom when the second one came out and it was scary, when you sit in a darkened room with the volume right up, not knowing what was down the corridor or round the corner. Then games went away from this type and genre of shooter to the COD's and MOH's, however F.E.A.R brought it back, which is fantastic and then Dead Space etc etc.

So an old game that has been out decades has no real chance of living up to the new games of today does it? Apparently yes it does. This game has greatly improved HD graphics and the new levels are brilliant in Doom 3, not just on or two but quite a few.

The first two games serve as a bit of fun as on highly improved machines as they become quite difficult and getting all the achivements will be no walk in the park. However Doom 3 is the most worked on and improved game out of the lot and this is seen.

Anyone who enjoys games and FPS should buy this game if they havent played it before, a harderned follower should get it to tide them over to the next title hopefully coming out. At only £13.99 (PC) and £24.99 (Console) it is well worth the money to cure those dull dark cold and wet winter nights that seem to be already upon us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a BEAST, and we love it!, 3 Dec. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doom 3 - BFG Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
They don't make em' like this anymore.

8 years ago a game by a small development team broke cover, snarling and blood-thirsty, a monster of a game. It delivered excellent graphics, terrifying and gripping gameplay, and a solid and interesting storyline. This was no ordinary first person horror shooter, this was Doom 3.

By todays standards Doom still deliveres quite a punch. Maybe the graphics are showing their age. But even then, they're not all that terrible. Doom still doesn't feel like any other game of it's type (even now), it was and still is a pace-setter for the horror FPS. If you want to make an wicked scary game, that keeps you riveted from the get go, look no further than Doom for inspiration.

So what is it about this beast that we all love so much? Like a zombie lurching from the shadows; it's all in the delivery and presentation.
Firstly the attention to detail in Doom is what really pulls you into the twisted world of Mars City where the game is set. You arrive on Mars as a Marine assigned to a security detail at a big research lab. It's all pretty standard and normal until you are tasked to find a missing scientist. This transitional period in the beginning of the game is very smooth and well written. It draws you in nicely as things go from normal, to weird, to worse. From then on you decend into a terrifying world where every movement on the game makes you nervous, and every sound in your living room makes you jump.

If there is one thing Doom excels in, it's suspense and the creation of a foreboding environment. As you play you become more and more uneasy, every new unopened door fills you with dread at what may lie behind it. The threat of every corner and every shadow being home to some grim demon waiting to jump out on you. But its not an endless trail of destruction either, there are quiet spells, it keeps you guessing. You never know whats coming and this holds you on a knife edge for the whole ride.

What's more is that Doom doesn't rely on just blood and gore to create the horror feel like so many others. In fact, if you took the blood out it would still be as grim. It uses simple but cleverly presented devices to horrify your little gaming world, like darkness, and flickering lights which obscure things: Did I see that? Was there something there? It creates a sense of closeness and claustraphobia, like you have no escape routes, and no place to hide. It makes you choose between holding the flashlight to illuminate those dark corridors, or holding a weapon to murderize anything that might be in them. That choice alone keeps you on the edge of your seat.

Instead of just finding a keycard or codes written somewhere to move forward, you must find PDAs which belonged to people. On the PDA there can be useful information like codes to equipment lockers and door access. In addition there are often data files that contain the back story to the game. Like voice diaries from the ex-owner of the PDA explaining the 'stranges noises' or 'odd behaviour of people' they had witnessed. This adds a different dimension to the play and depth to the game which most games of this type lack. The only respite you get from the suspense is listening to PDA messages and reading journals and emails about the horror that's developing. It doesn't let you escape from the story once your in it, it keeps you riveted.

Doom 3 creates this foreboding feeling like no other has, even the Resident Evil series doesn't deliver this kind of atmosphere. F.E.A.R gets closer but no cigar. Too many horror games just rely on trying to disgust the player with as much blood and guts as they can code in, Doom doesn't do this. It plays with your senses and your feelings of aloneness and fear, which only works because the story and environment are so well delivered. Sure the monsters are scary looking, but they are only as scary as they are because of the atmosphere of the game; you never feel safe.

In this respect Doom is the complete horror game package. But it doesn't stop there, it's also wildly enjoyable to play. Especially with a friend for a wingman to watch your back while you're playing. Taking it turns to get your ass handed to you by demonic monsters as you navigate the dark and grizzly world of Doom.

The weapons kit is fun as well, ranging from pad-mashingly ineffective to blindingly awesome. From the generic FPS staple; the hand gun (which any frequent FPS player will know is a gun shaped paperweight most of the time let alone when facing zombies, or worse.) to the infamous BFG9000 which will DESTROY everything in a room, it kinda wouldn't be Doom without it. Even the humble flashlight can be used to batter the odd zombie to death, which is guaranteed to fill you with satisfaction.

All the action dynamics are smooth and responsive even as a console port. You won't get the response time of a mouse, but dial the sensitivity up to 10 and you should be able to swing round and give that demon scum some lead in the face. As in classic Doom style, a lot of stuff will attack you from behind.

It's great the Doom 3 got the HD upgrade because this game really deserves not to be forgotten, because once you've played it, you never forget it. So it's old now, so it's still essentially A to B shoot the bad guys on the way (isn't that all CoD is?) so what? You could do much worse than pick up a copy of Doom 3. It's still a BEAST, and we love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Games Should Be, 21 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom 3 - BFG Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Excellent game.
I originally played this game and it's expansions on PC and the X Box version is just as good.

For it's age the graphics and gameplay are still excellent and offers good challenges.

I know that the game is a bit linear, but this, to me makes it uncomplicated and easy to play unlike a lot of newer games.

I also like the save system as you can save whenever you want and do not have to try and reach a certain save point which can result in playing the same section over and over again. It also means that you can have a quick few minutes of play if you do not have time for an extended session.
I can not understand why all games can not adopt this system, but maybe it is a way of trying to extend a games playing time under the pretext of giving value for money, but replaying the same section over and over is not my idea of fun.

If you are a fan of FPS games give this a try, I don't think you will be disappointed and it comes with the original Doom BFG game plus the two expansion modules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great 3 games in one disc, 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom 3 - BFG Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
well worth buying amazing game also three games on the disc the original doom rekomend this game to all great graphics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very pretty, General. Very pretty. But, can they fight, 19 Oct. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom 3 - BFG Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I I love doom 3 it's truly amazing one of my all time favourite games.
You stalk through the dark corridors of the UAC facility on mars as demons from hell come screaming at you. You fumble for your gun putting your torch away and fire into the darkness towards the foul demon. Ammo is scare so you have to plan carefully, use the shotgun for single encounters and then whip out the machine gun to pour hot lead into larger groups. You play the game on the edge of your seat saving constantly in case you just aren't quick enough to survive the next encounter. It was a truly nerve racking experience, but don't worry your nerves are safe this time around because there's ammo and armour galore, and you can have your gun and torch out at the same time.
So Id have basically killed this game as a horror franchise and turned it into another straight first person shoot em up. Which I guess is more in keeping with the feeling of the original Doom games, but it's disappointing to me. The charm of Doom 3 was that it was one of the very few honest to god survival horror games, one of the few games that put me in an uncomfortable place.
I know when the game first came out people moaned about not holding the gun and the torch at the same time and pretty soon Mods appeared on the PC to solve this, but that's because people like their games to be easy. I remember when finishing a game was an actual challenge now its just par the course you expect to complete a game in at least a week, then move on to the next title. That's ok if you like that but Id could have at least had the decency to add the option of playing the classic gun or torch version of this.
Having said that though I don't hate this update; it truly is pretty, or as pretty as a game this old can look, the character models in the cut scenes are terrible but then they are in all games of this age, and despite my gripes about it becoming nothing more than a standard first person shoot em up I still enjoy playing it. You get a couple of Doom 3 add ons, Doom, and Doom 2 so there's value for money, the only thing it seems to be lacking is Final Doom; but I can forgive that.
However I think I'll be sticking to my backwardly compatible copy of Doom 3 that I picked up for £3.00 on Amazon; so I can play this game in its purest and most enjoyable form
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 7 years have been kind, 24 Oct. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom 3 - BFG Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Okay so it's been remastered but can an FPS that is 7 years old stand in todays market? Absolutely. It isnt all about graphics but they do help, and despite similar looking corridors, the occasional surface walk-about, and the static NPC models this isnt half bad really. If Doom 3 BFG gets one thing right then it's the atmosphere, which hasnt changed alot.

A big difference from the original is the flashlight. Before you could either wield the light or a weapon, never both at the same time. This definitely lead to some "fill yer pants up" moments. Now though you dont have to worry about that as you have a shoulder light which can be toggled on and off with your weapon drawn. Some may see this as a misdirection for the new edition but...........on hard mode of play this game can still give you a run for your money and there is a strong element of unease during some of the missions. Voices whispering, babies crying and demonic laughter.

The gun-play is smooth and the weapons handle well. This is good old classic FPS run and gun play, with elements of survival horror and supernatural scenarios.
The impressive use of lighting really does bring the darker side of Mars to life and considering the often bland environments it is a real game changer, adding a deeper tone to the phenomenon occurring in the base. Zombies randomly assault you from newly opened access panels and doors, Demons pounce at you from above and meanwhile you'll be gladly blasting into them with Shotguns, Assault rifles and hacking them up with the Chainsaw - that old chestnut.

7 years have been kind to this game and anyone who hasnt tried the Doom series, this would be a good place to start. You get Doom, Doom 2 and 3 (with the expansion packs). Thats good value for the money you'll cough up and for most of us its really nice to have a stroll down memory lane. You can also look at Doom 3 and see how many future games it has influenced since the original release. Deadspace anyone?

Solid entertainment with jumps and scares. A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... when it comes to the Doom franchise (I even enjoyed the film, 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom 3 - BFG Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Bit of a fan boy when it comes to the Doom franchise (I even enjoyed the film!). The Doom games on early PC and FPS' in general are my preferred genre. A bit of dumb fun with great graphics and fun gameplay. Yes, other games have done things better (and some have done worse!), but Doom has paved the way so will always have a place in my game library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Package!, 3 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom 3 - BFG Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Doom 1- Epic, love retro stuff like this. ood challenge not to easy and it fits well n the xbox 360 format.
Doom 2 See doom 1
Doom 3-Not as good as doom 1 or 2 but the graphics are brill, still scary as s***. I spend moretime on the orig dooms though.
So worth the money, three games for under a tenner! BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely brings back good memories!, 26 Dec. 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom 3 - BFG Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I almost forgot the gem that was DOOM. Doom 1 and 2 are great additions to this disc, including all of the DLC too! But the main focus was Doom 3, my word, no game this old has made me scared, the BFG edition is definitely worth the purchase! With a remaster of doom 3 including the DLC's and a new one, its worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars From dread filled horror to manic blastfest, 19 Oct. 2012
By 
D. R. Silvester "Clandestine Knowledge Seeker" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom 3 - BFG Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I absolutely love Doom 3 & Doom 3 Resurrection Of Evil, Doom BFG is another story.

In the original games the atmosphere is amazing and greatly enhanced by the fear of what might be lurking around every corner. Sometimes there was nothing, other times there were various nasties lying in wait.

Not the case with Doom 3 BFG, around more or less every corner are several enemies including those that annoyingly keep spawning behind you. Fight the enemies in front and be battered from behind or vice versa. The action is so frantically paced that the sense of dread and lurking menace has been lost. There's no time to take in the atmosphere and surroundings anymore as enemies are spawning left,right and centre in clusters.

The original Doom 3 games were tough, Doom 3 BFG simply feels cheap in the way enemies constantly spawn behind you. As someone who has completed Dark Souls 3 times I don't mind tough and challenging with a learning curve, but I do mind cheap and pointless difficulty.

Some people are annoyed by the new ability to use one's torch and weapon simultaneously, but not me.

Others are upset at the new lighting system that has practically removed all the darkened areas, but again not me.

What I AM really annoyed about and upset with is the core of the game being destroyed, namely the change of pace from a tense, dread filled horror experience to a manic 100 miles per hour blastfest with aliens/monsters. COD in space anyone?

After waiting over 4 months to receive Doom BFG I am left feeling bitterly disappointed. My deep disappointment is not about money wasted, it's about the ruination of a once incredible horror game.

To add insult to injury, call it a strange coincidence, but the original Doom games no longer work properly on my 360 console. They ceased to do so after updating my console operating system.

If this is the shape of things to come with Doom 4, then count me out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doom 3 - BFG Edition (Xbox 360)
Doom 3 - BFG Edition (Xbox 360) by Bethesda (Xbox 360)
Used & New from: £5.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews