Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great model, good co-op game
Don't play this solo, it's terrible as a single player game, but the campaign is great with 3 friends online, or even just in split screen.

The model is hiqh quality and worth more than I paid for the whole box set, imho.
Published 20 months ago by Connor Caple

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Aliens: Incompotent Design
I've played a fair few games that have been given a critical panning over the years and I often find that they only really suffer from being distinctly average. Few of them could be described as truly poor or unplayable, but I have to say that `Aliens: Colonial Marines' takes a stab at just this. The universe of `Aliens' is an extremely rich one; it blends all out...
Published 20 months ago by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Aliens: Incompotent Design, 16 Aug. 2013
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've played a fair few games that have been given a critical panning over the years and I often find that they only really suffer from being distinctly average. Few of them could be described as truly poor or unplayable, but I have to say that `Aliens: Colonial Marines' takes a stab at just this. The universe of `Aliens' is an extremely rich one; it blends all out action with scares and great world building. How on LV-426 could you mess things up?

Lacking ambition is one way and this can be said of Gearbox with this game. They have made the brilliant `Borderlands' games, but they are also prone to stuff like `Duke Nukem Forever'. `Colonial Marines' most obvious flaw is its blandness. You are dropped off on planet LV-426 and asked to explore the Alien invested buildings. Graphically, things look pretty poor with brown being the colour of the day. Even Gearbox could not totally mess up the gameplay; the pinging motion detectors are excellent and ramp up the tension. That is until you start despatching aliens left, right and centre. They become as scary as a room full of kitten (deadly kittens?)

The aliens are totally undermined by awful Artificial Intelligence. The xenomorphs should glide across the walls and ceiling, using their hive mind to catch their prey. In some cases the `Colonial Marines' aliens walk right into you. One particularly poor level has you hiding from blind Aliens - so bad, it is almost funny. The game may have been saved if there had been some sort of innovation somewhere, but there is not. The guns feel a little light in the hand and the levels are repetitive and dull. If it were not for the tense motion detector sections the game would be a complete bust. Fans of the `Aliens' films will be angered by how their franchise has been treated, fans of games will be angry about how their pastime has been treated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aliens Colonial Marines, 12 Feb. 2013
By 
T. W. Marshall (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
**NO SPOILERS**

We've been waiting for what seems like an age for this to arrive, constant delays and rescheduled releases, after playing it for 4-5 hours I think its time to write a review....

The quality of this pack for £70 is on par with other 'Special Editions'. Inside the pack you get a limited Xenomorph box, the game, an Alien and Powerloader model with base, USCM Dossier, Mission Brief, USS Sephora Schematic, Recruitment Card, LV-426 Recon Photos, Iron on USCM badges and a Graduation Certificate from the US Marine Training Academy. You get the DLC codes as well but these are digital products not physical.

The quality and detail on the Powerloader model is good, if sold separately I'd put a £20 price on it. I collect Aliens merchandise and the Powerloader is something that has surprisingly not been miniaturised that much. There is the Halcyon self assemble, Konami series, Kubrick and the Kenner toy, unless you have a pro painted custom Halcyon this is by far the best quality and it's in a really good pose with the alien. The model is very sturdy and it wont break easily I believe its a die-cast resin. I would say that the quality is better than the Neca series and on par if not better than McFarlane's Movie Maniacs.

I've read reviews that the single player can be completed in less than 2 hours... I've started on the Hardened difficulty and am on the 2nd mission after 1.5 hours so I think 2 hours is a bit optimistic. I like the gunplay, the movement and shooting feels a lot like Halo but you still have to LT aim to get accurate shots. Levels are so far claustrophobic which coupled with a reworked version of James Horner's classic soundtrack add to the atmosphere, but not by much. They are gracelessly designed.

Graphic wise all the released screen shots and footage have come from a PC version as the XBOX 360 version looks dated. There's a few frame rate problems, regular clipping, occasional screen tear and no real graphical detail on objects upon closer inspection. a real let down considering this has been in development for years and the 360 is at the end of it's cycle so devs should be able to put beautiful games out on it. don't get me wrong, the graphics aren't terrible they just could have been far better.

The game is very scripted and nothing so far feels spontaneous or unique to my play through. AI is borderline absurd, Aliens will run straight past you to attack an ally AI character, get stuck behind boxes or will just stand there and take punishment until they explode in a shower of yellow acid. The Aliens are easy to kill and there's too many of them to make the game scary. Lance Henriksen and Michael Biehn add their voice talents but it doesn't really add any authenticity to the experience as the story is very awkwardly shoehorned into canon. To be honest the whole single player experience feels like a fan mod for Halo 4 and not a full price release game. Campaign - 2/5

I've played each of the multiplayer types and there good but the real issue is the monumental lag. I have a fibre optic internet connection so I know my internet isn't the problem, Sega/Gearbox sort the servers out!

Team Death Match is played over 2 rounds with each team playing as either the Aliens or the Marines, from what I've played of this the Marine round generally wins as people are just running head on into gun fire and not playing to the Aliens strengths, lurking. Escape was the online experience I was really looking forward to but so far the Marines are just too powerful and I've yet to play a game where the marines fail to escape.

The Multiplayer has some real balancing issues that will hopefully get iron out with a patch, it feels like a beta release at moment and is buggy online, I'd say about 10% of matches I've been in have just crashed for no apparent reason. Multiplayer - 3/5

This game should have been delayed again for a few months for a proper ironing out of bugs and multiplayer rebalancing as the game really has potential, but its here with us now and we have to accept it... I'd wait a month or so for Amazon to reduce it to £25.

Overall - 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 5 star rating , i dont think so !, 16 Nov. 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
People giving this 5 star have no sense of gaming, 5 star games are like metal gear, Batman, halo 2 etc. . If you think it's up their with award winning games so be it. The game is bad the hype leading up to it was outrageous. I remember the alien trilogy for ps it had scare factor this falls on so many levels too many to count. Tho the statute is a nice touch to it but shouldn't merit a 5 star rating. Sega fail at so many games. It's hard to believe that Sega were at once a top company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing waste of a massive licence., 28 April 2013
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
ALIENS: COLONIAL MARINES is a spiritual sequel to the smash-hit sci-fi horror movie ALIENS. That film is a classic of the genre and time has robbed it of none of its power to thrill and scare, not to mention having some truly memorable characters. Gamers who are themselves fans of the Alien franchise were probably excited at the prospect of stepping into the shoes of a marine and blowing away malevolent xenomorphs, especially with the number of times that the release date was pushed back, and now this game has finally arrived. The question is: "Was it worth the wait?"

Sadly, I am sorry to report that "No" is the simple answer to that question. Let me go into just a selection of points that really stop this game from being the one that Alien fans have been waiting for.

Let's start with the graphics. While they are not awful, they are a far cry from what XBox 360 users have now become accustomed to and, given the aforementioned release date push-backs and the fact that this console's successor is on the horizon, we did expect something far more impressive than this. What we instead get is uninspiring textures and dull-looking flames and other effects that look like they have stepped off a PC from about ten years earlier. While admittedly good graphics on their own are not as important as gameplay, the comparative crudity of those in Aliens: Colonial Marines does detract from the overall atmosphere, even though portions of familiar settings such as Operations on LV-426 and the Sulaco have been painstakingly recreated in the game. (Look at the graphics on the first Gears Of War, which came out in 2006; even those are better than this!)

The new characters themselves are not particularly interesting, nor are the voices of the actors playing their parts. The faces are even more disappointing and are not convincing in the slightest. Although it is an added bonus that some cast members returned to reprise their roles from Aliens (including Lance Henriksen and Michael Biehn), and that some of the characters that were killed in that film are available for selection in multiplayer (at least, if you got the Limited Edition pre-order), this was not really enough to save this issue.

The aliens themselves are not in the least bit frightening, nor are they particularly difficult to defeat, and their AI in general is pretty poor. They have sometimes just stood there waiting to be blown to bits, or even run past you to attack one of your accompanying marines (be they AI- or human-controlled)! These are supposed to be some of the most vicious foes in history, yet they are so easily despatched? The only section of the campaign that's even remotely tense is a section where you have to sneak through a section while unarmed, and are among a breed of xenomorph specifically created for this game that requires you to stay still while it is close to you, and continue on your way only when it is far enough away from you to not be able to detect your movement and make a rush at you.

Speaking of foes, there are some moments in the campaign where you get attacked by marines! Ummm...WHY? The game is called ALIENS: Colonial Marines; we came here to fight ALIENS, NOT other marine soldiers! If we wanted that, we would have gone for something like Call Of Duty or Battlefield. We certainly did not expect this in a game based on the Alien franchise. (Oddly enough, although it is not saying much, the marines that attack you are more of a problem than the xenomorphs!)

With regards to the multiplayer, while the idea of the campaign being playable as a four-player co-op is more than welcome (Gears Of War 3 did it brilliantly, and was certainly welcome in that), the one in Aliens: Colonial Marines is a great example of how NOT to implement it. You see, quite often if you are playing the campaign solo you have other AI-controlled people with you, but particularly when you are in a four-player campaign the extra three players are IN ADDITION to those AI-controlled people, rather than the Gears 3 approach, where second and subsequent players would take on the role of one of those AI-controlled characters. The problems that this causes, particularly in confined spaces, mean that a lot of the time the other players get in the way and make it harder to build up your player rank.

Weapons in the game needed to be made a little more consistent. While it is faithful to the franchise that some weapons have additional under-barrel weapons such as grenade launchers and flame-throwers, what was not so good about it is how you fire these weapons (with the Left Trigger). Given that in many FPS games LT is used to aim down sights (which is also the case with other weapons in this game) it is frustrating when you accidentally waste under-barrel ammo because you forgot that you were using a gun where aiming down the sight is not possible. Selecting a different gun from those available (which would usually include any that you found lying around in the campaign) could also have done with being made a bit less fiddly, too. Indeed, the only thing good about the weapons themselves that Gearbox got right is the sound, which is just like in the films (although it is a shame that they did not also successfully replicate the overall feel of the iconic weapons such as the smartgun or pulse rifle).

The motion tracker, which was helpful in creating so much suspense in the film, also makes its return here. However, because the game in general is not particularly terrifying at the best of times, I tended to put it up simply because it was there and to remind me of the franchise that I was playing, rather than that I necessarily needed to use it to prepare myself for the next onslaught. The Aliens vs Predator game did a good job of both the use of this equipment and the terror in general, so the fact that it is not half as effective here is very obvious.

The multiplayer modes consist of Team Deathmatch (marines versus xenomorphs), Extermination (marine team must destroy clusters of alien eggs while the xenomorph team must try and stop them from doing so), Escape (marine team must try and escape through territory infested by the xenomorphs) and Survivor (marine team must try and survive for a particular length of time while the xenomorphs try and eliminate them all). While this understandably gives marine players a harder time than in the campaign simply because the xenomorphs are controlled by real intelligence instead of artificial intelligence, there were still some balance issues that could have done with being sorted out; marine players still seem to have an unfair advantage compared to the xenomorph players, which in turn makes it much harder for xenomorph players to build up their rank and unlock extra attacks (bearing in mind that each player has separate ranks for marines and xenomorphs, and that it is usually quicker to build up marine ranks anyway because you play as marines in the campaign, and you can build up your rank even if you are offline).

All in all, Aliens: Colonial Marines is a massive let-down. I'd like to think that it was a labour of love that went horribly wrong, rather than that developers Gearbox had secured one of the most enduring licences in cinematic history and did not give a stuff about the quality of the final product. However, given the number of times the release date shifted, and that this franchise is so beloved, and potentially lends itself so well to a great game, it is not surprising in the slightest that it left so many people so disappointed and hurt that they might have to wait even longer to get the acclaimed Alien-themed game that this franchise deserves.

I am reviewing the Collector's Edition, which also came with extra bits and bobs such as blueprints, patches a model of an alien attacking a mechanical Loader. It's just a shame that these are actually more interesting than the game itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Randy PitchFraud, 19 Mar. 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Terrible game, absolute lies that Randy spouted in those interviews to hype up the game. There really isn't much to say, the game is incredibly buggy, story is awful, multiplayer can be fun at times but feels too much like a Call of duty clone with aliens and there are far better alternatives like left 4 dead. Don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as people have said., 9 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. T. P. Ryan "HALman_3001" (Portishead, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game was disappointing, there's no mistake about it. With the licence, the world to explore, the characters to use, and they hype generated, this should have been brilliant. However, it was still enjoyable enough for me to play through to the end, and ultimately it's simply an OK shooter game.

3 stars as the included figurine was really cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Get it for the figurine + new Play Arts Kai figures, 14 May 2014
By 
Alien937 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The troubled gestation period and the numerous delays were all the warnings anyone needed. The game is awful. Truly awful. For me the single-player campaign is virtually unplayable, and certainly no fun. It's unworthy of the venerable name that is Alien.

The upside is that the Collector's Edition comes with a highly desirable figurine. It's really two - or three - figurines in one, with an Alien attacking a Colonial Marine who's manning a Power Loader - all mounted on a cargo hold display base. The Alien is bluish, but this mirrors the game (Aliens are never bluish in the films, though they are in this game). The figurine is very detailed and accurate, and looks like a premium item. It's worth getting the Collector's Edition for the figurine alone.

It's 4 stars for the figurine and 1 star for the game, and, for those who are really into Alien figures, a quick heads-up: Play Arts Kai is about to release two action figures based on this game, the Aliens Colonial Marines Play Arts Kai Lurker Action Figure and the Aliens Colonial Marines Play Arts Kai Spitter Action Figure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great action figure, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I confess i still haven't played it,it's not a coincidence that this was voted one of the worst games of 2013, but the fact is that i bought it for the figure, and for that, it really is a cool peace of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Aliens Colonial Marines is it Good?, 17 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I loved the Film Aliens I was really excited for this game hearing it's a EPILOGUE to the Original film the game is fun graphics are okay but the Story its sucks really nothing to do with The film and why the Hell are the Marines fighting Wayland's men how do they have any thing with Ripley or Hicks anyway the Game's Multiplayer is so Laggy it Impossible to play well SEGA well done you've made another Crap game I hope they'll be a ALIENS VS PREADTOR 2 because that game was amazing this not so good figure's okay everything else is more digital downloads overall this game is good to get at a cheap price but don't pay £49.99 for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Terrible game but great extras., 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Only bought this game for the extras, my son is an Alien fan and wanted the statue and patches etc, the game is terrible and there's no way around the fact, apart from the sound effects from the firearms which bring back memory's of Ripleys battle at Hadley's Hope there really is nothing else to redeem this game and after giving it a quick go it's remained buried in his room. The extras really are the best part of the pack, the statue is surprisingly well made/ painted, the cloth patches are top quality and the other odds and ends are all nicely presented.
Such a shame they couldn't do better with the game, they certainly had the material for an epic fps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (Xbox 360)
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews