Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has it lived up to the hype?
...in a word, no. but lets be honest NO game with ALIENS in the title ever will. how can a game live up to the classic film?
Well the game tries in it's own way. The film was a action/horror work of art were as the game goes for action with alittle suspense. Yes, the graphics aren't amazing but they are a hell of alot better than the "remastered" Doom3 which had more...
Published 18 months ago by Diz

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average but Fun
Disappointed with the graphics, enemy AI and amount of glitches in this game after waiting 7 years for it to come out, BUT i must admit that I am hooked on the multiplayer. Single player campaign is ok about average for a fps and the story was nothing spectacular either.
The game has its flaws but if you are an Aliens fan its worth picking this up although maybe wait...
Published 17 months ago by ash tisekar


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average but Fun, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Disappointed with the graphics, enemy AI and amount of glitches in this game after waiting 7 years for it to come out, BUT i must admit that I am hooked on the multiplayer. Single player campaign is ok about average for a fps and the story was nothing spectacular either.
The game has its flaws but if you are an Aliens fan its worth picking this up although maybe wait when it drops in price.
As for the collectors edition you get a nice powerloader/alien statue, some extra DLC codes for the 4 movie characters, and some nice blue prints for the sephora ship, colonial marines mission briefing and few other weyland yutani items . Would of been nice if they had a steel book case like they did with the 2010 AVP however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Slobbering Wreck of a Game, 16 Aug 2013
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I've played a fair few games that have been given a critical panning over the years and I often find that they only really suffer from being distinctly average. Few of them could be described as truly poor or unplayable, but I have to say that `Aliens: Colonial Marines' takes a stab at just this. The universe of `Aliens' is an extremely rich one; it blends all out action with scares and great world building. How on LV-426 could you mess things up?

Lacking ambition is one way and this can be said of Gearbox with this game. They have made the brilliant `Borderlands' games, but they are also prone to stuff like `Duke Nukem Forever'. `Colonial Marines' most obvious flaw is its blandness. You are dropped off on planet LV-426 and asked to explore the Alien invested buildings. Graphically, things look pretty poor with brown being the colour of the day. Even Gearbox could not totally mess up the gameplay; the pinging motion detectors are excellent and ramp up the tension. That is until you start despatching aliens left, right and centre. They become as scary as a room full of kitten (deadly kittens?)

The aliens are totally undermined by awful Artificial Intelligence. The xenomorphs should glide across the walls and ceiling, using their hive mind to catch their prey. In some cases the `Colonial Marines' aliens walk right into you. One particularly poor level has you hiding from blind Aliens - so bad, it is almost funny. The game may have been saved if there had been some sort of innovation somewhere, but there is not. The guns feel a little light in the hand and the levels are repetitive and dull. If it were not for the tense motion detector sections the game would be a complete bust. Fans of the `Aliens' films will be angered by how their franchise has been treated, fans of games will be angry about how their pastime has been treated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has it lived up to the hype?, 14 Feb 2013
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
...in a word, no. but lets be honest NO game with ALIENS in the title ever will. how can a game live up to the classic film?
Well the game tries in it's own way. The film was a action/horror work of art were as the game goes for action with alittle suspense. Yes, the graphics aren't amazing but they are a hell of alot better than the "remastered" Doom3 which had more flat surfaces than a stealth bomber. their are some real nice touches in the game, from computer screens in the sulaco showing the original view of lv426 from ALIEN, to the spooky remains of hadleys hope. The NPC characters move alittle stiff but to be honest I was too busy enjoying myself wandering around the sulaco to notice...

The gameplay is standard FPS, but then again what do you expect? this kind of game has been around forever and it's getting harder for developers to find that special something. The enemy AI is ok, think the first F.E.A.R game and you'll be about right. the human bad guys shout to each other and duck/crouch behind stuff, fire blind at you etc... just like in FEAR, and the aliens come from just about every angle possible. the much slated motion tracker has it's uses as several times the aliens/bad guys stop moving and hide in the dark, you can't see them but the motion tracker finds them. another plus, your trusty flash light doesn't need to recharge, when it's on, it stays on!

After reading that the game is too easy I'm playing it on "hardened". the humans take several shots to put down, and are lethal with grenades. The aliens attack in packs and deliver pretty hard punches. if you want a challenge skip "recruit" and "soldier". I'm finding the game just about right for me.

The music is a mix of "Alien" haunting background music to "Aliens" dramatic battle music with some spooky sound effects inbetween. The weapons sound right and feel right, true to the film.

So to sum up, nothing will ever be ALIENS the film in a game, but this tries it's hardest. It looks like the film and that's a good thing, it's better than I think it's getting credit, it sounds good, and plays ok for a FPS. Their are worse FPS out there...

If you love the corps and have a open mind to treat this as just a ALIENS game and not a film tie-in I think you'll love it, i certainly do!

And the alien powerloader statue is just so cool, great detail! the ship schematics etc... I think are too small, it needs to be bigger but it's ok.

for me at least it isn't a waste of money and I hope you agree with me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Get it for the figurine + new Play Arts Kai figures, 14 May 2014
By 
SpecialOrder937 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
The troubled gestation period and the numerous delays were all the warnings anyone needed. The game is awful. Truly awful. For me the single-player campaign is virtually unplayable, and certainly no fun. It's unworthy of the venerable name that is Alien.

The upside is that the Collector's Edition comes with a highly desirable figurine. It's really two - or three - figurines in one, with an Alien attacking a Colonial Marine who's manning a Power Loader - all mounted on a cargo hold display base. The Alien is bluish, but this mirrors the game (Aliens are never bluish in the films, though they are in this game). The figurine is very detailed and accurate, and looks like a premium item. It's worth getting the Collector's Edition for the figurine alone.

It's 4 stars for the figurine and 1 star for the game, and, for those who are really into Alien figures, a quick heads-up: Play Arts Kai is about to release two action figures based on this game, the Aliens Colonial Marines Play Arts Kai Lurker Action Figure and the Aliens Colonial Marines Play Arts Kai Spitter Action Figure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Understand the criticism but still enjoyed the game!!, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this game fully expecting it to be rather poor considering the reviews it received from gaming websites however I couldn't pass up the opportunity to play in Hadley's Hope and to re-enact scenes from the movie to a certain extent. The excellent price for the Collector's Edition offered by Amazon.co.uk (29 pounds) also proved difficult to resist.

Let me first deal with the Collector's Edition. The Powerloader is AWESOME!!!!! It is brilliantly detailed and is an excellent Collector's Edition offering. The rest of the extras such as the USS Sephora blueprint and so on are also really nice but come in as a distant second compared to the Powerloader. I do think the extras are worth paying for (the difference now between the standard edition and Collector's Edition offered by Amazon.co.uk is negligible) as they are nice little reminders of the movies and so on, especially the Colonial Marines patches which are also really detailed. The bonus map (the Colonial Marine Academy Firing Range) I found to be poor and boring and only played it for about 10-15 minutes. The four playable characters that are also offered are only for multiplayer as are Ripley's flamethrower and the sonic ball devices and that was rather disappointing but I should have expected that.

Now to the game.......I have yet to finish the game but I must admit I have so far enjoyed playing it. Yes, the graphics are dated (reminded me of the graphics from Resistance: Fall of Man) and yes the AI of your teammates is pathetic to the point that you are seemingly always fighting the Xenomorphs and W-Y Merc's singlehandedly but the game is still fun!!! Nothing beats walking around an almost dark ship, LV-426 or a Xenomorph lair with the ominous beeping sound from the Motion Tracker blaring through the TV as you wait for Xeno's to jump out and end your little Marine's poor existence. The guns are your standard guns from the AVP series so your Pulse Rifle, Smartgun, Shotgun etc so not much has changed there. What I did enjoy is the "updated" manner in which the Smartgun is used. What I mean by this is that when you equip the Smartgun you now make use of a HUD which I think ties in nicely with the movies (if you remember both Vasquez and Drake have eye-pieces that allude to a HUD of some sort) so that I enjoyed. What was also enjoyable was the rank system used throughout the games that allows you to level up weapons and so on. Players receive "experience" for achieving certain things throughout the game such as killing Xeno's and Merc's or finding collectables or completing challenges and this experience then allows you to purchase upgrades for your weapons. Upgrades include underslung shotguns/grenade launchers, various optical sights, silencers and so on and that was a nice touch. Challenges include things such as "kill 20 enemies with a primary weapon" or "get 10 headshots with a pistol" and range from very easy to very difficult. The collectables are fun to collect throughout the game and include things such as Vasquez's Smartgun, Gorman's pistol, Hudson's Pulse Rife and Newt's "Head Doll." The dog tags are also from some of the dead Colonial Marines from the movie and the audio logs were fun to listen to. Collecting these also reminds you of how many Colonial Marines the Xeno's took out before they escaped LV-426. A critique of the game is that it is indeed linear and it does "force" you to move in a certain direction like the games of old do but I don't really have a problem with this as all games do this, they just achieve it in a different manner.

Overall, I would definitely recommend the game to anyone who loved the Aliens movie and enjoyed the PC versions of AVP as it really is fun. There is very little that compares to being able to walk through Hadley's Hope on LV-426 and see the room where the facehuggers attacked Ripley and Newt or be in the Command Room when it gets attacked by the Xeno's just like it was in the movie. It really does help you understand why Hudson freaked out like he did and will also make you question the next time a "company" tells you they are going to an alien planet to "investigate" a lost signal!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Obviously you need to like the game, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Having dropped in price by around a third, this is a bargain now. Obviously you need to like the game, but the Power Loader figurine is very well made and weighty. Include a DLC code for extras, which you would normally need to purchase separately via the PSN. It seems that people either love or hate this game................there`s no in between. Took me a while to get to grips with it, but after a huge 4GB patch, it does look good now. I`d recommend the Bradygames Guidebook as well, if like me, you get stuck on a level. The sounds and music are spot on and add to the atmosphere of the game hugely. Every time the motion detector starts bleeping, up goes my heart rate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
It's really awesome this Collector's Edition.Many suprise inside the box.
The allien figure is very heavy like iron and looks very live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awsome !!!, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Very good ;) huge fan of the frenchise ;) had the expected ;) i wold rate the game a 4, some minor gliches, but the rest of the package compensated a lot ;)loved the figure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Game for fans and Excellent edition, 21 Sep 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
The game is not very good but it is better if you are an alien's fan. The edition is exceptional overall with these prices. If you are an alien fan this is your edition better than game alone. The figure is awsome and the briefing is very cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars much better now after the updates they've done, 16 Aug 2013
By 
M. MCPARTLAND - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
okay it's not perfect but the price I paid was worth it for the collectors edition.

it's quite a good game now they've updated it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aliens Colonial Marines - Collector's Edition (PS3)
15.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews