Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cussler Virgin impressed but not over-awed
Hmmm. Well I bought this as an Amazon recommendation. It was a thoroughly enjoyableread, my first Cussler book. I don't know why but I'd assumed him to be a German WWII authour! Dirk Pitt is clearly one cool dude but if after reading the reviews this is one of his (and Cussler's)best I'm not going to rush out and buy the back list.
Don't get me wrong - its a...
Published on 17 Mar 2000

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where's Atlantis?
This was my first Clive Cussler book and has now become my only Clive Cussler book. I really enjoyed the early chapters, they were lively and amusing, the hero was witty and so over-the-top, he was like James Bond on caffeine. He always seemed to find whatever he needed to escape the baddies and it was so contrived it had to be a send-up. Then I realised it was no...
Published on 10 Dec 2012 by J. Stephen Solar


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cussler Virgin impressed but not over-awed, 17 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Atlantis Found (Hardcover)
Hmmm. Well I bought this as an Amazon recommendation. It was a thoroughly enjoyableread, my first Cussler book. I don't know why but I'd assumed him to be a German WWII authour! Dirk Pitt is clearly one cool dude but if after reading the reviews this is one of his (and Cussler's)best I'm not going to rush out and buy the back list.
Don't get me wrong - its a good entertaining read for a "Clancy-man at heart" the characters are similar, have their foibles but hey, they're good honest men and true. I'd say, if you're new to Cussler, and like Clancy, buy it but as one of the reviewers says, wait for the paperback and/or buy Patrick Robinson's Nimitz Class in the meantime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where's Atlantis?, 10 Dec 2012
By 
J. Stephen Solar "Solarteedoh" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was my first Clive Cussler book and has now become my only Clive Cussler book. I really enjoyed the early chapters, they were lively and amusing, the hero was witty and so over-the-top, he was like James Bond on caffeine. He always seemed to find whatever he needed to escape the baddies and it was so contrived it had to be a send-up. Then I realised it was no send-up, the author was being serious!

The situations got more and more ridiculous as time went on. For example, when the hero needed a big truck to get across the arctic ice, well, there just happened to be a technician there with a big truck and he just happened to have refurbished the engine and adapted it for severe arctic travel and... you get it, coincidence gone mad.

To add to the frustration, despite the title, Atlantis had very little to do with the story, it was merely a backdrop to a story about how bad Nazis are, especially when they try to make a comeback and take over the world. Plus, of course, Nazi soldiers can't shoot straight, their shots go everywhere but the target, how did they ever become soldiers? They can't even hit the side of a truck.

Normally, when I 've enjoyed a book, I pass it on to friends, the poorer books get sent to charity (sorry) but this one went in the bin. I would not inflict this infantile rubbish on anyone. One extra star for the unintentional humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Politically incorrect, historically questionable, but fun!, 4 Oct 2004
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I hadn't read any Cussler, let alone any Dirk Pitt novels before. This one caught my attention because the Atlantis theme coincides with my interest in humankind's prehistory.
Fairly early on though I decided I would need to set my disbelief to one side and just go with the flow if I wanted to derive any enjoyment from this book. Anthropologists will surely hurl this pot boiler across the room and issue indignant snorts at the notion that almost the entire human race was wiped out in 7,000 B.C. Furthermore, during the denouement, the tactics employed to thwart the villains are somewhat farcical when a simpler solution is staring us in the face!
But Cussler never intended to give us an accurate history lesson, and let's get onto the plot! This is a rollicking adventure where our rugged and handsome hero knocks the preverbial out of sinister foreigners with funny accents and discovers the lost continent of Atlantis, almost without breaking sweat. Dirk Pitt is definitely up there with Indiana Jones and James Bond and probably hasn't got far to go to give Superman a run for his money. He's the kind of mega-tough guy who, if his lungs start to hurt when the going gets tough, he spits them out and gets on with saving civilisation as we know it. He always has a witty line in repartee on his tongue too, and don't the ladies just lap it up! In real life he would probably come over as Leisure Suit Larry's more dangerous brother and would be regarded as rather corny by any streetwise modern woman. The womem in Dirk Pitt's world however are invariably beautiful and frequently in need of rescue by our invincible square-jawed hero, which, of course, he invariably accomplishes in the nick of time.
But enough irony and nitpicking! The action (and boy, is there plenty of that!) is very competently described and I defy anyone not to devour this hefty tome (500+ pages) in a flurry of undemanding but enjoyable page turning. I swear you will shiver as Cussler depicts the numbing effects of wind-chill on our hero!
So, classic literature this ain't, but I enjoyed it all the same and have no regrets about buying my first ticket into the rather simplistic but pretty damn entertaining world of Dirk Pitt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atlantis irrelevant, 13 Oct 2010
By 
SonicQuack (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
As fictional global powerstruggles go, Atlantis Found serves up a particularly thrilling and entertaining one. You can't go wrong with Nazis, as Indiana Jones has proved. The action is shared out liberally between the NUMA team, albeit Dirk Pitt has the lion's share, and this approach allows Cussler to open up the plot, spreads out the action and allows parallel narratives to be played out. As with previous novels in the series a hearty suspension of disbelief is required - this is Bond-esque action and adventure with diabolical plans, daring action sequences and a sprinkling of romance. The only real disappointment is the title, a red herring, and if you're looking for a novel which is centrally around finding Atlantis then there are better choices, for here it's only ever upon the periphery of a cracking adventure yarn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a gift for my Dad, really enjoyed it. He loves Cussler's work and this was no exception. Will buy others in the series I'm sure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, full of twist and turns!, 1 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Atlantis Found (Audio Cassette)
Clive Cussler's Atlantis Found is characteristic of so many of his novels being truly exciting and page-turning. The plot is wonderfuly masterminded and Dirk comes to the rescue in style as usual. You'll wish there was more! Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Failed to make a real story of the Atlantis theme, 12 Nov 2014
By 
Thorwald Franke (Frankfurt am Main) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
With this 15th adventure of the character Dirk Pitt from 1999, Cussler wrote an exciting book which sucks the reader into the story step by step, yet the story consists almost only of action scenes. It is well written action and "bromance", yet this is not enough for a book which wants to tell about Atlantis.

Basically, "Atlantis" is used by Cussler only as a code word or cipher for an unexpected prehistoric society of world-wide range. So Plato's real Atlantis is actually not in scope. Cussler openly says this himself in chapter 25. Cussler's "Atlantis" looks like this: An old seafaring people, called the Amenes, settled on the coasts of the continents all over the world. The Amenes were almost totally extincted by the impact of a comet in approx. 7100 BC which provoked the flooding of all towns near the sea and an earth crustal shift. The survivors had installed all over the world several cave rooms with inscriptions, maps and obsidian skulls, in order to warn later generations before the return of a second comet. The capital city was situated in antarctica, now after the earth crustal shift under a thick layer of ice. Egyptians and Greeks were the successors of the Amenes. The important chapters about this are chapters 24, 25 and 43.

By this plot, Cussler reused some known pseudoscientific opinions in his novel. This is regrettable, since a good novel is charakterized by describing something possible, yet here we have long-since disproved theses. And it has almost nothing to do with Plato's Atlantis. Regularly, novels about Atlantis fail because of a lack of the right bite. The right bite would come from an appropriate connection of Plato's Atlantis with reality, yet in order to achieve this you have to go beyond what usual Atlantis searchers and usual Atlantis skeptics have to say. You would have to realize that Plato meant it all real, yet at the same time it is a distorted historical tradition. Find more about academic approaches towards Atlantis as a real place on the Web page Atlantis-Scout.

What is strange is, that Cussler connects the Atlantis topic and the Nazi topic as many authors do, but without really connecting them! It is not about the fact that certain Nazis (errorneously and pseudoscientifically) dreamt of Atlantis and the Atlanteans as their ancestors. It is only about some successors of old Nazis finding the heritage of the Amenes and trying to exploit it for their needs. Genetical engineering is done only with Hitler's DNA, not with DNA from any of the Amenes corpses. And concerning the ideology, we get to know almost nothing about the constitution of the Amenes people, so we do not know whether they favored something like the Nazi ideology, or not. No answer is an answer in this case, so we can well assume they did not.

Cussler also explicates more on the possibility of an earth crustal shift and talks about the danger that huge masses of shelf ice in antarctica could swim into the open sea and disturb the balance of the planet. By the way, Cussler also introduces into nano technology, yet this sounds somewhat dated, 15 years later. Cussler also introduces himself into the story, which is OK at first glance, but then he exaggerates his own role, which looks weird. Finally, Dirk Pitt decides to marry, which is surely an important step in the development of this character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The result of Mixing Indiana Jones, James Bond, and others, 27 Nov 2002
By 
taking a rest - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Mr. Cussler's books are great escapist fiction. His newest, "Atlantis Found", I believe is one of the better tales he has told. The other enjoyment that comes with a Cussler novel is watching the professional critics try to trash his work. They don't get it, but as these novels routinely make the best-seller lists, we, the readers, do. The critics do get it, but they prefer books that get the literary equivalent of an Academy Award, while Mr. Cussler takes home The People's Choice Award.

"Atlantis Found" is way over the top, fantastic in what is spread on its' 534 pages, and most importantly, it is pure fun, and a great read. Dirk Pitt and Al Giordino are a combination of, Indiana Jones, James Bond, The Saint, the members of the old and new Mission Impossible teams, and a dash of The Duke, John Wayne, leading the cavalry. Sure the book has its cliché's, but does not every Bond film as well? Mr. Cussler gives his readers what they enjoy, and what may be one person's cliché, is another's cue that he or she is about to embark on an adventure with old friends. If you read Mr. Cussler you have probably read well into this latest work, and if you are not yet amongst his readers, "Atlantis Found", is a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rattling good yarn!, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlantis Found: Dirk Pitt #15 (Dirk Pitt Adventure) (Kindle Edition)
As ever with Clive Cusslar an excellent if slightly unlikely tale. Brilliant night time or holiday read as one never has to keep flipping back because of the complexity of the plot. Keep them coming Mr Cusslar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best book from Clive Cussler yet, in my opinion, give this one ago if you havent read any before this one is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews