Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a great book. Cool inspiration and it's in details
It's a great book. Cool inspiration and it's in details.
It's black/white pictures inside, but that doesn't really matter tbh.
Some of the scenarios are not that well explained in the pictures, but the text compliments it well.
All in all, it's a cool little tool if you're in need of some inspiration for your script writing or on set production.
Published 21 months ago by Andersen

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting content, but very lazy
Do you have a decent DVD collection and a free weekend? If so you could easily write this book.

There is a desperate shortage of decent education material on composition and camera movement for film, so I have read most books out there. This book doesn't attempt any synthesis or theoretical discussion, but instead is just a catalogue of shots from well known...
Published 22 months ago by CB


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting content, but very lazy, 7 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Do you have a decent DVD collection and a free weekend? If so you could easily write this book.

There is a desperate shortage of decent education material on composition and camera movement for film, so I have read most books out there. This book doesn't attempt any synthesis or theoretical discussion, but instead is just a catalogue of shots from well known movies.
I would have preferred if the author had at least tried to form some kind of general theory from the example shots, but it is what it is.
The main problem is the incredible laziness with which the material was put together. There is one (1!) example for each shot. How hard would it have been to find a second example of each shot? If there is no second example for the shot how are we to know if this is really a reusable shot, or when it is appropriate? Can you really learn or generalize from a single example?
Instead of a second example we get an ugly Poser recreation of the scene that provides no value.
The examples frames are generally too few in number to give any understanding of the motion in the shot. The diagrams of the camera movement generally don't include essential information like the direction of rotation of the camera.
The text is generally vague, and is in a huge font that takes up valuable space that could have been used for more stills.
The printing quality is woeful, and much squinting and peering is required to make sense of any darker stills.

With all that said, there are some interesting examples in this book, and most readers will probably get something out of it.
But, if you have the discipline, and the time, then you would get much more by watching a few good DVDs with a notebook handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a great book. Cool inspiration and it's in details, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a great book. Cool inspiration and it's in details.
It's black/white pictures inside, but that doesn't really matter tbh.
Some of the scenarios are not that well explained in the pictures, but the text compliments it well.
All in all, it's a cool little tool if you're in need of some inspiration for your script writing or on set production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting books, lots of good tips, but it suffers from a terrible layout. The 3D pictures are god-awful and don't contribute much. I'd rather have a good storyboarder draw the stuff. Anyway I'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used for my Direct fiction student project, useful techniques it help to enhance my film in term of Film Grammar
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a hidden gem of a book., 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a hidden gem of a book.
Great for ideas on staging lots of different shots and also has a usefull birdseye layout of the scene so You can see where best to place the camera and actors. Lots of Technical advice on lenses aswell..
Great Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Photographers Bible, 15 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really helpfull books looking forward to the next edition arriving soon :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must have, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recently got in filming - this is a must and for the price

I got professional results that stunned an audience

They was led to believe i was professionally trained & i wasn't
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews