Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My first DOA
This is the first time I've bought dead or alive for a console (previously played in arcades)

The game itself is quite easy to pick up and includes lots of different modes;

Story mode
Online mode - Simple match, lobby match, ranked match.
Survival
Time attack
Versus
Arcade

The graphics are 10/10 they match up to...
Published 21 months ago by //\\//\\agic

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its not bad
not bad game bur the loading time is very bad, and not real variation to the previous one. If you have the others dont bother
Published 15 months ago by reviewer of childrens books


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My first DOA, 1 Oct 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead or Alive 5 (PS3) (Video Game)
This is the first time I've bought dead or alive for a console (previously played in arcades)

The game itself is quite easy to pick up and includes lots of different modes;

Story mode
Online mode - Simple match, lobby match, ranked match.
Survival
Time attack
Versus
Arcade

The graphics are 10/10 they match up to any fighting games from recent times (MK9 + TTT2). The actual fighting is smooth and combos are easy to pull off, though one downfall currently is that there is a lag (once) in almost every match offline or online so hopefully this can be sorted by a patch repair download.

There are many characters to choose from all with unique moves and styles which varies the fighting styles. The game allows you to choose various courses (difficulty) to allow you to challenge yourself to your relevant skill level.

The fight stages are awesome and very detailed and some have activation zones where you can damage your opponent using the environment (way better than what TTT2 offers).

Overall I would recommend this game especially if you are in to your fighting games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DOA Still Alive!, 29 Sep 2012
By 
Marty (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead or Alive 5 (PS3) (Video Game)
It's been a while since a Dead or Alive game has been released. That time could hinder a game series, however DOA5 proves how time away can make for an impressive comeback.

This is still DOA as fans know it; it's visually beautiful, fluid and addictive to play and has a kick ass soundtrack. The one thing that has been greatly improved however, is the story. There's an actual story mode involving every character that is for the most part very entertaining. The best scenes come from Kasumi and Hayate, Tina, Christie and new guy Rig. The voice acting is particularly convincing for these characters, and the action scenes are awesome.

There's a lot of other offline modes to enjoy too, and again, it really feels like they've been thought out. Each type of play has a tier system to work through, increasing difficulty each time in a way that gradually builds your skills up instead of throwing you in an impossible fight from the off.

Online is fantastic, probably one of the most enjoyable fighters to play online. There is again, a variety of modes to play and they're all very polished. All modes can be played in Solo or Tag battle, too.

A nice extra bonus is the addition of a few Virtua Fighter 5 characters, adding nicely to the modest but well designed roster of old and new DOA fighters.

DOA5 is by the far the best in the series, and to be honest, there is only one flaw that slightly hinders the experience. The graphics are generally stunning, but there is a lack of consistency. Character models are the best I've seen in a fighting game to date, but stages can look very rough around the edges and a little rushed, which is a shame because they are very well designed. There is also the odd frame rate issue, but again, nothing that damages the gameplay too much. These are things that could be fixed with a patch.

Overall this is my favourite fighter to date, I'd say it easily stands up to Tekken Tag 2 and Soul Caliber 5, and is already my most played out of all three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead or Alive 5 (PS3) (Video Game)
Great update to a good series of games, and yay for Amazon stocking it as non of the local stores had it or would not even order it when asked, and it was cheaper then the PSN store version too:)

Great graphics,great enviroments and move list, good music and if you check the PSN store carefully,there is some free upgrades for it amongst the pay for stuff. It may be an older game now but well worth the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead or Alive 5 (PS3) (Video Game)
it's ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So..., 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead or Alive 5 (PS3) (Video Game)
I've been a fan of beat'em ups for years, but never really go into DOA until DOA3, since then I've been in and out of the series, DOA5 is my favourite to date, I've been a lifelong fan of Tekken but this is starting to come through as a contender for my favourite fighter :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead or Alive 5 (PS3) (Video Game)
Arrived exactly the 27th early in the morning, game is awesome! Definitely highly recommended for anyone that's into fighting games!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a buy for fighting game beginners and vets alike, 18 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead or Alive 5 (PS3) (Video Game)
I love the gameplay and the complexity you can get when emerging yourself in the fighting mechanics. Only gripe i haven with the game is that I would have loved to have more game modes and more characters to unlock instead of mainly costumes..
But overall a buy well worth it for people who enjoy fighting games, beginners and long timers alike.
The game really shines when played with your buds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a game, 6 Oct 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead or Alive 5 (PS3) (Video Game)
what can i say about this game. other than buy it, graphics are superb, it has all the old fighters from previous daed or alive games plus ones you can unlock as well from virtua fighter games, more than 20+ altogether. it has a great story mode plus arcade,versus, plus training mode and above all it ain't that hard to master either pretty much like the other dead or alive games before. you have got to get this game, trust me your love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fighting game!, 15 Dec 2012
This review is from: Dead or Alive 5 (PS3) (Video Game)
Dont be fooled by thinking "this is nothing more than a fan service game", give it a chance and you will realise that it's a great game with much depth in fighting mechanics, competativity and skills. -More than titles like tekken, which is very easy to get into and play with friends, but less than Super street fighter which IS the mostcompetative fighter. But lets not compare it to other titles...

DOA5 has the best graphics of any fighting game and amazing dynamic stagesg which no other fighting can probably match. Stages are excellent but i feel there are too few since i want more sceneries to enjoy. Like how can they have swimsuit and school uniform costumes without a beach or school/gym stage? Its just my op.. But the options of stages get few especiallt for tag team mode, when the stages are limited to the larger ones.
Graphics are stunning and everything is rendered excellent. Details like dirt , water and sweat changes the characters clothing and body appearance in a very good way. Theres probably going to be more stages as dlc tho which im looking forward to

Gameplay is very deep, fast paced, and combo/counter based. It uses and is very centric around the triangle system. Strikes < holds < throws < strikes means that every move has a counter and its all about predicting the opponent and mindgames to dish out as much damage as possible. Since the game is so centric of this system, only two buttons are for striking (punch, kick. Also heavy punch for p+k, and heavy kick for k+h). This is the basis to why i would bring tekken over doa to a friends party where nobody is a true gamer, -since there is only two buttons to mash. Since strikes counters throws, they wont even have use of the x button and newbies dont understand how to hold. Its really just simply made for more competative and advaced gaming.

Modes. Since we have been waiting for the cons let's start with that: story of story mode is just simply lame and boring except a few well made cutscenes. The good thing about the story mode is that it functions as a tutorial with its mini missions like "perform two expert holds" and shows you how to, and when to use it. Story is however not that well made. Tag mode enables up to 4players to play, very well made, all characters combinations has unique tag throws making it a large variation of tags which i really cant understand how they had time to animate it all.

Overall:
Graphics: 10/10 really, great animations, incorporates movements in stages very well, dynamic stages, very detailed stuff like dirt, water and sweat is done excellent
Gameplay: fast paced, triangle system (counter system) based, skills and mindgames matters. Advanced, but not too much, give it some time to understand mechanics.
Modes: boring story mode mostly, but a big + that it functions as tutorial for all kinds of moves from basics to intricate stuff. Tag mode is very fun and great!

If you are looking for a more in depth fighter. Get this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its not bad, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead or Alive 5 (PS3) (Video Game)
not bad game bur the loading time is very bad, and not real variation to the previous one. If you have the others dont bother
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead or Alive 5 (PS3)
Dead or Alive 5 (PS3) by Tecmo Koei (PlayStation 3)
9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews