Customer Reviews


844 Reviews
5 star:
 (555)
4 star:
 (173)
3 star:
 (63)
2 star:
 (38)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I got lost in the silo
Life is good in the silo. The people are friendly, food is plentiful, healthcare is readily available when needed. Those in charge are democratically elected and take their office on the top floor. A skilled IT department keeps channels of communication open throughout. And the whole silo is kept ticking over by the engineers in Mechanical, deep in the belly of the Earth...
Published 23 months ago by Marie

versus
33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She went down the 9,999 steps, forgot the dog, went back up the 9,999 steps......
Wool is set in an apocalyptic future. In a world smothered in toxic fumes we are introduced to the inhabitants of a silo which extends over a hundred storeys down into the earth. A world where people are divided into castes according to their occupations. A world where survival is dependent upon rigidly enforced discipline, where transgression is punished by being forced...
Published 13 months ago by P. G. Harris


‹ Previous | 1 285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I got lost in the silo, 15 Jun. 2013
By 
Marie (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wool (Wool Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
Life is good in the silo. The people are friendly, food is plentiful, healthcare is readily available when needed. Those in charge are democratically elected and take their office on the top floor. A skilled IT department keeps channels of communication open throughout. And the whole silo is kept ticking over by the engineers in Mechanical, deep in the belly of the Earth. Just one look at the screens projecting video images of the bleak, uninhabitable landscape outside, and the inhabitants of the silo know how good they've got it. There are always some crazy folk who question this from time to time. How did the silo get here? What exactly is out there, out of view of the lens? These ungrateful dissenters are punished by being cast out with a woolen cloth to clean the cameras so that everyone else can continue to enjoy the view - fated to certain death. But one day sheriff Holston, the sensible and much-respected warden of the silo, joins the dissident ranks and chooses to go outside. This sets in motion a chain of events that shake the foundations of the entire community.

Wool is actually an omnibus of five short stories that were originally published separately but you can barely see the joins. I can see how books one and two worked as standalone novellas, but by the time you hit book three everything merges seamlessly. And it's a good job, too, because had I been reading this at the time of publication I don't think I would have been able to bear sitting on the edge of my seat waiting to find out what happens in the next installment! He spins a hell of a yarn.

Howey has created such a unique and intricate setting in the silo. It's fascinating to have the whole world condensed into one single underground warren. He clearly has a good understanding of sociology and politics, and deftly illustrates both the physical and social hierarchies that exist between the different cliques of inhabitants.

I also particularly appreciated the effort put into characterisation. Howey flits between different points of view but each individual is so well-developed that I was reluctant to leave them behind when it came to the next chapter. So many favourites - Holston, heartbroken after the death of his wife. The wise Mayor Jahns. Feisty mechanic Juliette. Old Walker, the reclusive electrician who's a secret genius.

I'm so glad I picked this up as it's a really satisying tale to get tangled up in. I certainly feel that Wool deserves the great reviews it has received and would be enjoyed by many readers, even those who aren't usually attracted to sci-fi/dystopian fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blinking addictive!, 10 Dec. 2013
By 
Liz Wilkins "Lizzy11268" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wool (Wool Trilogy Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
In a ruined and toxic landscape, a community exists in a giant silo underground, hundreds of stories deep. There, men and women live in a society full of regulations they believe are meant to protect them. Sheriff Holston, who has unwaveringly upheld the silo's rules for years, unexpectedly breaks the greatest taboo of all: He asks to go outside.

So I'm aware that this was originally written in parts and this is the whole brought together in one volume - I am actually immensely grateful that this did not appear on my radar earlier because it would have driven me absolutely insane to have to wait for each new instalment - ok I am pretty insane most of the time anyway, but still.

Wool is that rarest of things - a completely character driven dystopian novel. Its a beautifully written one at that. The pace is fairly slow but oh so compelling - as we meet various characters living in the Silo, a lot of whom for one reason or another start to doubt the facts they have been living with. Endlessly fascinating, this little snapshot of a life led in one place and in one way, following very specific rules whose purpose seem to have been lost in the mists of time, its a living breathing thing.

Of course that is not all there is to it by any means. The world building here is also superb but rather than extensive descriptive passages, we see pretty much all of it through the eyes of our characters - as they move through the various levels of the Silo and a wider picture emerges. The various aspects of the life they lead, the social structures and different communities that make up the whole. Some familiar themes are woven into the narrative - power, responsibility, rebellion and realisation - at times its emotive stuff - you will come to know these people well.

As our protagonists start to learn more about the realities, what came before, what is being hidden, it is absolutely addictive - I could barely put it down. Absolutely brilliant writing.

I am so pleased that I still have two more novels to go - I believe the next one is in the way of being a "prequel" and that the last will pull all the various strands of the tale together. I can't wait to see the whole picture. I really can't. Highly recommended.

Happy Reading Folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Society in a Silo: an entangling start to a series, 10 Jan. 2014
By 
K. J. Noyes "Katy Noyes" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wool (Wool Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
I try to only give 5 to books I really feel are original, powerful, hard to put down, with well-written characters.

And yes, Wool is all of these things. I love the title, which takes on more than one meaning as the layers of the story are uncovered. I loved the gradual reveal of the truth of the lives the characters are living and the way I can picture the silo and the long, long walk from one end to the other. I love the way characters you were feeling strongly sympathetic towards were suddenly and brutally despatched.

But most of all, the story. Something has happened to our world. It must have done. A group of people are living in a 160-floor silo under the ground, have never left, work and rest and live within its confines. Segregated into sections within their own society, this group has classes - those closest to the top being the white collar classes, the mechanics keeping it all together being the 'working stiffs' in the depths.

Order must be maintained. And so every few years a dissenter/rule breaker is found guilty and sent out to 'clean' - clean the camera lenses that act as the only window on the world the silo inhabitants possess.

It is only after one such cleaning, of the silo's much respected widower Sheriff, that repressed feelings begin to bubble to the surface as a mechanic from the depths, Juliette, is offered the vacant post.

Very cinematic, you can picture the setting, the characters, clearly. It's a wonderful dystopian fiction that is frightening in the realism it contains: how this really COULD happen to us.

Juliette is a wonderful female role, an Ellen Ripley / Katniss Everdeen heroine, surrounded by a full complement of society's inhabitants. The book is long, but once you see more of the overall picture of Howey's, it's a story you relish will take 500 pages. And of course. It's a series, and ends on a note that leads you to want to follow the story further.

Don't be put off by the length, Wool is worth getting tangled up in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wool has been an amazing experience,, 2 Feb. 2013
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wool (Wool Trilogy 1) (Hardcover)
Review

Wool has been an amazing experience, the book started out for me as one mans emotional turmoil in a desolate world. It then led me to see and then feel the inner workings of the power structure of the Silo. All of this was engaging as a story, but it wasnt until the screen was peeled back that you began to see and experience the true 1984 style control surrounding the lives of everyone in the silo.

The Silo is one huge air tight world, an organism that functions only as long as every part functions properly, as long as there is a back up ready to take its place or to fix a problem. Disease cannot be allowed to fester and ideas are a disease. This is a world of do your job, live your life and don't question the world at large. This is how the end of the world looks and it's a scary sight.

This story is high tension, high stress and a bloody scary look at humanity in a confined space. It's not a book I can say I loved, but its a book I can say made me think and think and think, its a book you experience as much as you read it. I would highly recommend this book to all readers

(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She went down the 9,999 steps, forgot the dog, went back up the 9,999 steps......, 1 April 2014
By 
P. G. Harris - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wool (Wool Trilogy Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Wool is set in an apocalyptic future. In a world smothered in toxic fumes we are introduced to the inhabitants of a silo which extends over a hundred storeys down into the earth. A world where people are divided into castes according to their occupations. A world where survival is dependent upon rigidly enforced discipline, where transgression is punished by being forced into the hostile external environment and a swift death.

Wool started life as a series of self published novellas, and it origins show in the episodic feel of the early chapters where we are introduced first to Sheriff Holston, and then to mayor Jahns, who strut and fret their hours upon the stage and then are heard no more. After their departures the rest of the book is given over to Juliette, a mechanical engineer in a world run by IT, and her literally star-crossed lover, Lukas.

As the novel progresses,the true nature of the world is slowly revealed as Juliette goes through a series of physical trials before finally confronting her blandly evil nemesis, the terrifyingly named........ Bernard.

There is much to be admired about Wool. It is an original concept (putting aside thoughts of HG Wells' molochs) and a well realised world. However, for me it somehow didn't really work. I think I can work out why it doesn't from one of the positive reviews. The Daily Express is quoted as saying that it is one of dystopian fiction's masterpieces alongside the likes of 1984 and Brave New World. Therein lies the problem. Those works were, like all great speculative fiction, like Philip K Dick, allegorical, using a world of fantasy to comment on contemporary society, or on some facet of human nature.

Wool doesn't do that. It is purely a work of world building, and as such, needs to stand on its own. Seen through that lens, the holes start to appear. The physical environment is 130 storeys deep. Lets say what,12ft a tier, thats 1560ft. Why does its take days to walk up or down ? Why just one staircase? Why are the farms so far from the surface? Why are there no lifts? The closer one looks, the less coherent the narrative becomes, and above all, one question, everybody ejected for crimes dutifully cleans the sensors which enable the inhabitants to see outside, before dying. WHY? The explanation given doesn't make any sense. Which is problematic for something so central to the plot.

The writing style didn't engage me either. First it needs a damn good editor, there is just too much mundane detail. Secondly the narrative switches between different observers, with virtually every one ending on a cliffhanger. Eventually that destroys rather than creating tension. Thirdly Juliette's adventures get repetitive. She does something dangerous. Initially all goes well. Then something goes wrong. Then by superhuman effort she gets out of it. Finally, the slow reveal of what is going on didn't create any tension for me. I just found myself thinking, "Oh for goodness sake explain your scenario, then get on with the story.

So, its ok. It's not a light read, it's fairly grim, there are some interesting ideas, but it could do with being more coherent, and with moving more quickly. In the end its a bit of a shaggy dog story, a lot of repetitive detail, but not quite worth the pay off in the end. It's definitely not 1984 or Brave New World, more like Logans Run written with vague memories of having read Lord of the Flies at school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disjointed, 22 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Wool (Wool Trilogy Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An interesting concept, but disjointed and poorly written. There are massive holes in the realisation of the of the dystopian backdrop and the plot comes across at times like a turgid teen romance, which even then doesn't ring true, after all, Juliette is supposed to be in her mid thirties but acts like a moon struck 17 year old while Lukas, a twenty something, is even more emotionally immature. Apart from the main protagonist the characters feel flat and two dimensional...so all in all I can't see any of the sequels, or prequels, beckoning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read the whole trilogy if you never read anything else!, 24 May 2014
This review is from: Wool (Wool Trilogy 1) (Hardcover)
I have now finished the whole trilogy. Wool was found in a charity shop and from almost the first page I was hooked and couldn't put the book down. it is an imperative read for sci fi and dystopian fans.

In a post apocalyptic world , mankind has had to live underground as the outside world has become too toxic to support life,you will have to read the 3 books in order to find out how and why this has come about.. Home is an immense silo, with many levels and a huge winding staircase being the only access to each of them; there are no lifts! Ordinary people go about their lives as we would here on the surface; there are people who live and work "up top" in the "mids" or the "down deep". A visit to "Mechanical" in the "Down Deep" for example from the Cafeteria at the top would take more than a day to accomplish to give you an idea of how big this silo is.

These rather simplistic descriptions conjure up a real picture in the mind of the reader as to what it must be like to live and work in such a place. what is rather more sinister is the rules that these people live by, the Order and the Pact, and there are some who would question this and start to probe a little deeper into the silo's history.

It becomes clear to Jules, our Protagonist, that all is not what it seems, especially the mysterious "cleanings" that take place once in a while, and from which nobody ever returns. It is when the Silo's Sherriff Holston, is sent out to clean and Jules is called upon by the Mayor to fill his role and move up to the "up top" from her role in "Mechanical" that matters start to take a very sinister turn indeed.

I am not going to reveal any more of the plot, save to say that all the characters you will meet in this novel and very well drawn and thought out. There are truly poignant parts and plenty of suspense to keep you turning the pages, keeping you up well into the small hours and ensuring you will buy the next 2 books before you finish this one. I had no hesitation in rushing out to buy Shift and Dust new and read all three straight off.

I can quite honestly say that this is the best trilogy I have ever read, I can find nothing negative to say about any of it and it simply HAS to be on everyone's bucket list! I felt quite lost and bereft after I had finished it.

You MUST buy these books, and read them in order, Wool, Shift, Dust. Simply brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They live in Silo, deep down in the Earth, and our world is gone, 13 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Wool (Wool Trilogy 1) (Hardcover)
"Silo" by Hugh Howey was originally written as Wool Omnibus that consist of five shorter stories and introduce reader to a different world after apocalyptic events happened caused by humans.

The remained human survivors live in great underground Silo that is a sort of prison due to people inability to exit to the outer world that is toxic, ruined and impossible to live in.

To be able to view outside world, cameras were installed and whenever they get dirty someone needs to clean them.
Due to toxic air, for this unpleasant task condemned criminals are those who are sacrificed to clean them.

For many years, the Silo was good home for remained people but slowly conflict will arise between daring young woman named Juliette unafraid of discovering Silo secrets and Sheriff Holston who has his reasons to keep things as they were for long time.

And with that conflict, future will be on stake, whether is the safety provided for long time more important to the survived people or they are in greater need of truth that can cause big problems...

This SF dystopian novel is a well-written and exciting read that is a real page turner.
Its action gradually develops and draws the reader deeper into the well designed bleak future world of humans.
Some (like me) can be disappointed with its ending given that it occurs too suddenly but that's the matter of liking.

Due to gradual development of the story, as it was originally written in five parts, one of two main characters Juliette will come a bit late in the novel, but she will soon steal the stage.
As character she has no problem becoming a central figure due to her personality traits and skills because of which reader can easily identify with her.
The same can be said for other main character, Sheriff Holston, who is also believable and multidimensional character.

"Silo" is an enjoyable read that can be recommended especially for fans of post apocalyptic literature and science fiction.

Due to that I can suggest you to read it together with its sequels, although this first part is certainly the best one in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wool, 5 Jun. 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wool (Wool Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
"If the lies don't kill you, the truth will."

I'm not sure how to approach writing a review of this book. Too much information would give away clues to the story; or it could make it sound like a strange and odd experience. So, here goes: a society which has, for generation upon generation lived in a silo environment, driven deep down into the ground, with just the top part above ground. Here, they have lived, created, and managed for how many years? And this is the way of life they fight to preserve. Those who think there may be more to life must hide these thoughts, or risk being sent `outside'.

The silo environment is massive; over one hundred and forty levels, from government and political at the top, down through IT, the nurseries, to the agricultural levels, to manufacturing and mechanical, down, down, down to the mining levels. All food, water, electricity, resources, are all created and renewed inside this environment, where population is managed, and where those who die are given back to the cycle of life in the growing environments. But maybe, just maybe, every so often there is a current of unrest amongst some of the inhabitants, and this unrest is quashed and all evidence removed. Could that be possible? And could there be room for change in this existence?

I love the way this story builds, from introspection, to consideration, to snippets of revelation, to action. This is great stuff; can't wait for the next instalment in this series. Totally recommended for anyone who wants to read a great sci-fi/apocalyptic novel, with real characters, real depth and real emotion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Woolly, 4 April 2013
By 
The Amazon J (Various, time dependent) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wool (Paperback)
In a post apocalyptic future (what, another one?) all that is left of human life is one deep silo, with mechanics at the bottom and IT on top. And then the camera pulls back.

The plot focus is mainly on the sheriff, and his subsequent replacement, and it's impossible to talk too much about what happens to each of them without dropping in major plot spoilers. There are plenty of twists, and the first short story alone is probably worth the admission price, telling you one thing, then another, then another, quite beautifully.

Unfortunately the five stories don't really work as a novel. I think the author had a great premise, some very good character sketches, and a setting with lots of options. For the novel, I think he should have rewritten from the ground up, (silo pun not intended) so he could give the characters more room to breathe and reorder things somewhat. The characters are very simplistic, they are heroes and villains, who occasionally switch sides like WWF wrestlers. The first part, which works as a great short story, gives too much away too soon for a novel.

Overall, the book scrapes faint pass marks as it is a very enjoyable dystopia, if such a thing can exist. There is room for a sequel and it will be interesting to see what the author does when he knows he's writing a novel from the start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wool (Wool Trilogy Series Book 1)
£4.61
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews