Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Tea and Secrets (An Adams Grove Novel, Book One)
I really, really love this book. The characters are great, the story has sufficient twists and turns to keep up the interest of the reader - and it's just so sweet. It's kind of like how life should be - and made me want to move to Adams Grove and befriend all the locals!!! Roll on Book Two.
Published 14 months ago by A. Lucas

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Sweet with Silly Secrets
I expected to like this story, it's just the sort of thing I like to unwind with - prodigal child returning from the big city, comes face-to-face with an old friend and realises there's unfinished business to deal with. In essentials this tale runs true to type, but there are a few problems.

Like why did Jill and Garrett break up in the first place? Their...
Published 7 months ago by Book Gannet


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Tea and Secrets (An Adams Grove Novel, Book One), 21 Feb 2013
By 
A. Lucas "bookworm" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I really, really love this book. The characters are great, the story has sufficient twists and turns to keep up the interest of the reader - and it's just so sweet. It's kind of like how life should be - and made me want to move to Adams Grove and befriend all the locals!!! Roll on Book Two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Tea and Secrets, 11 Dec 2013
By 
A. V. Calvert (Thorne,Doncaster) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A lovely story.I must admit I did not fancy the title but it has turned out to be the right one for the book.
Jill Clemmons gran was famous for her chocolate pecan pie and good advice.
Jill has returned to organise her grans funeral.She is also meeting her ex-boyfriend Garrett.These two events are the hardest things she has ever had to do.

Unfortunately during all these proceedings the house is broken into much to her consternation as there is nothing to steal.
For Jills safety Garrett tries to make sure she is safe.
Thereby hangs a tale.A good story,love,intrigue and a surprising tale within.
I loved this book and am glad I read it..I should have known really as I have read several Montlake Romances.
This was free for review via Amazon Vine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Sweet with Silly Secrets, 31 Aug 2013
By 
Book Gannet (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I expected to like this story, it's just the sort of thing I like to unwind with - prodigal child returning from the big city, comes face-to-face with an old friend and realises there's unfinished business to deal with. In essentials this tale runs true to type, but there are a few problems.

Like why did Jill and Garrett break up in the first place? Their reasons are mostly implied through various accusations throughout the book, but I would have liked to have known exactly what happened. Especially the part that Bradley played. It's all so vague and stupid. I can't see why two people who have been together forever would have fallen apart like that, all on the accusations of a stranger.

I also wondered why they weren't already married, since they were clearly so committed and were both apparently the marrying type.

That was the biggest problem I had, but there were others - continuity issues, such as the wood incident never being mentioned again, and a rapidly healing shoulder, amongst others. The 'treasure' plot was daft and obvious, and Jill's whole relationship with Bradley was just farcical. There were also a few weird instances where internal monologues were scattered throughout the dialogue, which were clunky and a bit cringeworthy.

Maybe this writer's style didn't quite work for me, but this whole book just seemed ridiculous. The things that happen, the slow speed at which the characters work things out, the ineptitude of the local police... gah.

No, sorry, this one didn't work for me. I won't be returning to Adams Grove anytime soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Tea and Secrets, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Tea and Secrets (An Adams Grove Novel) (Kindle Edition)
Lovely story, a bit predictable but some surprises. Some interesting recipes included which I must try out. Definitely want to read more in the Adams Grove series to find out about more of the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love these novels, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Tea and Secrets (An Adams Grove Novel) (Kindle Edition)
I will always buy a Nancy Naigle book as Im a sucker for a love story with a bit of a mystery. Would certainly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice light easy read., 11 July 2013
By 
BusyReader "mrs28" (Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Found this an easy book to read with nice character development and a reasonably paced story , with an interesting unexpected twist, it has romance and family relationships and a nice mystery. mainly ice characters that can be easily identified with.
There is also the added bonus of recipes at the end of the story !
I will look for other stories by this authors I like the simple way in which she writes,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Predictable but gentle and enjoyable, 14 Jun 2013
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When Jill's grandmother dies she is forced to return to the small town of Adams Grove in Virginia. Whilst coming to terms with her grief of her loss she also has to negotiate her feelings about an old flame and uncover a few secrets.

This is a gentle and predictable read, ideal for people who have enjoyed books by Joanna Fluke or similar authors. A nice bit of escapism!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable and uncomplicated., 1 Mar 2013
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Tea and Secrets (An Adams Grove Novel) (Kindle Edition)
When Jill returns to a small American town following the death of Pearl she is forced to relive her ill fated romance with Garrett and consider her choices in life - she also has to find out what is going on before she comes to physical harm.

This story leaves few cliches of the genre alone and the message is quite clear - small town is better than big city and family loyalty is better than anything. There was nothing surprising in this book and there was little that will stay with the reader after they are finished but it is enjoyable enough reading if you like this genre and like your books predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Romance and Mystery, 17 Dec 2012
By 
Mrs. C. Colbert (Blackburn, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is set in Southern America. I found the characters a little bit too wholesome but otherwise the book was easy reading and uplifting. It is a story about trust, love and respect. About going back home and finding your true self. Whilst this might sound cheesy, the book is not.There are twists and turns, laughter and romance.A good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Tea and Secrets., 15 April 2014
By 
catherine "Catherine" (poole, dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Nancy Naigle continues her Adams Grove series with this lovely contemporary romance which has just enough mystery to intrigue the reader. I am rapidly becoming addicted to the Adams Grove series which make for a perfect comfort read at the end of a busy day. Can't wait for the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa78d4a80)

This product

Only search this product's reviews