Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking
I thought that I was quite self aware but this book did make me think about some aspects of myself in a different way. Very few books have done that for me. I found her style of writing easy to read. Although the book is about brothers and sisters, it covers the development of a child and tries to go into the mind of the child to see what thoughts it has. I found that...
Published on 7 Mar 2008 by S. Platt

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars tremendously wordy and rambling
this didn't really give me any insight into my own sibling rivalry, very little practical help

most of us simply don't have the time to read such a true-life novel, that this is, with few direct practical statements, and instead a rambling pseudo-intellectual prose that seems more aimed at obfuscation than much real light-shining

I'm afraid it left...
Published on 31 Mar 2012 by rc_rc


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars tremendously wordy and rambling, 31 Mar 2012
By 
rc_rc (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
this didn't really give me any insight into my own sibling rivalry, very little practical help

most of us simply don't have the time to read such a true-life novel, that this is, with few direct practical statements, and instead a rambling pseudo-intellectual prose that seems more aimed at obfuscation than much real light-shining

I'm afraid it left me cold
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 7 Mar 2008
By 
S. Platt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I thought that I was quite self aware but this book did make me think about some aspects of myself in a different way. Very few books have done that for me. I found her style of writing easy to read. Although the book is about brothers and sisters, it covers the development of a child and tries to go into the mind of the child to see what thoughts it has. I found that this book resonated with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Mar 2009
By 
Diana Goose "Diana Goose" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I totally agree with the other reviewers of Dorothy Rowe's book. It is very readable, and highly informative. She has a sympathetic insight into just why people behave the way they do and skilfully demonstrates that with examples. She makes you realise that if you can understand why Siblings behaves the way they do, it immediately takes the heat and sting out of any situation and enables one to ultimately forgive. I highly recommend this book to anyone who has a problem with a brother or sister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STUNNING, 28 July 2011
By 
Anthony "1trace" (Stafford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Another masterpiece from the genius of Dorothy Rowe, with hard-earned examples of her own upbringing with a sister who discovered on her sixth birthday that she now had a little sister and would have to go away for a while. That little sister was Dorothy, who would never be forgiven. Every emotional imaginable is felt reading any Dorothy Rowe book and this one is no different. Sometimes you are left in a daze for days, such is the hard-hitting accuracy. It's like being told something you should have known all along. It can be hard to take, but then you cannot lie to yourself. if you want to improve as a person, read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the few psychotherapy books written on sibling rivalry, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great work, exploring the dynamics of sibling relationships; and how they colour our development and ways of relating - as powerfully as our relationship with our parents or primary care givers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Thought Provoking, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a replacement book for a library book I had enjoyed and wished to keep on my shelves to dip into as I age with my siblings and observe the actions of my own children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Mar 2009
By 
Mich (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
A highly readable and informative account of why sibling relationships can be so irrationally irritating. Read it and relinquish trying to work out what YOU might do to improve the way a difficult family member behaves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews