Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handicap Friendly?
This is an incredibly helpful guidebook of 9 national parks but keep in mind this is an overview of what you can expect to see and do at each park along with a brief history, it's a starting place for more in depth information you'll need to look elsewhere. It features pages with descriptions and page numbers linking to pictures and vice versa which makes it easy to...
Published on 28 May 2012 by Cynthia

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for an intro
A good introduction and some pictures to get you excited if you don't know where any of the parks are and want inspiration for a trip. The information is insufficiently insightful to be worth paying so much for. Trip Advisor + online National Parks maps and info will get you 98% of this with little effort to access it.
Published 8 months ago by Esk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handicap Friendly?, 28 May 2012
This is an incredibly helpful guidebook of 9 national parks but keep in mind this is an overview of what you can expect to see and do at each park along with a brief history, it's a starting place for more in depth information you'll need to look elsewhere. It features pages with descriptions and page numbers linking to pictures and vice versa which makes it easy to navigate.

There are set aside highlights sections for each park so you have a handy overview reference page if your time is limited. There are also inset synopsis pages with sections such as top sights, all sights, activities, courses and tours, sleeping, and eating so you don't have to go searching through the book, it's all on one page for each park. You can see all your options at one glance.

The book is also made well for its task. It's tightly bound with handy cover crease front and back making it easier to hold the book open without breaking the binding or losing pages. Also included are estimated pricing for park entrance fees as well as eating and lodging prices. The pictures are fairly small but beautifully photographed and enticing.

There are estimates of the crowds or lack of crowds you're likely to encounter at which time of year. For instance Yosemite has 4 million visitors annually! They give suggestions of lesser visited parts of the park you can go to if you want a more isolated experience. Included are the months each park is open and how each season is likely to impact your experience. There are detailed maps of sections of the parks with hiking trail information.

I know our national parks are most often viewed as places for younger people and/or more fit people to enjoy but I couldn't help wishing for more information concerning how accessible (and easily enjoyable) the parks were for us less young and less fit people. Embedded in sight descriptions were the occasional note about where you could park and see sights at distances and notes of where trails were wheel chair accessible. I wish they'd set this info aside in an accessibility/handicapped section so it would be clearer where less able people could go and what they could expect to experience. For instance what was the grade of the paving or was it paved and if so with concrete or rocks, etc.? How wide was the path? Would a motorized chair be best? Or how long the trail was so people could assess their own fitness level before attempting the walk. Were there benches along the path and/or at the summit? Also, was their cell phone reception and at which sites? Or call boxes? Were their guides along the path and how plentiful in case the elderly or handicapped or others required help? I know this is a lot to ask of a guide but I couldn't help wishing there was some designated pages for such issues. Maybe that section could at least include a list of sites that were more accessible or a phone number at each park designated for such questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality production, 3 May 2013
By 
Pepper (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Over the past years I have been to many of the US National Parks including Yellowstone, Sequoia, Grand Teton, Big Bend, Grand Canyon, Death Valley etc. I can vouch for the fact that this is a useful and accurate book covering the most exciting National Parks.

It covers the parks with sufficient detail for the sort of holiday I've been on - a driving holiday using both main and back roads as well as the odd hike, for example, along the Bright Angel Trail in the Grand Canyon etc. If you intend doing some more serious hikes etc. then you may need additional detail, but if someone said to me I could only take one book with me then this would be it. Danny Palmerle and his co-authors include plenty of detail about routes, sights, accommodation/eating, transport links, weather, admission costs and sources of further information etc. The narrative and information is topped off by beautiful photography making this both a practical book to use in the field and also one to browse back home - it has that satisfying feel which reminds why practical though Kindles and other e-readers are they'll never deliver quite the same experience as flicking through a book like this and dreaming about your trip. There is also a useful one page summary for each park which may help you when getting your initial thoughts together for planning a trip.

In summary, a well chosen group of US National Parks with lots of relevant information including clear maps put into context by beautiful photographs. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic guide, 25 Feb. 2015
By 
Ms. L. A. Timms (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this guide on a bit of a whim in 2013, in the hope that I would eventually go on a road trip of some of the National Parks in the US. My Husband and I then decided to go ahead and plan a 2 week trip, which we took last spring. This guide led us to one of the most amazing sights either of us had ever seen. Solely based on a picture of Bryce Canyon in this guide, my Husband and I decided to spend a few days of our 2 weeks there. One of the best decisions we have ever made! There are no words to describe how beautiful Bryce Canyon is. Looking down at the Canyon from up high, you would think you were on a different planet, a very beautiful one. Walking down amongst and in between the imposing hoodoos is very exciting and a little scary. Thank you guide book!

We visited a further 3 places listed in the book: Grand Canyon, Zion National Park and Yosemite National Park. We found the maps contained within the guide were really helpful and followed several recommended hiking routes which were perfect. The guide was very accurate in its descriptions of the accommodation and restaurants available, and provided a good range of recommended sights if you had some spare time and needed some inspiration.

Thoroughly recommend this guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good guide for the parks themselves - however there is ..., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good guide for the parks themselves - however there is less information available on the areas around the parks, hence if you are taking a road trip (so only really spending a day or two in each park) then I would suggest to get a more general regional guide that also covers the main points of the parks that you intend to visit.

Actually a lot of the free information available at the parks (park newspapers etc) is very good and timely - finally we found we did not use this guide book so much for our destinations (Yosemite, Zion, Bryce, Grand Canyon).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive USA Park travel guidebook, 17 Jun. 2012
By 
Niki Collins-queen, Author "author" (Forsyth, Georgia USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
"Lonely Planet Discover USA's Best National Parks" by Danny Palmerlee and five other authors feature twenty-seven national parks in the United States, their history and highlights, outdoor activities, geology, wildlife and conservation. They list the top fifteen experiences in Yosemite Valley, Going to the Sun Road, Glacier, the Grand Canyon, the Grand Tetons, Joshua Tree, the Rocky Mountains, Zion, Yellowstone, Acadia, Bryce Canyon, Olympic, Death Valley, the Everglades, Smokey Mountains and Mt Ranier.
Other highlights include Arches, Big Bend, Capital Reef, Alaska's Denali, Hawaii's Haleaka National Park and other volcanoes and Sequoia and Kings Canyon.
Also included is a survival guide concerning transportation, accommodations, electricity, food, health, insurance, legal matters, money and transportation.
Lonely Planet Discover USA's Best National Park's stunning photographs and easy to follow maps make this travel guidebook a joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK for an intro, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good introduction and some pictures to get you excited if you don't know where any of the parks are and want inspiration for a trip. The information is insufficiently insightful to be worth paying so much for. Trip Advisor + online National Parks maps and info will get you 98% of this with little effort to access it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Present, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A friend is taking a road trip across america and wanted to stop off at lots of national parks along the way - this is the perfect book for her - great present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars clear concise and up to date, 4 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have found this guide to be informative and helpful
It is brief and to the point, but doesn't seem to miss out anything vital either
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It is good., 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am interested in America's national parks. So I bought this book online. It arrived on time and looked good. I am happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fantastic, just the job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews