Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun!
This really is great fun and makes a change from just shooting at paper targets. The unit seems robust enough - steel BB's can leave tiny dents in the knockdown targets though so I wouldn't recommend using steel BB's. I've found that although my .177 CO2 pistol has the power (360fps using Bisley Practise pellets) to knock down the animal shapes it doesn't have enough...
Published 14 months ago by MICHAEL BARNES

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does the job - sort of
Ok - this wasn't the most expensive pellet trap available. The build quality is not fantastic - it's screwed together with screws that come loose with the rattling it takes from shooting it.

It may be ok with a 12 ft llb rifle, but I bought it mainly for shooting pistol, as a form of IPSC practice. My S&W 586 6" can knock them down but cannot reset because...
Published 7 months ago by J. Whitehead


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun!, 5 July 2013
By 
MICHAEL BARNES (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Air Rifle Pistol Magnetic Shooting Knockdown Target Reset System Pellet Trap (Misc.)
This really is great fun and makes a change from just shooting at paper targets. The unit seems robust enough - steel BB's can leave tiny dents in the knockdown targets though so I wouldn't recommend using steel BB's. I've found that although my .177 CO2 pistol has the power (360fps using Bisley Practise pellets) to knock down the animal shapes it doesn't have enough power to knock down the reset target - the magnets holding the knockdown targets are quite strong. However, I have found that my 49+ year old .22 Webley Senior is up to the job! I've given the knockdown target five stars because it is so much fun to shoot at. I think you just need to bear in mind the power of the pistol/rifle you are using and the distance you are shooting at. A 6mm airsoft BB would be a definitely no, a .177 CO2 pistol will knock down the targets (at 4 metres) but not the reset target - but at the same distance an elderly Webley .22 pistol happily knocks them all down. Safety note - most pellets are caught but some do bounce back if you miss the target - so remember to wear safety glasses at the closer ranges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent target practice for the garden, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Air Rifle Pistol Magnetic Shooting Knockdown Target Reset System Pellet Trap (Misc.)
Bought this to get my 2 boys (11 & 10) used to a .22 air rifle. We site it about 15 metres away, and it gives them a huge amount of enjoyment, especially when they hit the centre target to "reset" the ducks! No problems at all with the product (sometimes the ducks don't stay down because they're hit too hard and rebound, but that's a minor niggle), and it is well built and solid. Looks like it should last for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Overall, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Air Rifle Pistol Magnetic Shooting Knockdown Target Reset System Pellet Trap (Misc.)
This product works really well and I would definitely recommend buying it.

A couple of criticisms;

The screws used to hold it together are very small & after long use with a powerful air rifle they come out- I've replaced them with larger ones.

The animals and centre target seem to bend quite easily- Although they can be easily bent back into shape.

Tip- I use a bit of WD40 to keep it well lubricated so the animals move back & forth freely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magnetic Knock Down Target/Pellet Trap - All The Fun of The Fair, 24 Nov 2013
By 
Honest Joe (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Air Rifle Pistol Magnetic Shooting Knockdown Target Reset System Pellet Trap (Misc.)
This device is a blast - lots of fun. But one star is knocked off for the reasons outlinened below. I doubt it would be of much use with a (powerful) rifle; I would have thought the targets/backplate and internal plastic parts would suffer damage. But I find it works very well with a spring powered lead pellet pistol which typically has much less power than an air rifle. I have not yet tested it with a CO2 powered pellet pistol; I expect the targets will still knock down, but the reset might be more temperamental.

Pros:
- Targets hold down very consistantly (strong magnets). If a more powerful gun is used, the targets would probably bounce back up (too much force for the magnets to hold down).
- Traps most pellets which can be 'poured' out via small holes in the back of the unit.
- 'Keyholes' on the back/top allow the unit to be mounted on a wall or under a shelf
- Targets are galvanised to resist corrosion.

Cons:
- Reset target is too small/set too low: Difficult to reset the four targets due to strong magnets. The main targets can be knocked down with a 0.177 spring powered pellet, but the reset target will not reset with a 0.177. Even a 0.22 spring powered pellet will not always reset it.
- The bar that contains the magnets has plastic parts which might become damaged from pellets.
- Pellets stick to the targets which affects their balance. The pellets can be extremely difficult to remove (even using pliers or a paint scraper).
- Because this is a 'hard' target/trap rebounds and richochets can occur, so keep well back and wear proper safety glasses/face protection.

Improvements:
- To weaken the strength of the magnets, apply some masking/insulation tape with a small thin piece of packing (<1mm) over each magnet. The packing should only partially cover the magnet otherwise it will be too weak and the targets will not hold down. When you get it just right, the targets hold down and the reset works consistantly.
- Spray some silicone lubricant/oil on the surface of the targets and reset. This helps prevent pellets sticking to them.

Be very cautious of rebounds and richochets and always wear safety glasses/face protection. Do NOT use BBs as they WILL richochet.

All that being said - it is great fun.

Note: I have added some 'Customer Images' - see the link below the main image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Air Rifle Pistol Magnetic Shooting Knockdown Target Reset System Pellet Trap (Misc.)
Got this for my dads 50th he loves it, well made and perfect for anyone. also handy with the reset button in the middle means you can stay indoors and shoot the targets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magnetic knockdown target and pellet trap, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Air Rifle Pistol Magnetic Shooting Knockdown Target Reset System Pellet Trap (Misc.)
the trap is all as advertised, of good quality build and strength, only 1 minor fault that i found was that under 50ft the knockdowns do not get a chance to connect to the magnets, and therefor come straight back up, any distance over and above that is just fine, just thought it worth a mention, anyway, still a great product,
regards, alleycatz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Quality Product!, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Air Rifle Pistol Magnetic Shooting Knockdown Target Reset System Pellet Trap (Misc.)
Really well put together, great fun and a hit with all the family and friends, a fun time can be had competing with Duck Alley!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little bit of kit, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Air Rifle Pistol Magnetic Shooting Knockdown Target Reset System Pellet Trap (Misc.)
fantastic and well made target .works very well and gives the user lots of enjoyment while practicing with the item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does the job - sort of, 30 Jan 2014
By 
J. Whitehead (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Air Rifle Pistol Magnetic Shooting Knockdown Target Reset System Pellet Trap (Misc.)
Ok - this wasn't the most expensive pellet trap available. The build quality is not fantastic - it's screwed together with screws that come loose with the rattling it takes from shooting it.

It may be ok with a 12 ft llb rifle, but I bought it mainly for shooting pistol, as a form of IPSC practice. My S&W 586 6" can knock them down but cannot reset because the magnet that holds them is too strong, where as I can reset *most* of the ducks using an HW45 or my Feinwerkbau target pistol, so it only kind of does what I expected it to.

I haven't tried it with the rifles yet but have no doubt they will reset it ok, but then will they shake it apart too???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So very satisfying, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Air Rifle Pistol Magnetic Shooting Knockdown Target Reset System Pellet Trap (Misc.)
Bought this for myself and my teenage kids for shooting at in the garden with a .177 air rifle.

We used to fire at beer cans, which although fun, interrupted our experience as one of us had to keep going down to the end of the garden to pick them all up again. Then there is the danger of cutting yourself on said beer cans that get shredded very quickly.

With these knockdown ducks, you just reset them by firing at the centre circle and they all pop back up again. Also has the bonus of the pellets becoming trapped within the rigid metal box.

Seems very durable and great fun, much more so than shooting paper targets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews