Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another addictive bop it! game
Bop it! Smash sounded like just the ticket for us. We already own and love quite a few of the different Bop it! offerings and, although they're not constantly in use, the kids get them out quite regularly...particularly when their friends are round.

The aim of Bop it! Smash is to follow the patterns of lights and to "smash" the ends together, (you basically...
Published 22 months ago by A. Milne

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Bop it, but not.
Well, where to begin? This is a new spin-off product for people who love the original Bop It - the major difference here is form factor; there are just the two ends to hit at the appropriate time. The smaller yellow lights move towards the big blue centre-light and when it lights up, you have to push the ends towards the centre - Smash it! is the perennial saying the unit...
Published 22 months ago by J. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another addictive bop it! game, 23 Sep 2012
By 
A. Milne "themilnes" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bop It! Smash (colours may vary) (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Bop it! Smash sounded like just the ticket for us. We already own and love quite a few of the different Bop it! offerings and, although they're not constantly in use, the kids get them out quite regularly...particularly when their friends are round.

The aim of Bop it! Smash is to follow the patterns of lights and to "smash" the ends together, (you basically have to push both ends in at the same time), when the fast moving light is in the middle. If you manage to do this and smash it whilst the light is either in the middle, (gives you 5 points), or one either side of the middle, (1 point), then you move onto the next pattern. If you smash it with the light outside the middle three then you lose one of your three lives and get to try it again. After you've successfully conquered a few patterns the game moves onto a bonus round where you don't lose lives - you just have to try to get the light in the middle for the five points as many times as you can. It then reverts back to normal play again.

There are also two different multiplayer modes where the basic principle is the same. In the first one you can have as many players as you like. You get a pattern and have to Smash it whilst the lights are in the middle. If you do then you pass the game to the next player. If you don't then you get a further 2 attempts to pass the level before you're out. In the second multiplayer mode you tell the game how many players there are, and it keeps track of lives very much like in the single player game, except this time it's also checking on how quickly you manage to pass each level. Tricky!

Both myself, my partner and our two kids, (ages 6 and 8), have had a good go with this, and it's a hit - especially with the kids. For adults with fairly good hand-eye coordination it is definitely still fun...but it can take a while and quite a few levels before that coordination is challenged. For the kids, though, it is a fantastic challenge and once they'd had a few goes they were hooked! The 8 year old is finding it considerably easier than the 6 year old, but they are both managing it pretty well now, (it helps if they sit down), and they're remembering their own individual high scores and desperately trying to beat them. It's absolutely great for hand-eye coordination!! I imagine that, once the initial enthusiasm has worn off, this will probably just come out every once in a while when friends are round or on a rainy day...much like the other Bop it! games that we have. Still, for the price I think that it's great value for money, is very sturdy and well made and should provide entertainment for years to come. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Bop it, but not., 25 Sep 2012
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bop It! Smash (colours may vary) (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Well, where to begin? This is a new spin-off product for people who love the original Bop It - the major difference here is form factor; there are just the two ends to hit at the appropriate time. The smaller yellow lights move towards the big blue centre-light and when it lights up, you have to push the ends towards the centre - Smash it! is the perennial saying the unit spews at you. The levels ramp up in speed and reaction-time, playing catchy music and a miss will cost you a life, you have three lives and replenish them by hitting the big-blue. You also get points for a near-miss - there is a green light either side of the big-blue.

Then there's multiplayer, that counts your scores separately and asks you to pass the unit at certain points, some people can end up with only one Smash it! But others may get longer, it's a great party piece. The one major complaint I have is that the unit does not have an off/lock button, meaning it springs into life with its insanely-American commentator any time it is bumped (which is a lot given the fact the ends are the most prominent part and also turn the thing on!) and you have to wait until the commentator announces loudly "I'm going to sleep!!"

It's fun - for a while, but gets difficult quickly and this really is only for people who already own Bop It because it's a minor variation on the game and inferior in my opinion. So if you're a Bop-it fan and tired of the game, this might breathe some more life into the franchise. However, if you're looking for a hand-held reflex-based electronic game, just buy the original!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive game, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bop It! Smash (colours may vary) (Toy)
Found this in a shop in town and played with it for ages, decided to look on amazon where I found it for a better price. The game is a Christmas gift but I found myself playing on it trying to beat my score instead of wrapping it up. Looking forward to seeing it being opened on Christmas morning and hoping I haven't run the batteries out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good product, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bop It! Smash (colours may vary) (Toy)
Bought this for my nephew in Switzerland, my own children have one, so I know it is a good product. In fact we all give it a go from time to time. I think it is worth the money - much better than the murderous video games!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My nephew luved it!, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bop It! Smash (colours may vary) (Toy)
This was bought for my nephew's birthday. From the moment he opened it, it wasn't put down. All the kids at his party were waiting patiently for their turn. The adults got involved too but I have to say, the kids were much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bop It! Smash (colours may vary) (Toy)
This is one of those Xmas toys that gets played with constantly for days, only to end up at the back of the toy cupboard. They have picked it up once or twice, normally when I say it's going! Just doesn't have staying power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lost interest very quickly, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bop It! Smash (colours may vary) (Toy)
Irritating and noisy game that children usually like, however mine lost interest very rapidly (thank fully) one of these games that is advertised utntil the kids are repeating the strap line in their sleep but actually fails to deliver much entertainment in reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bop it smash, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bop It! Smash (colours may vary) (Toy)
my kids wanted this for ages it is ok the interest did'nt last as long as i would have hoped
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars addictive!!, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bop It! Smash (colours may vary) (Toy)
I bought this for my 4 year old son and he hasn't had a look in!! I love it and can't put it down, lots of fun for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant fun, 18 Oct 2012
By 
Kirsty at the Overflowing Library (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bop It! Smash (colours may vary) (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
this is the new bop it. not quite as exciting as the original as it has less about it function wise but still as addictive as before and brilliant for improving hand eye coordination although I'm sure it's the kind of toy people dread their kids getting at christms as it is quite noisy and repetitive so I imagine it'd get annoying quickly. Fun for all the family (even the big kids enjoyed it!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bop It! Smash (colours may vary)
12.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews