Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Metal Album Of The Year
The previous album by Tank, War Machine was a very good body of work, with the soaring vocals of Doogie White complementing perfectly with the twin guitar attack of Tank veterans Mick Tucker & Cliff Evans.
I was very happy to have that on heavy rotation.

Now I've got my sweaty mitts on the follow up War Nation, I am speechless.
The quality of...
Published on 19 July 2012 by Alan B

versus
2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A lie
Its not Tank. Its not even close. Its a good album, the songs are good. but it does not deserve that Tank label on the front.

Doogie white took the name Tank off of Algy when he was sick. He does not deserve that band name. He didn't earn it like Algy did. if youve got a shred of decency or respect for the man who created Tank and propelled it to success, you...
Published 22 months ago by NWOBHM_Kid


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Metal Album Of The Year, 19 July 2012
By 
This review is from: War Nation (MP3 Download)
The previous album by Tank, War Machine was a very good body of work, with the soaring vocals of Doogie White complementing perfectly with the twin guitar attack of Tank veterans Mick Tucker & Cliff Evans.
I was very happy to have that on heavy rotation.

Now I've got my sweaty mitts on the follow up War Nation, I am speechless.
The quality of songwriting, riffage and power in on this album is off the scale.
If you like expertly played, passionately delivered hard rock with style and attitude by the shedload, then War Nation is a must.
The title track is an instant anthem, with blazing riffs, thunderous groove and vocals from Doogie White that is right up there with the might of the late Ronnie James Dio - I can give no higher praise. The stomping Wings Of Heaven assaults the senses. Grace of God could have been stolen from the very top drawer of Iron Maiden future classics. Tony Iommi would be proud to have come up with the riff on Song Of The Dead, and I can't wait to see Tank play Don't Dream In The Dark live, just for the inevitable crowd participation.
More power than a division of Panzers, War Nation is a perfect slab of Classic British Heavy Metal that is the album of the year for me.
Do yourself a favour and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From a band from the NWOBHM era not many have heard of., 2 July 2013
By 
B. Pitelen (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Nation (MP3 Download)
Having never been aware of the band I went to see Schenker at Shepherds Bush Empire; Tank were the support act. Doogie White was carrying out Schenker duties so ZP Theart (ex-Dragonforce) was the frontman and I was blown away but the sheer power and precision of the band thanks to a great dual guitar approach by Tucker and Evans.
The album kicks off with the awesome opening riff to the title track which thunders through the song. Doogie White, although ageing well can sometimes miss the high notes live, provides great vocals. The same can be said for 'Grace of God' where he stretches his vocal chords to great effect.
Other stand-out tracks on the album include 'Hammer and Nails' and 'Don't Dream in the Dark' which was one of the highlights of the recent live show.
'Justice for All' has another lightning opening riff however in my opinion falls away only slightly into the verse, the song could've been so much better if the opening drum beat and riff mix had continued on into the verses to link with the chorus.
Together with the title track, potentially the other strongest track is 'State of the Union' which thunders through riff after riff with a great dual solo approach from the two axemen.

All in all an outstanding rock n roll album from a band that have been around since the early 80s. And having seen them live aswell, one hell of an act in the live arena. A must see and a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars COOL AND QUICK SENDING, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Nation (Audio CD)
VERY GOOD CD WITH DOOGIE WHITE. ON VOCALS. IT SOUNDS REALLY OLD SKOOL BUT I LIKE IT.A BIT LIKE BLACK SAB.WHEN TONY MARTIN WAS SINGING IN THE BAND..ENJOY !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The True Tank, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this album on Red Vinyl and i have to say that i wanted it in 2012 when it came out but since i only buy music exclusively on Vinyl i was waiting for the LP version to be released and now it has i can get on and review it

OK here goes: This album is without a doubt the best Traditional Heavy Metal album released in 2012 everything about it is spot on fromt the vocals to the rhythm section to the dual guitars the tank lads have nailed it. The songwriting on this album is beyond amazing I'd say the band can write circles around maiden and priest these days in fact war nation is the second best tank album ever made after Filth Hounds in my opinion

I'd recommend it to all metal fans and if you can grab the LP because it will be valuable in a few years time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars getting better not there yet, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Nation (Audio CD)
I reviewed the last album War machine and gave it 3 stars
this album is better its still not the old Tank but without
Algy it never will be. w.n. is a step forward from w.m.its
more of the same but a little better if you know what i mean.
still trying to sound like Saxon but no real edge to it.
a valiant attempt but not hard more soft rock but i'm still
putting my hand in my pocket because of the name Tank being
on the album cover. for fans of soft rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A lie, 2 Nov 2012
This review is from: War Nation (Audio CD)
Its not Tank. Its not even close. Its a good album, the songs are good. but it does not deserve that Tank label on the front.

Doogie white took the name Tank off of Algy when he was sick. He does not deserve that band name. He didn't earn it like Algy did. if youve got a shred of decency or respect for the man who created Tank and propelled it to success, you wont buy this album.

If Doogie wants to make his own songs and albums, he can make his own band name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War Nation
War Nation by Tank
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews