Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


458 of 461 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one you've been waiting for ...
Just got my new Panasonic BWT720 a few days ago.

I already have two BWT700's and a BW780 (previous models of the BWT720), so I was well aware what to expect from this device, however I was curious to see what improvements had been made over the previous models, and also what things had been downgraded or even
removed - as had happened when changing from...
Published on 10 Jun 2012 by Brian Lee

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent... for a while
I purchased this unit a couple of months back and as a PVR it works quite well, setting up easily and allowing for simple recording, the only problem being that the menu system is not particularly intuitive and certainly takes a bit of getting used to vs. that of other PVR's.

Blu ray player wise, it is generally good, with excellent picture and sound though it...
Published 22 months ago by R. Skardon


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

458 of 461 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one you've been waiting for ..., 10 Jun 2012
By 
Brian Lee - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic DMR-BWT720EB Freeview+HD Blu-Ray Disc Recorder, with 1Tb HDD & Twin HD Terrestrial Tuner (Electronics)
Just got my new Panasonic BWT720 a few days ago.

I already have two BWT700's and a BW780 (previous models of the BWT720), so I was well aware what to expect from this device, however I was curious to see what improvements had been made over the previous models, and also what things had been downgraded or even
removed - as had happened when changing from the BW780 to the BWT700. See my 4* reviews of the Panasonic BW780 and the BWT700 for more details of those changes.

Overview of Capabilities

For those readers who have never heard of this type of machine before, basically the
BWT720 is a virtually unique Freeview set-top box which has the following capabilities:

1) It receives HD freeview so your expensive HD TV can do what you bought it for -
show HD telly - without exhorbitant ongoing fees and forking out for new Blu-Ray disc
releases as often. And it upscales SD Freeview to an excellent standard as well.

2) It records HD Freeview to an inbuilt Hard Disk Drive (HDD) so you can watch the
programs whenever you like and as often as you like - in HD! (or upscaled SD of course).

3) It has 2 tuners so you can record even more HD programs than you thought! And it can be
playing back a third recorded program whilst recording two new ones simultaneously.

4) It has a built-in Blu-Ray Disc player so you can watch your BD's in excellent quality.
(3-D Discs as well in the case of the BWT700 and BWT720.)

5) Its Blu-Ray Player is actually a DVD and Blu-Ray Disc Recorder so you can transfer
recorded HD material from the Hard Disk Drive (HDD) to a Blu-Ray disc. Very quickly too in
(the default) DR mode - like 6 hours' worth of HD material to a single (nominally 2-hour)
BD in about 20 minutes! And play them back in full HD with no loss in quality! Magic!

6) It can accept HD movies from a Panasonic or Sony camcorder (AVCHD standard) and copy
them to the Hard Disk Drive and from there copy them to BD for distribution to friends (if
they ever bother to watch them!). Again with no loss of quality.

The above summary was largely lifted from my BW780 review and is still true for the BWT700
and BWT720. (Note that the BW780 is not 3-D capable).

First impressions of the BWT720

Picture Quality

Picture quality of HD Freeview received and/or recorded programs is excellent. I have
tested the BWT720 connected to both a Sony 40HX723 3-D TV and a Sony KDL-52W5500 2-D TV
and in both cases the picture quality is first rate. This is the same finding as for the
BWT700 and BW780 (2-D only in the case of the BW780) in fact, which all reviewers have
found to be excellent.

I use Avatar as my 3-D test disc and all people pressured(!) into watching it state that
it is absolutely stunning and agree that it is ghosting and flicker-free. Note that this
is partly due to the Sony TV but of course the BWT720 also has to be good as well.

SD programs are also good quality, but of course they tend to look a little lacking once
you have got used to the stunning detail available from well-produced HD programs.

It is worth while noting that not all HD programs are produced to the same quality - BBC
HD and BBC One HD are usually very good, as is Channel 4 HD for the most part. ITV HD can be very good but occasionally they throw in an "upscaled" item which is clearly inferior to the best quality available. To be fair they usually admit it is upscaled in the program description.

Recorded programs are initially recorded to the hard disk drive only in the default DR
mode. This means that they are direct copies of the original broadcast data streams, and
are thus perfect copies - there is no loss in quality when recorded.

Copying Recorded Prorammes from HDD to Blu-Ray Disc

The thing that really sets this family of boxes apart from most others is the capability
of copying recorded programs from the HDD to a Blu-Ray Disc. The BW part of the name
stands for Blu-ray Writer, the T denoting Terrestrial Freeview (as opposed to Satellite
Freeview).

Copying to Blu-Ray disc is simple, switch to the BD drive, load in a new BD-R disc and
format it (only 1 minute or less to format a new disc) then switch back to the HDD and
select Copy then choose the items you want to copy. It will warn you if there is
insufficient space on the BD and allows you to modify your choices before committing the
copy. If necessary you can edit adverts etc out from recorded programs to allow them to
fit on a disc.

This is one bit I really like - after starting the copy it gives you a continuous read-out of the progress of the copying task as it happening (or you can opt to switch back to watch another program - live or recorded as required). The read-out initially states that it will take 70 minutes or so to complete the copy - but after 1 or 2 percent of the disc is written it suddenly drops down to about 30 minutes, and eventually a full 6 hour's worth of HD video is copied in just over 20 minutes! Call me sad if you want but I do like this feature! Needless to say the copy is perfect quality - exactly the same as the broadcast original. And you can keep it for "ever"! (See my BWT700 4* review comment#35 for discussions on disc life.)

It is worth while noting that there are copy restrictions placed by the programme
producers on individual programmes. BBC HD and BBC One HD are usually unrestricted - you
can make as many HD copies as you like of their programmes (so far ...). ITV HD and
Channel 4 HD frequently have a 1-copy limit - you can copy a program once from the HDD to Blu-Ray in HD but no more copies are then allowed, although the program remains for viewing only on the HDD. They can be copied in SD however to a DVD as many times as you like. For this the files need converting to SD, and you can do this on-the-fly while copying (in which case it is real-time - i.e. a one-hour program actually takes an hour) or you can convert the file overnight (say) in standby and copy it quickly to DVD later.

Note that the BWT720 will only record broadcast HD, there is no facility for copying
professionally recorded Blu-Ray discs or other HD sources to the BWT720's HDD and back
again - this would be illegal and is rigorously prevented by DRM protection. You can
record AVCHD HD camcorder files to the HDD (albeit using a rather bizarre selection method but it basically works), and from then produce Blu-Ray discs of your holiday films to bore your friends.

Other features

The BWT720 has internet capability, but does not have a fully-functioning Web Browser (in common with most other "Smart" non-PC devices). Instead there is a collection of
applications which includes YouTube and BBC iPlayer (see my 4* review of the BWT700 for
more details - paragraph Pro's #7). BBC iPlayer can display HD programs - an episode of
Top Gear I viewed on my BWT700 looked really good.

There are other apps but I wouldn't rate many of them very highly as yet. Maybe in a few
months time there will be more useful ones. The basic problem is the lack of keyboard and real mouse input, typing in search criteria involves moving the cursor round a table and selecting individual characters - don't pension off your PC yet!

One advantage of the BWT720 over the BWT700 is that it comes with full wireless internet
capability installed - a feature only included on the previous generation's top model
BWT800 specification. The main other advantage is a larger hard disk capacity (500 Gb
versus 320Gb) but the BWT720 trumps that handsomely with a whopping 1Tb hard disk - enough for 272 hours of HD recording in DR mode!

Gotchas

There are some sillies with these machines that have caused problems - some so fundamental that people have packed them up and sent them back rather than try to sort them out!

One is incorrect Aspect Ratio display of HD 4:3 material - see my 4* review of the BWT700 for details of how to fix this.

Another is Aspect Ratio when copying HD widescreen material to DVD in SD. See comment #2
on my 4* review of the BWT700.

Another is adverts in the Programme Guide. Amazingly Panasonic have largely fixed this but see my 4* review of the BWT700 (Cons #1) for a fix which should stop partial re-occurrence of the same problem.

Another is apparently bad Freeview reception, the most obvious sign of this being the box unable to
pick up a reasonable number of TV channels, some being as low as 5 channels! This is actually easily cured - see comment #86 on my 4* review of the BWT700 or comment#31 on this review.

Summary

If you don't have one of the earlier models then the rest of this review is probably not
of interest to you. Suffice it to say that the BWT720 is a very capable device and well
worth buying if you are looking for a high quality HD Freeview recorder - particularly if you also wish to keep some HD programmes on Blu-Ray disc as a permanent copy. The 1Tb hard disk is very generous, giving 272 hours of HD programme recording before requiring file housekeeping, and the quality of picture and sound is excellent in 2-D and 3-D. The reliability I have experienced from 5 of these devices over 18 months has been 100% apart from one minor fault on one cheap BD disc which caused a 10-minute loss of one film. This is out of over 150 discs written in 18 months. Despite the various niggles affecting only those users who may wish to record from other devices, I am sorely tempted to go for 5 stars on this one!

Comparison with earlier models

In the interests of trying to keep this review brief (see my other reviews for why this is funny!) I will try to concentrate on the rest of the differences between this new machine and the BWT700, as that is probably what a lot of people reading this part of the review would probably want to know, and for detailed capabilities of the machine have a read of my 4* review of the BWT700 and its comments, as a lot of the characteristics of the machines (particularly the niggles) only become apparent after some time.

As I have remarked before, the manufacturer's blurb on these more complex machines are
useful for telling you what the machine can do, but they are somewhat poor at telling you what the machine CAN'T do. For that you need these reviews! And the comments as they are frequently ongoing extensions of the review.

Out of the box, the immediate difference between the BWT720 and the BWT700 is the
(removable) sticker which proudly proclaims "HDD 1TB" with "684 hrs Recording (HM Mode)"
as opposed to the "skype certified" and "Wireless LAN Ready" stickers on the BWT700. Mind you, I would brag about 684 Hrs recording capability too, however I always record in HD DR (the default) recording mode, but even in this mode you get 272 hours of HD recording on the Hard Disk Drive! This is more than double what you get on our 1Tb VM TiVo - this is due to the lower bit rates of Freeview HD compared with cable, but note that the compression algorithms are cleverer than many other systems so you still get stunning HD quality. In fact I reckon the HD quality is slightly better than our VM TiVo (which itself is very good).

Remember that HD DR mode also gives you the capability of copying 6 hours' worth of HD
from the Hard Disk to a standard (2 hour) Blu-Ray BD-R disc in just over 20 minutes. Now
you may possibly get an inkling of why I now have four of these machines! The BW780 only
had a 250Gb disk, the BWT700 a 320Gb disc and only on odd occasions have I run out of disc space on either of them due to the incomparable copy-to-BD capability of these machines. I don't expect to EVER run out of HDD space on the BWT720!

One niggle which appears to be carried on from the BWT700 and is a downgrade from the
BW780 is the lack of provision of a full RGB signal to the SCART input sockets. This means that if you are copying from an external device (I have a UK TiVo and Laserdisc etc) into the BWT720 then you can only choose composite or S-Video interface rather than RGB. I have no idea why they chose to do this and in some cases I know it cost them sales - people bought secondhand BW780's instead of a new BWT700 to have full RGB external input quality, however if you are not intending to copy from an external device in SD then this may not be an issue for you. Ditto the removal of the DV Firewire input port - present on the BW780, removed on the BWT700 and BWT720, but only an issue to those with camcorders (non-AVCHD) who need to connect to a disc-producing device.

One immediately noticeable improvement over earlier models is the inclusion of a live TV
picture (and its sound) on selecting the Function Menu. It's quite generous in size as
well - say about 25% of the screen, and then reverts to a smaller version in the new TV
Guide. I mention this specifically as the earlier models didn't do this, instead carrying stupid adverts which did nothing except infuriate everyone! That was the main reason stated for people refusing to buy the BW780 (myself included to start with) and BWT700, however they mised out on a very good box because of it. I tell people how to suppress these adverts in my BW780 comments and my BWT700 review, and I suspect it's still worth doing (and I have actually done it) on the BWT720 as the Panasonic write-up still mentions adverts flashing up for a second or two! I have done my mod and so far no adverts ...!

The improved EPG display also allows more program slots to be listed across the screen,
for example it now shows detail of programs between 18:00 and 20:30 whereas the earlier
machines could only manage 18:00 to 19:30.

The improved menus even stretch to the sound of the current TV program being heard even
when in the "Timer Recordings" menu!

One little "funny" I have noticed is that if you have the HDD selected as the current
device then select "Playback Contents" and "Video Contents" it switches to playing back an iconised (say 10% normal size) picture - with sound - showing the start of the currently selected item (as on previous models).

However if you have switched playback device to BD, this iconic playback no longer
happens! It did on the earlier models! No great loss really - but is it a software bug
which may be corrected later? Time will tell. Panasonic do issue software improvements
occasionally - the response time improved dramatically and various silly bugs were fixed
on the BW780 via software downloads - and BBC iPlayer magically appeared (in HD no less)
after a software download to my BWT700 so these things do happen!

To all users of the previous boxes - if you are happy with the BWT700 then you will be
over the moon with the BWT720. They have fixed many of the niggles (but not the changes
which made input SD recording worse) and that fantastic disk space means you can record to your heart's content while on holiday and still be confident you won't run out of disk space! I think it's terrific! Keep your other machine as well for Xmas etc when there's loads on and you need more than 2 tuners. Sell off any dumb Blu-Ray players to finance it, keep your BWxxxx and enjoy playing any of your recorded BD's in multiple rooms!

It really is Super! Enjoy!

Oh - and check out any comments as no doubt there will be questions and answers galore as on previous blogs ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In A Class Of Its Own, 4 Sep 2012
By 
Anthony Brown (LONDON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Panasonic DMR-BWT720EB Freeview+HD Blu-Ray Disc Recorder, with 1Tb HDD & Twin HD Terrestrial Tuner (Electronics)
As far as I am aware this is the only player that records onto blu ray discs directly . Plays blurays and has a large HDD 1TB .
Luckily as it has little or no competition I have found this Player faultless . As a long review already exists of this player I won't go into detail . I can say I am grateful for that reveiw for encouraing me to spend what is today a large sum of money £450 I paid £459 at Peter Tyson found On Amazon Marketplace at the time (£489 John Lewis ) Highly recommend them supplied quality HDMI cable free and were very helpful with delivery issues The most important things is 1 you can archive material in Hd quality either by Blu Ray my personal preference or using USB Hard disc drive . Not tried this though I do possess a portable USB HDD .
2 It has a very large Hdd which is fairly easy to edit . So far it has never fallen short or over recorded . A problem my Sony dvd/ hdd recorder suffered from , admittedly of 6 year vintage . Series record works well only failed when Bbc moved a series from BBC HD to BBC 1 HD . It has 2 tuners allowing TWO recordings and watching a third on tv tuner if needed . Also you can store edit or copy photos and home movies . can even use Hd card directly .
Last and not least you can do away with separate bluray player saving space . As my wife insists on keeping Vhs vcr player . I had 3 items crammed into my cabinet . The Case of the player is of robust and stylish manafacture . Very clean lines . The front has to be manually opened ; if you wish to access blu ray drive hdd or usb slots you have to get up anyway to put a bluray in or out anyway . Obviously The HDD can be worked fully by remote control . The only fault I can find with the remote control is it does nt seem to have a full menu for replaying pre-recorded dvds . I suppose that is not the primary function of the product . GLAD I PURCHASED IT!

Price greatly reduced By £80 Bargain !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...and what's more..., 18 July 2012
This review is from: Panasonic DMR-BWT720EB Freeview+HD Blu-Ray Disc Recorder, with 1Tb HDD & Twin HD Terrestrial Tuner (Electronics)
In addition to all the superlatives here, let me add:

I bought a Samsung EU32ES5500K Smart TV via Amazon a many weeks ago. BBC iPlayer was advertised, but it was a couple months before a compatible version of iPlayer was available for download. Since downloading iPlayer, I have never been able to get it to work - it always times out. I have installed all the software updates.

I plugged the DMR-BWT-720EB in yesterday, made the wireless internet connection, launched the pre-installed iPlayer and it worked immediately.

Freeview HD looks better from the Panasonic unit than from my HUMAX HDR-FOXT2, and that's a nice piece of kit.

The DVD's I previously burned on a Sony RDR-HXD890 look better than they did from the Sony unit. I guess it's the upscaling to the Samsung HD TV.

The DMR-BWT-720EB is expensive, but money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent... for a while, 17 Dec 2012
By 
R. Skardon (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic DMR-BWT720EB Freeview+HD Blu-Ray Disc Recorder, with 1Tb HDD & Twin HD Terrestrial Tuner (Electronics)
I purchased this unit a couple of months back and as a PVR it works quite well, setting up easily and allowing for simple recording, the only problem being that the menu system is not particularly intuitive and certainly takes a bit of getting used to vs. that of other PVR's.

Blu ray player wise, it is generally good, with excellent picture and sound though it doesn't always recognise (genuine) discs straight away, sometimes needing to be put in then out again before it finds it which is a bit annoying.

The unit also takes a long time to both switch on and switch off with turning off sometimes taking a few minutes before the 'please wait' message finally disappears.

The main reason i opted for the more expensive one of this model was to get the wifi enabled internet and services like netflix. It is straightforward to set the wifi up, though despite having 60MB broadband it does seem to struggle sometimes to stream at full HD. But my biggest gripe is that Netflix often seems to drop the connection mid way through movies and then wont re-connect, despite my iPad, Playstation and other devices connecting fine.

Once this has occured when switching off the unit it will no longer switch back on without being unplugged at the mains at which point it will finally re-connect.

So I'm not sure if my unit is faulty, particularly as Panasonic are yet to answer both my customer service requests (now waiting over a week) but the internet services are currently letting me down and make me somewhat regret spending so much on this device.

I'd imagine it will have to go for diagnosis, no doubt resulting in not having the unit for weeks on end only to be told they cant replicate the fault as is the way with these things.

So my advice is, if you want a good PVR, good Blu-Ray Player with Freeview HD and arent bothered about the internet services its not a bad choice but if the net services are what you're looking for buy a dedicated unit like a Roku or apple TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 13 Aug 2012
This review is from: Panasonic DMR-BWT720EB Freeview+HD Blu-Ray Disc Recorder, with 1Tb HDD & Twin HD Terrestrial Tuner (Electronics)
This is the second Panasonic Recorder I have purchased, the previous one is still in use in the bedroom.
This NEW model is in a class of it's own and is one of the best pieces of technology I have ever purchased.
Buy with confidence highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Panasonic twin tuner PVR, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The features of this are very good, but you need to check it does what you need. If you are going from a previous generation of Panasonic DMR,s be aware it will not read DVD-RAM discs from older Panasonics and as yet I have found no way to transfer the programs from my older EX88 HD to the PWT635 HD. You can however change the controller to a different code so they can be run alongside each other. The aerial pass through is not dependant on power being applied as with other devices. The web access is rubbish BBC iPlayer being the only free site. None of the other catch up sites ITV, Demand 5 or 4 are available. Even Love Film is missing. The Sony media centre knocks it into a cocked hat and thats 3 years old.
Picture quality on HD is very good and recording two programmes is easy. Skip lets you miss the ads on playback. It also allows you to prioritize your area in tuning which has been a problem in previous generations of Panasonic DVB tuners and is a boon if you live in overlapping areas. I am very pleased with it at the price I paid off Amazon. I was told it was unique to Curry,s which is a pity as they told me a load of rubbish about web access and disc read formats when I went their.
I have it set up on a 1080 Panasonic with a Freesat HD tuner and a Freesat SD tuner LXD32. This is the first time I have been able to compare Freeview HD and FreeSat HD. Its very hard to see any difference but there is a lot of difference in SD recording and HD even with upscaling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great all in one mediahub, 6 Jan 2013
This review is from: Panasonic DMR-BWT720EB Freeview+HD Blu-Ray Disc Recorder, with 1Tb HDD & Twin HD Terrestrial Tuner (Electronics)
I thought I'd wait a few months before writing this review, to get a good feel for it, to be honest most of this review was edited from my review of the BWT 700, which died prematurely within warranty so I was able to buy the 720 with the refund, thanks JL.
Recording to the hard drive (now 1TB) is simple from TV/DVB, USB, SD and DVD (where not protected). The EPG TV guide is quite good but you can't filter for content types that you want to record, as on the 700 (most disappointing change),fills the screen, but you do now get a small screen of the tv program you were watching. Due to the ease of setting recordings, including series record, filling the hard drive won't take long so you will need to archive content sooner than you might expect even with 1TB. Transfer of recorded TV is best delayed so that a `DR' recording can be converted (usually when the unit is in standby) in real time to the quality/compression level that you preselected at the timer stage. High speed transfer (copy to DVD/BR) is possible *(when in SP mode for DVD and up to HQ mode for BR-R etc ) otherwise some copies will be transferred in real time, which is ok if you haven't planned any other timer recordings. Of course before you transfer to disk you will want to edit the recording, which is now a much improved process in comparison to the 700. Removing adverts (partial delete) is also not as tricky but you have to fast forward until you find them (for most channels). When copying to DVD in high speed mode it takes less than 10 minutes for a 2 hour recording and Blu Ray isn't much longer for upto 5 hours, however you can't remove the blue screen back to TV mode unless recording to BR? Minor niggle.
Picture/music slide shows are easy to set up albeit slow to copy jpegs from SD/USD.
Wi-Fi is now built in but I find the internet connection works better with an Ethernet cable (a couple if quid). Viera cast ! don't get too excited about this, most of the channel content at present is still not in English so this will not be useful unless you are multilingual or like viewing low quality you tube videos or buying movies from a selection of on demand providers etc, you do however get the BBC iPlayer on this unit. Apparently Skype is a good thing ? but you would need to buy a dedicated camera to make use of this.
Back to basic, Once you have a collection of recordings you can easily access them from your home network, so watching a movie from the HDD on your wireless laptop (using windows media player). is a doddle anywhere in range of your wireless network , although this is subject to copy protection/ quality settings for some channel content. Playing DVD /Blu Ray disks are a delight with excellent picture and sound quality, although apart from 3D, I usually playback on my connected Panasonic BluRay home cinema and output the sound to this more often than not too, it's handy to have a Panasonic TV if you like more compatibility of remote control functions. Freeview 3D TV is limited but it's a very good when we get some, HD TV channels are excellent but when are we going to get more of them?
Overall, this is a very nice piece of Panasonic kit, Sony et al have generally abandoned DVD/BluRay transfer recorders and elected to go with HDD only so you don't have much choice looking for Blu Ray recorders! This unit does make a good media hub so you can access content around the house , providing you have a good network, So I would say 4 ½ stars is fair, it would have been 5 if they had kept the content filters on the EPG and you could set more than 32 timer programs. Either way I can't imagine life without it now. NB it's also now £100 cheaper than when first released 6 months ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic bwt 720 - Good but..., 27 Jun 2012
This review is from: Panasonic DMR-BWT720EB Freeview+HD Blu-Ray Disc Recorder, with 1Tb HDD & Twin HD Terrestrial Tuner (Electronics)
I currently have the older BWT 780 and tested the new bwt 720 before giving away as a gift.

The EPG is an improvement as you can see tv picture and have sound. The menu navigation is quicker at navigating and you can see more future programmes in 1 screen shot.

However unless you really need 1TB of disc space the EPG is the only Improvement. The hard drive is noisy compared to my older bwt 780.

Image quality and sound are the same performance wise as early models (excellant).

If Panasonic update the software for earlier models (which is feasible) id argue the earlier models are as good as or better because they have RGB input and in my opinion look cosmetically better, although i guess this is personel taste. Theres also no switchable on/off blue light on the new 720 machine.

Depending on how important 3D and the new epg is to you and if you require the extra hard drive space are the key considerations when making the decision to upgrade or not....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIRST CALSS EQUIPMENT, 20 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic DMR-BWT720EB Freeview+HD Blu-Ray Disc Recorder, with 1Tb HDD & Twin HD Terrestrial Tuner (Electronics)
This item was bought for the Olympics and it didn't disappoint. So far I have only recorded material and viewed it back - transferring to DVD or Blu-ray has yet to be tackled. It has twin tuners and 'series' recording which means I no longer have to worry about missing any of my favourite programmes. And if a programme overlaps with another to be recorded, the machine just looks after it. An added bonus (which I didn't buy the machine for) was to be able to record and replay in 3D - especially the opening and closing ceremonies and highlights on the BBC HD channel every night. The quality is fantastic across the board. The only thing to be aware of (because I haven't read the instruction book yet) is that if you want to delete a chapter marker the system removes all the video associated with that marker and not just the marker. I didn't loose anything important but I won't be removing markers again!
Panasonic have done really well with this flagship product - and on Amazon the price was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent revisions, 26 Jun 2012
By 
A. ogden (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Panasonic DMR-BWT720EB Freeview+HD Blu-Ray Disc Recorder, with 1Tb HDD & Twin HD Terrestrial Tuner (Electronics)
owned a previous version and this is much better in all aspects.
epg is greatly improved with a cleaner layout and picture in top left corner.
freeview quality is sharper than on my panasonic or humax tuners.hd is even better.
1 tb hard drive is great with all other options inc usb.
wireless internet via channels loaded and available in market place are good.wouldve liked my own browser ie or similar to browse anything.
remote is good albeit channel changing slightly slow .

all in all well pleased and direct connection to camcorder is great too.
bought of shopping channel in 2 discs recording media and hd lead approx 44 last week.
this is a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews