Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Series
I was very happy to catch the box set on Blu-ray at just £28. Perfect! This is a great series and one that keeps me coming back. To set the record straight with a few 'dips' in the seasons it's probably worth mentioning the following:

Season 1 was a great and interesting start to Heroes. Well written, fresh and exciting. Season 2 was a lot shorter and in my...
Published on 26 Jan. 2013 by Sarah

versus
137 of 147 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Save the cheerleader,save the world but then what do you do?
Heroes started out very well. It was met with both critical and audience acclaim. It followed the likes of Claire, Peter and of course Hiro, long before their characters become repetitive and at times, annoying (season 3). The stories were engaging and exciting, the villain of the piece, Sylar, was mysterious and dangerous exuding real menace before becoming overexposed...
Published on 13 Sept. 2010 by SF- A story is as real as you ...


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

137 of 147 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Save the cheerleader,save the world but then what do you do?, 13 Sept. 2010
Heroes started out very well. It was met with both critical and audience acclaim. It followed the likes of Claire, Peter and of course Hiro, long before their characters become repetitive and at times, annoying (season 3). The stories were engaging and exciting, the villain of the piece, Sylar, was mysterious and dangerous exuding real menace before becoming overexposed in later seasons. And more than anything it was a lot of fun to watch

Season 2, while is wasn't quite as good as as season 1, could still hold it own and despite some annoying new additions (namely Maya) there was still a lot of enjoyment to be had, however the writers strike cut the season in half and just as the story was all coming together, as a result the ending was rushed and unsatisfying (what did happen to Peter's Irish flame?), ultimately it would mark the beginning of the end for the show.

Season 3 was contrived and convoluted, boasting a 25 episode season count, the show would loose it's way, new characters would be brought in only to disappear a few episodes later, character motivations would shift rapidly and with little reason. Sylar was explored in too much depth patterned with an annoying sidekick for a limited time before eventually going a bit Norman Bates. The rest of the characters would be saddled with largely redundant stories. The second half of the season would pick up somewhat however there was no big season story arc akin to 'save the cheerleader' of season 1 and it showed, as season 3 proved to be overindulgent and unfocused making for a very mixed bag and the weakest of the four.

The fourth and final season hit the brakes big time. While season 3 was all over the place, season 4 concentrated on far fewer stories but as a result many of these became too long winded, episodes would progress where very little happened or for a situation to be resolved only to be back at square one. While it was a step up from season 3, with a stronger story focus on Samuel and his carnival, it still lacked the greatness it once possessed. The season 4 finale would prove to be the series finale as heroes was cancelled. While originally a TV movie was planned to wrap up the show, this is looking a lot less likely, which is a shame as the season 4 cliffhanger looked set to finally propel heroes into some fresh and interesting territory but now we will never know.

Heroes is a mixed bag, the quality of the show would greatly decrease but for all it's flaws, for the vast majority, it was an interesting and fun ride. If you haven't experienced it before it's well worth a go just don't expect it to maintain the quality of season 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Series, 26 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes - Season 1-4 Complete (2012 Repackage) [Blu-ray] [2006] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I was very happy to catch the box set on Blu-ray at just £28. Perfect! This is a great series and one that keeps me coming back. To set the record straight with a few 'dips' in the seasons it's probably worth mentioning the following:

Season 1 was a great and interesting start to Heroes. Well written, fresh and exciting. Season 2 was a lot shorter and in my opinion not as good. However, it was written during the Writers Guild of America strike and so with that in mind the weaknesses with the season were the effects of that (good writers are the backbone of any show/film and hopefully this made the powers that be realise this!). Season 3 then starts out wobbly tying up the problems created during Season 2, but then by the second half it's back up to the usual standard. Season 4 is then very different but I felt it worked really well. Definitely worth buying, particularly at this price. A great series to discover and enjoy!

The presentation of the Box itself is beautiful. Neat and glossy. Looks great. The quality of the picture and audio is also fantastic. Blu-ray definitely worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series & addictive viewing!, 14 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this box set as a gift for my other half but if I'm honest I think I enjoy it more! The Heroes stories are a must have for any comic book fan with interwoven plots, superhuman powers and cliff hangers as the end of each episode that leave you hungry for more. That hunger is easily satiated with the box set which means no more waiting for the next episode to air as you can go straight on to the next one. My only problem was knowing where to stop! the storylines are interesting enough for non-comic books fans to be suckered in too and there are nice messages interwoven throughout for those who like the deep and meaningful.
This blu-ray edition is fabulous and the added impact of bluray is not wasted (don't think I'll ever go back to standard DVDs). Easy to navigate round the menus and the extras are interesting too if like me, you stray towards the inner geek.
Overall, a great set, well packaged and a welcome addition to the collections of comic book and sci-fi fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray Pack could have been better, 15 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heroes is a great TV series, and I won't bore you with a review of the program itself, because that gets 5-stars everytime.

Instead, this review is specifically looking at this Blu Ray box-set. Now, it has a lot going for it, but as a Blu ray box-set, there's a whole lot more not going for it, due to it being badly organised and presented.

First off, the "extras". Yes, there's a nice selection of extras, but they are all over the place. Some of it is located in places that doesn't make sense to people, such as why discuss about what was not included in Series 3 due to the writers strike on a Series 2 disk? And where are the trailers and TV spots. I recall Volume 2 and 3 had fanfare in the US with a couple hour long programs - where are they? I recall on TV an interview with Hayden Panettiere on Volume 2, where is that? I recall a whole different Volume 3 was dropped, yet less than a couple minutes of this material is included. It would have been better to have included this, with the storyboard concepts for the bits that were not recorded. In the whole presentation, only one episode gets this level of treatment, which is a huge let-down.

Then there's the bizarre situation of number episodes on disks. You get one disk with 4 episodes, the next with 5, then one with 2, and one with just 1 episode. Two disks for three episodes at one point in the series. And for the disks containing 5 episodes on one disk, the menu on the disk is such that you have to scroll to page 2 to view the fifth episode, further reinforcing the badly designed menu interface which appears to have reused a menu from elsewhere and then tried to be amended to fit Heroes.

It also looks like nobody quality checked the packaging, multiple words on the package is combined, making it hard to read the episode synopsys.

All in all, a very poor presentation of a fantastic TV series. About the only thing positive is that you have all the episodes in one box, and for that, an extra star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Save the cheerleader save the world!, 22 Aug. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes - Season 1-4 Complete (2012 Repackage) [Blu-ray] [2006] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
After watching the first series of Heroes on TV I was amazed at how brilliant a series it was. Great characters, great story telling and a brilliant premise. However, series 2 came along and whilst it was still good it was obvious that the series had lost it's way. Saying that it was much better than some of the other rubbish on TV at the time. The drop in quality however was enough to make viewers leave in their droves and what followed was 2 more mediocre series until the show was finally dropped despite a pick up in quality towards the end.

Although I have said rather negative things above it is well worth a watch and series one is brilliant TV. So its definitely worth a view in my opinion. The new box set is really compact and I was quite impressed with how small it was measuring in at 17.5 x 12 x 13.5 cm (L x W x H). Each season comes split over either four discs for seasons 2 and 4 or five discs for seasons 1 & 3. Each season is split over two standard blu-ray cases, so the box contains 8 blu-ray's.

The art work on the actually blu-ray cases is either the Heroes earth logo or a picture of the cast so not as elaborate as the previous releases have been with their comic book style designs. As far as I can tell all the extras from previous releases are included across the 4 seasons.

The image and sound quality are brilliant and looks really good playing through my PS3 onto my 42" TV.

Overall well worth the watch just don't expect the later seasons to follow the quality established in season 1, in what is in my opinion one of the finest things ever put on television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unboxing Spain User .., 14 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes - Season 1-4 Complete (2012 Repackage) [Blu-ray] [2006] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Hi, users of Amazon UK.
All BRs of these pack, of all seasons, are in English only.
Subtitles: Spanish Latin & Canadian French.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Down hill all the way., 15 Jan. 2012
The first season was unbelievably good, and there lies the problem. The rest couldn't live up to it and just went down the hill and by the time the whole series ended, it was a long painful death.

Save yourself money and just get the season 1 and if you must insist on watching more then get season 2 but don't bother with the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, good start. Then got a bit dull towards the end., 27 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've had this a while now, but only recently started watching it.

The first season was great. All the characters stories coming together. The second season was also good. Half of a season be it at that due to the writers strike, but enough in there to be interesting.

Then we have the third season, waw, that took a huge dive. All over the place. Its as if they couldnt think of a good story and decided to put in a LOT of small boring pointless ones. Clutching at straws.

Should have finished after season 1 in my opinion. There would always be that, why didnt they make more? feel to it, but no diapointment in the crap they made after the first season I suppose.

The fourth season.... I don't even know if I can be bothered to watch it. I'd rather not waste my time on it if it's anything like season 3. Now I remember why I stopped watching it when it was tv.

3 stars... predominantly because the first season was so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Buy, 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes - Season 1-4 Complete (2012 Repackage) [Blu-ray] [2006] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A very keenly priced boxset. The series is brilliant and I am enjoying most episodes. I do think that it has reached it's natural end so glad that there is no 5th series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who let the Heroes down ?, 7 Dec. 2010
By 
pepemia (scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched the first 3 series of Heroes on Tv but missed the last one so decided to buy this set, as it was such a bargain price.
It comes in a very slim box, very understated by Heroes standard.
Watching the first series again was amazing- remembering how great the storyline is and how strong the charachters were & reliving the aspirations it promised. Seeing Hiro, Claire, Peter , his spooky mum and Sylar makes your heart race !
The acting is excellent and everything from the connections & presentation is great. I watched it with my partner who has never seen it before.
For people who have not seen it before it is amazing and for those who were fans, like me, it is great to relive the gripping moments, twists and fantastic uniqueness that Heroes was.
However like the fans ,with the abrupt ending ,the box set lets fans and Tim Kring down. I bought the original first series from America and it was beautiful presented like a comic book, with great diagrams & extras. However this box set has nothing for fans- no leaflets, diagrams or anything linking it to the Heroes series. There are bonuses on each set but nothing special, like the behind the scene series which was shown on tv at the time the series was aired.
It is really disapointing and mirrors how the fans were just forgotten. I really think they should remarket this in the same way they did the first Dvds, and the web site Seven Wonders.
Heroes was unque, totally different & inspirational. The original first 2 series convey this, the last two not so, so why does the boxset not do the same ?
I give the series 4 stars ( would have been 5 if not for the last series never been resolved ) .
If you have never seen this get it- it was an amazing show with a great message- we are all heroes , all unique and working together can make a differance. Just give the last season a miss.
If you are a fan -its worth getting to relive the greatness Heroes was- however if you already have the series Dvds its not worth buying this as it offers nothing new .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heroes - Season 1-4 Complete (2012 Repackage) [Blu-ray] [2006] [Region Free]
£29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews