Customer Reviews


904 Reviews
5 star:
 (528)
4 star:
 (244)
3 star:
 (73)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


118 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed thriller with pitch-dark undertones
A pacy, edgy crime novel from a writer who really sounds as if he knows what he's talking about. A police detective hunting for a number of missing women uncovers a terrifying conspiracy and finds himself confronting one of the most dangerous gangs in Britain. Apparently Paul Finch used to write for The Bill and has also written a number of horror books, and both of these...
Published 17 months ago by Kitty

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's alright
Giving it 3 stars as it took me a while to get into it. It's a good book, the story is very real and scary considering i'm a woman! ;) it's was the first book i read of Paul Finch but i think i will definitely read few more.
Published 6 months ago by miss m w wieczorek


‹ Previous | 1 291 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

118 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed thriller with pitch-dark undertones, 30 Jan 2013
This review is from: Stalkers (Kindle Edition)
A pacy, edgy crime novel from a writer who really sounds as if he knows what he's talking about. A police detective hunting for a number of missing women uncovers a terrifying conspiracy and finds himself confronting one of the most dangerous gangs in Britain. Apparently Paul Finch used to write for The Bill and has also written a number of horror books, and both of these backgrounds show, as this cracking thriller moves with electric pace through some of the scariest parts of Britain's inner cities, featuring some ultra-violent scenes and a few horrific moments which are definitely not for the squeamish. A refreshing book in various ways, too. The female characters are among the best I've encountered in ages - real tough cookies, while the main hero, Heck, though a good guy with a conscience, has a pair of fists and he isn't afraid to use them. Highly recommended for crime and mystery fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Thriller, 31 Jan 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalkers (Kindle Edition)
Ex-policeman and scriptwriter Paul Finch has turned his hand to writing books and has produced a high-octane belter of a thriller that sweeps the reader from one confrontation to another at a captivating pace. Detective Sergeant Mark 'Heck' Heckenburg works for the National Serial Crime Squad investigating the disappearance of 38 women aged 18-49, snatched from view while doing ordinary everyday things and not a trace of evidence left behind, all starting in 2010. No ransom notes are received and no bodies found. No motives are apparent. Heck has built up a strong hunch that this is no coincidence but whiffs of meticulous planning and intelligence work by a proficient criminal organisation.

The problem Heck has is no hard evidence to give to his higher-ranking officers. They have pared his old team down, effectively turning Heck into a one-man band who is stretched to the limit and considered not cost-effective. Heck describes himself: 'I'm a copper, I catch criminals - and that's it'. He's not interested in promotion or politics and is not averse to openly criticising his superiors, not the tactful way to win favours although he does have some allies. Relentlessly chasing leads to find the villainous explanation behind the missing women, Heck careers from one life-threatening situation to another, often gory and brutal involving violent clashes and fights (with even more gruesome acts), all graphically depicted by the author and not for the faint-hearted.

The characters are expertly portrayed and their strengths amply displayed with a particularly assertive female presence, especially the hard as nails, combative Lauren who is in the thick of the action with Heck (and plenty of it there is). An invigorating novel full of thrills and spills with suspense throughout. The ending is tense with a few surprises turning up. Tremendous read, well-written with more in the series to come. Can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BRILLIANT novel by a bright new talent on the crime scene, 17 Jan 2013
This review is from: Stalkers (Kindle Edition)
I was sent a copy of STALKERS for review by the publisher and loved it from page one. Paul Finch is a master of suspense, and he had me on the edge of my seat from the very first chapter.

Following a gang who kidnap women on demand for their clients, this is a tense cat and mouse chase between a gang so dangerous that no one dare mention their name, and a rough around the edges cop, Detective Mark 'Heck' Heckenberg. This is Heck's show, but he's joined by a great cast of supporting characters - including, refreshingly, a host of strong and very ballsy women - and some seriously distasteful baddies.

As I understand it, Paul Finch used to be a scriptwriter by trade and this shines through. The action is endlessly compelling, mixing up hard-nosed sleuthing and intelligent detective work with fast-paced fight scenes that are so vivid they may as well be happening right in front of your face. I don't want to give away anything here, but the fight with Deke is a scene I will never be able to forget. Paul is also a horror writer of some renown, and he certainly knows how to kill his victims. But there's nothing gratuitous in his violence, and whilst occasionally bloody, his murder scenes weren't too hard to stomach, and will satisfy both hardened crime fans and newbies to the genre.

Overall, this is a thrilling, unforgettable read from a fantastic new writer on the crime and thriller scene. I will be recommending Paul Finch wherever I go and I can't wait to get my hands on the next in the series in just a few months' time. I could easily see this book taking to the small screen, so if there are any TV producers out there, I hope they're watching Paul Finch closely, as I am in no doubt that he's a star of the future.

If I have any advice to you it's READ THIS BOOK!

(With thanks to the publisher Avon for providing a review copy.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A page turner, 24 Jan 2013
This review is from: Stalkers (Kindle Edition)
Just finished reading this exciting book. It is full of suspense. Some just short of horror, but expertly handled.

Women going missing, but no link can be proven between them until a last minute piece of evidence turns up before the case is closed, It's up to 'Heck' to chase it up in his own time.

The first in a series it seems, so get it at the 99p bargain price if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb British Thriller, 27 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalkers (Kindle Edition)
Downloaded Paul' first two books Stalkers and Sacrifice based on reviews. Just finished Stalkers and I was very impressed, its an excellent thriller, a real page turner.
I normally tend to stick with David Baldacci/James Patterson and Dan Brown for my Thrillers but I was pleased I tried this. Now looking forward to reading Sacrifice...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a realistic crime novel, 6 Feb 2013
By 
Ms. E. C. Norris "Liz N, bibliophile" (South West UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalkers (Kindle Edition)
This is a great read - it was refreshing to read a crime novel which assumed the reader has intelligence. You can tell the author is an ex-copper, the tone is authentic & convincing. Really enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 5 Feb 2013
This review is from: Stalkers (Kindle Edition)
If you love a thriller this is for you . Such a good book keeps you hooked. I recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 7 Feb 2013
By 
J. Walsh "joannejo90" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalkers (Kindle Edition)
I did enjoy this book I must say, I basically chose it because it is set in the UK and I much prefer a storyline set in England (just a personal choice). I thought that the book was well written, you were kept in suspense and the characters were (very nearly) belivable.

All in all a very good book and to download to your kindle for 99p is quite a bargain.

Go on treat yourself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this and read if you love action, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalkers (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book, action from start to finish with DS Heck.. Buy and read now going to buy Sacrifice second in series. Won't say to much about about book as don't want to spoil and sure others have said loads that you can read.
BUY IT GO ON
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab read, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalkers (Kindle Edition)
This was a really good read, I enjoyed every bit off it, so I've downloaded another one from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 291 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stalkers
Stalkers by Paul Finch
1.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews