Customer Reviews


1,041 Reviews
5 star:
 (621)
4 star:
 (270)
3 star:
 (85)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


125 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed thriller with pitch-dark undertones
A pacy, edgy crime novel from a writer who really sounds as if he knows what he's talking about. A police detective hunting for a number of missing women uncovers a terrifying conspiracy and finds himself confronting one of the most dangerous gangs in Britain. Apparently Paul Finch used to write for The Bill and has also written a number of horror books, and both of these...
Published on 30 Jan. 2013 by Kitty

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Curate's Egg of a novel.
I read Paul Finch's second book (Sacrifice) first which I'm glad I did in a way as had I read 'Stalkers' first I might not have bothered. The start of the book was indeed very good and Finch paints a very good scenario which is intriguing and very readable but for the most part after promising begining the story degenerated into multiple chases and fights which I mostly...
Published 4 months ago by Harvey

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2105 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

125 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed thriller with pitch-dark undertones, 30 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Stalkers (Detective Mark Heckenburg Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A pacy, edgy crime novel from a writer who really sounds as if he knows what he's talking about. A police detective hunting for a number of missing women uncovers a terrifying conspiracy and finds himself confronting one of the most dangerous gangs in Britain. Apparently Paul Finch used to write for The Bill and has also written a number of horror books, and both of these backgrounds show, as this cracking thriller moves with electric pace through some of the scariest parts of Britain's inner cities, featuring some ultra-violent scenes and a few horrific moments which are definitely not for the squeamish. A refreshing book in various ways, too. The female characters are among the best I've encountered in ages - real tough cookies, while the main hero, Heck, though a good guy with a conscience, has a pair of fists and he isn't afraid to use them. Highly recommended for crime and mystery fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Thriller, 31 Jan. 2013
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalkers (Detective Mark Heckenburg Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Ex-policeman and scriptwriter Paul Finch has turned his hand to writing books and has produced a high-octane belter of a thriller that sweeps the reader from one confrontation to another at a captivating pace. Detective Sergeant Mark 'Heck' Heckenburg works for the National Serial Crime Squad investigating the disappearance of 38 women aged 18-49, snatched from view while doing ordinary everyday things and not a trace of evidence left behind, all starting in 2010. No ransom notes are received and no bodies found. No motives are apparent. Heck has built up a strong hunch that this is no coincidence but whiffs of meticulous planning and intelligence work by a proficient criminal organisation.

The problem Heck has is no hard evidence to give to his higher-ranking officers. They have pared his old team down, effectively turning Heck into a one-man band who is stretched to the limit and considered not cost-effective. Heck describes himself: 'I'm a copper, I catch criminals - and that's it'. He's not interested in promotion or politics and is not averse to openly criticising his superiors, not the tactful way to win favours although he does have some allies. Relentlessly chasing leads to find the villainous explanation behind the missing women, Heck careers from one life-threatening situation to another, often gory and brutal involving violent clashes and fights (with even more gruesome acts), all graphically depicted by the author and not for the faint-hearted.

The characters are expertly portrayed and their strengths amply displayed with a particularly assertive female presence, especially the hard as nails, combative Lauren who is in the thick of the action with Heck (and plenty of it there is). An invigorating novel full of thrills and spills with suspense throughout. The ending is tense with a few surprises turning up. Tremendous read, well-written with more in the series to come. Can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BRILLIANT novel by a bright new talent on the crime scene, 17 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Stalkers (Detective Mark Heckenburg Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I was sent a copy of STALKERS for review by the publisher and loved it from page one. Paul Finch is a master of suspense, and he had me on the edge of my seat from the very first chapter.

Following a gang who kidnap women on demand for their clients, this is a tense cat and mouse chase between a gang so dangerous that no one dare mention their name, and a rough around the edges cop, Detective Mark 'Heck' Heckenberg. This is Heck's show, but he's joined by a great cast of supporting characters - including, refreshingly, a host of strong and very ballsy women - and some seriously distasteful baddies.

As I understand it, Paul Finch used to be a scriptwriter by trade and this shines through. The action is endlessly compelling, mixing up hard-nosed sleuthing and intelligent detective work with fast-paced fight scenes that are so vivid they may as well be happening right in front of your face. I don't want to give away anything here, but the fight with Deke is a scene I will never be able to forget. Paul is also a horror writer of some renown, and he certainly knows how to kill his victims. But there's nothing gratuitous in his violence, and whilst occasionally bloody, his murder scenes weren't too hard to stomach, and will satisfy both hardened crime fans and newbies to the genre.

Overall, this is a thrilling, unforgettable read from a fantastic new writer on the crime and thriller scene. I will be recommending Paul Finch wherever I go and I can't wait to get my hands on the next in the series in just a few months' time. I could easily see this book taking to the small screen, so if there are any TV producers out there, I hope they're watching Paul Finch closely, as I am in no doubt that he's a star of the future.

If I have any advice to you it's READ THIS BOOK!

(With thanks to the publisher Avon for providing a review copy.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant - couldn't put it down., 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalkers (Detective Mark Heckenburg Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I almost couldn’t get past the first chapter because it was so disturbing, it made me want to look over my shoulder more than once and I just knew something terrible was going to happen.

This is the first Paul Finch book I’ve read and I bought it along with a couple of others as part of a special deal – I’m so glad I did.

Basically there’s a renegade cop called Heck (DS Mark Heckenburg to give him his full name), he likes to do things his own way, he doesn’t take too kindly to senior police officers who are only doing the job for political motivation.

He’s been investigating the disappearances of women from quite ordinary backgrounds and is starting to put together a pattern of sorts when he is inexplicably pulled off and told the cases of the missing women cases are to be farmed out to local stations.

He’s obviously very annoyed (to say the least) and his boss Gemma Piper tells him he must take some leave. Heck uses this forced break to continue his own investigation into the missing women following up on a lead that ends up taking him all over the country and nearly killing him more than once.

The Nice Guys are not nice guys and show no mercy to anyone who crosses their path, even those innocent people who inadvertently cross their path.

If you like crime novels as I do, this is a must. It’s well written, pacy and has great descriptions of locations and Paul obviously has an in-depth knowledge of police procedure which shines through and makes the story all the more believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Thirller, 19 April 2014
By 
atticusfinch1048 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stalkers (Paperback)
Stalkers – Who is watching you?

Typical of me to discover Paul Finch by reading his third book Stalkers in his ‘Heck’ series and I would like to thank him as I am now going to have to find his first two books and his latest! Stalkers is a great read with the Detective Mark ‘Heck’ Heckenberg a detective sergeant in the National Crime Squad who has to go off the reservation to solve the case and could so easily be handed his own backside in a sling!

Heck has been investigating a number of missing persons cases, not something you would expect the National Crime Group (UK version of the FBI) to be investigating as they are generally routine and handled by the local police force. What makes this Heck’s case are that these missing people are all women, who are highly educated, plenty to live for, high achievers who just disappear off the face of the earth. Cars abandoned, shopping left in the open boot of the car, just gone.

Heck finds similarities but his bosses believe the case is going nowhere and a lot of money and resources close his investigation down. Heck is sent on leave and decides the only thing he can do is carry on his investigation, which means he will have to go on a road trip. During his initial road trip he ends up with the help and support of one of missing person’s sister Lauren Wraxford an ex-squaddie who he does not want but ends up needing. It is while he is on this road trip that he realises what he is actually up against when he is set up for the murder of a local thief.

On the run he becomes the target for a well trained contract killer and through this he find that a so-called ‘Nice Guys Club’ are the people who are running the killer and are highly skilled ex-military men who provide an expensive ‘rape club’ for the rich elite. It becomes a race against time and his own colleagues to discover the whole story and at the same time discover if there is a mole in the National Crime Group.

This is a fast paced gritty crime thriller with plenty of twists and turns that leaves you breathless and excited as you read. Paul Finch has used his skills as a screen writer to draw the reader in and hold them enthralled in the story feeling central to it and feeling the tension that racks through Heck. Yes Heck is a defective detective but a damn good one at that not afraid to go against his bosses in the search for the truth. The truth in this book is that you will not be able to put it down and to use the cliché of clichés this really is a page turner well worth investing your time in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be turned into a film, 9 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Stalkers (Paperback)
Detective Sergeant Heckenburg is trying to find out what happened to nearly 40 women and continues trying to find out even having to go against his superiors who have closed the case.. He meets many problems throughout the book and the Nice Guys, a gang of ex-special forces who will do what you want for a price, aren't going to make it easy for him. They want him dead and they don't care what the cost is. Heck soon learns that the case isn't going to be as easy to solve as he had hoped it would be and learns that flying solo would be his downfall.

I loved reading this book, I thought it was well written, especially the fighting scenes where you were made to feel as if you were actually there watching it, and you were made to keep guessing what was going to happen next. I was sat on the edge of my seat when they were on the boat and the scene that followed it eager to find out if Heck and Lauren would come out of it alive.

There were two characters I loved for completely different reasons. Lauren who was extremely loyal to Heck, even though they hadn't known each other that long and even though she had her own agenda and Ballamara at the beginning he sounds just like every other brain dead criminal but towards the end he suprises you.

I think this book would make a brilliant film as it is fast paced and doesn't seem to have a dull moment..

I'm glad I gave this book a shot and I'm looking forward to reading the next one "Sacrifice" to see how many more beatings poor Heck can survive..

If you enjoy books that are based on crime and suspense then I'd greatly recommend this book, you definitely won't regret reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A page turner, 24 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Stalkers (Detective Mark Heckenburg Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Just finished reading this exciting book. It is full of suspense. Some just short of horror, but expertly handled.

Women going missing, but no link can be proven between them until a last minute piece of evidence turns up before the case is closed, It's up to 'Heck' to chase it up in his own time.

The first in a series it seems, so get it at the 99p bargain price if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb British Thriller, 27 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalkers (Detective Mark Heckenburg Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Downloaded Paul' first two books Stalkers and Sacrifice based on reviews. Just finished Stalkers and I was very impressed, its an excellent thriller, a real page turner.
I normally tend to stick with David Baldacci/James Patterson and Dan Brown for my Thrillers but I was pleased I tried this. Now looking forward to reading Sacrifice...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a realistic crime novel, 6 Feb. 2013
By 
Ms. E. C. Norris "Liz N, bibliophile" (South West UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalkers (Detective Mark Heckenburg Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a great read - it was refreshing to read a crime novel which assumed the reader has intelligence. You can tell the author is an ex-copper, the tone is authentic & convincing. Really enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 5 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Stalkers (Detective Mark Heckenburg Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
If you love a thriller this is for you . Such a good book keeps you hooked. I recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2105 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Dead Man Walking (Detective Mark Heckenburg Book 4)
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (188)   
Buy new£0.99
Available for download now

The Killing Club (Detective Mark Heckenburg Book 3)
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (362)   
Buy new£1.90
Available for download now

Sacrifice (Detective Mark Heckenburg Book 2)
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (735)   
Buy new£2.49
Available for download now