Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic
If, like me, you're new to The Vaccines then this album is an excellent place to start. Not only do you have the extended version of Come of Age (which is a fantastic piece of songwriting), you also have a live show featuring a lot of songs of What Did You Expect from The Vaccines - so all in all this is a great introduction to this exciting band.
Published 24 months ago by Nick

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed
Absolutely loved The Vaccines' first album... but slightly disappointed by this one. The good songs are definitely just the released tracks... the others are a bit average. Diversion away from their original sound that I loved... In some songs they've almost tried to go for a Radiohead vibe... but not quite succeeded. Other songs just aren't that great.

Since...
Published on 10 Dec. 2012 by H. Coates


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If, like me, you're new to The Vaccines then this album is an excellent place to start. Not only do you have the extended version of Come of Age (which is a fantastic piece of songwriting), you also have a live show featuring a lot of songs of What Did You Expect from The Vaccines - so all in all this is a great introduction to this exciting band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good second album!, 13 May 2015
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Come Of Age (Audio CD)
I went out and bought The Vaccines' second album immediately after hearing the bouncy hit single 'Teenage Icon', and as is quite often the case, the song you want, as good as it is, is far from the best track. 'Come Of Age' is filled with some really upbeat stuff, and despite not quite on the same level on a whole as it's ear-catching predecessor What Did You Expect From The Vaccines?, you can hear how the band have matured, and this is a good, up-tempo album, with cleverly written tunes and catchy guitar work.

Addictive highlights for me include 'No Hope', 'All in Vain', the rather emotional 'Weirdo', and 'Lonely World', which is an oddity for this album really, as it's slow and mellow, a beautiful track with meaningful words that can often help to almost send me to sleep.

Engaging indie-rock music to help you through the day, buy 'Come Of Age', and I'm sure you'll become an instant fan of The Vaccines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OOZING POTENTIAL, 26 Sept. 2012
By 
DOPPLEGANGER (TEDDY B) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Come Of Age (Audio CD)
My first introduction to The Vaccines from West London and labelled 'Indie' or 'Alternative' which covers a wide range of modern genres but for a tighter classification on the strength of this album I would say 'melodic pop rock' with a teaspoonful of 'Ramone Punk' stirred in. For a band that has been going for only 2 years their progression and maturity as a cohesive musical force is, indeed impressive with extensive tours with the likes of The Stone Roses, Arctic Monkeys, and The Walkmen together with the release of 2 albums, "Come Of Age" being the second.

The general theme of their work does not exude too much happiness or optimism in the lyrics but is scored, vocalised and played with a lightness of touch and an always present 'chug-a-long' rhythmic drive.

Stand-outs? Not an inferior track in sight but mainly good, strong offerings such as "No Hope", "Teenage Icons", "I Always Knew", "Aftershave Ocean", and "Change Of Heart" with joint personal favorites "Wierdo", and "Lonely World".

A really good second album and if their progression over the next few years is as outstanding as their first two years then The Vaccines will be a force to be reckoned with on the global music stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Getting Better., 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Of Age (MP3 Download)
Forget all the stuff about the Vaccines saving guitar music, they haven't. Forget all the stuff about lazy lyrics and unadventurous writing. Compared to some music these are deep meaningful lyrics.

Just listen to the music.

An old bloke like me is probably not the target audience for the Vaccines, but they do sing a good song. From the off this collection leaves you in no doubt that the Vaccines can perform and are probably a good bet live. There isn't a song I dislike and there a few I really do like, a lot. Classics? No. Any dogs? No. Just a good collection of tuneful guitar based pop music.

Enjoy it for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great New Album but live CD not worth the extra money!, 3 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Of Age [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
Quality album, the vaccines are one of my favorite bands and this album does not disappoint. I pre-ordered this album and haven't stopped listening to it since. Teenage Icon, No Hope and I Always Knew (the three released tracks so far) are the best on the album but the other tracks are decent as well. The live CD I found is not really worth the extra money, if you have the 'What did you expect from the vaccines' album don't bother paying extra for the deluxe CD. If not buy that album as well as it is just as good if not better than this one!

In short buy the non deluxe version as the extra tracks are not worth the extra money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Vaccines Evolve, 6 Oct. 2012
By 
D. Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come Of Age (Audio CD)
What did you expect has to be one of my most played cds over the last 12 months and to be honest I did get the feeling this follow up was a bit quick and initially I was disappointed that they had changed their sound quite drastically
I dont know if its the production but you really would think it was a different band at times.
Having said all that repeated listens introduce you to this new sound and its really quite exceptional, the song writing has improved a lot too.
I can see this one staying in my CD player for sometime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now!!, 29 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Of Age (Audio CD)
From the anthemic Bad Mood to the brilliant I Always Knew this album is a must own especially if you already own What did you Expect from The Vaccines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed, 10 Dec. 2012
By 
H. Coates (York, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come Of Age (Audio CD)
Absolutely loved The Vaccines' first album... but slightly disappointed by this one. The good songs are definitely just the released tracks... the others are a bit average. Diversion away from their original sound that I loved... In some songs they've almost tried to go for a Radiohead vibe... but not quite succeeded. Other songs just aren't that great.

Since the only songs I listen to are the released tracks e.g. Teenage Icon, No Hope etc... you could get away with just buying the singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Vaccines Come Of Age, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Of Age (Audio CD)
The Vaccines have grown up & taken a giant leap in the last 12 months. Loved the debut, What Did You Expect 35 minutes of utter joy, but this is a more 'grown up' collection of songs, from a band who've clearly honed their song writing talent. I put off buying this for a few months convinced I'd be disappointed, but it's great, as many catchy hooks as the 1st album but with more depth & a proper album feel & less like a collection of good ideas. Can't wait for number 3 !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come Of Age - The Vaccines, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A mate said to me "download Come Of Age, there isn't a bad song on it" A simple instruction, so I did. He wasn't wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Come Of Age
Come Of Age by The Vaccines (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews