Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pass the Salt Please!
I was loaned this DVD by a friend who described it as truly awful. Now having watched "At the Earth's Core" and "The People that Time Forgot", I was happy to watch it not just for the sake of politeness. I admit I am just a big kid at heart, because I actually really enjoyed this film. It did not take itself too seriously and gave me a good laugh. The acting was...
Published on 14 Mar. 2011 by Bob Salter

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Silly but entertaining
At the end of the 19th century, a group of adventurers headed by an archaeologist (Donald Bisset) and including his son (Peter Gilmore) and the engineer (Doug McClure) of the diving bell they will use, plumb the sea depths in search of the lost city of Atlantis. They find it but the Atlanteans are anything but friendly, could it be the hideous wigs they're forced to wear...
Published on 20 Aug. 2012 by The CinemaScope Cat


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars dvd warlords of atlantis, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warlords of Atlantis [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
this is a very good film the acting is very good and it is not a bad copy i will recomend this to friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit dated but have seen far worst films than this, 4 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Warlords of Atlantis [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
Just seen this film for the first time.
It was on Film 4.
Was OK.
A bit dated but have seen far worst films than this.
This one keept me watching and I give it a 5 out of 10.
And was a fun little addventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Warlords of Atlantis [PAL Region 2 DVD] [1978], 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warlords of Atlantis [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
Good old school Seventies monster matinee schlock & Fun practical effects. Great price & top service from seller. Delighted to finally have this Dou McClure creature feature in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OLD FILM I BOUGHT FOR A FRIEND/NEIGHBOUR WHO WORKED ON THE FILM., 7 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warlords of Atlantis [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
HE LOVES IT, PLENTY OF MONSTERS - YOU HAVE TO LIKE THAT SORT OF FILM...............IN ORDER TO WATCH AND ENJOY..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Warlords Of Atlantis, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warlords Of Atlantis [DVD] (DVD)
A low budget film that tries very hard to be something it cannot be. The result is quite good nonetheless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good., 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warlords of Atlantis [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
A present for my wife. Good hokey film with rubber monsters and enjoyable ham acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atlantis Intercepted!, 9 May 2010
By 
S. P. Ridley (Nottingham,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Warlords Of Atlantis [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the more enjoyable 70's fantasy films,i wish they still made a few like "Warlords.." these days.Starring Doug McClure in his penultimate collaboration with
director Kevin Connor and producer John Dark(seemingly breathing over the last embers of amicus studios),but this along with The Land That Time Forgot is easily their best work together.Lea Brodie provides a very attractive presence both in the film and publicity stills,a gallery is included on this disc along with a trailer.It's good to have a nice clean widescreen version of the film available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A guilty pleasure, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warlords Of Atlantis [DVD] (DVD)
Many people born after 1990 will dismiss this film as dated rubbish and why shouldn't they? The monsters are rubber miniatures and the plot takes suspension of disbelief to new levels of madness. However, some of us who grew up in the 70s view it differently. Warlords of Atlantis has somehow survived repeated viewings. Like a DVD version of Keith Richards, it may look really bad but it refuses to die.

The pacing is top-notch. No sooner are we introduced to the intrepid crew of the Texas Rose, than they are dragged to the bottom of the ocean by a massive rubber octopus. Before we even reach Atlantis we have electrocuted a dinosaur, we escape a wonky gurgling sea serpent, and we have a punch up with a gang of mutant fish-men. It all looks a bit naff, but the actors remain deadpan and carry the film with gusto.

The script from the pen of Doctor Who writer Brian Hayles is eccentric and very British. When attacked by a plesiosaur, Peter Gilmore declares 'I broke my pencil' with all the urgency of a miffed supply teacher. Doug McClure plays an all-American fist-fighting action hero called Greg Collinson - A name which makes him sound more like a bus driver from Croydon.

Call me weird, but all these things are quite entertaining. The special effects make Barney look like Jurassic Park, but that's not the point. This guilty pleasure has endured simply because of the enthusiasm with which it was made. Warlords of Atlantis is a ripping yarn for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warlords of Atlantis [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
Well pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars :), 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warlords of Atlantis [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
Class movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Warlords of Atlantis [DVD] [1978]
Warlords of Atlantis [DVD] [1978] by Kevin Connor (DVD - 2012)
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews