Customer Reviews


239 Reviews
5 star:
 (206)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest comic film of all time?
This has been voted in a number of polls as the greatest comic film of all time and while I have undoubtedly laughed more uproariously at other (sometimes lesser) films, this is still undeniably very funny today and is superbly directed by that master of comedy, Billy Wilder. Jack Lemmon is, of course, brilliantly funny, but one should not underestimate just how good Tony...
Published on 21 Jan. 2011 by M. Joyce

versus
67 of 80 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a hilarious classic somewhat dissapointingly mastered on DVD
What more can be said about this all-time comic classic? Probably Billy Wilder's best movie, 'Some like it hot' has all the key elements for hilarious entertainment: sharp and snappy dialogues, esp. between Curtis and Lemmon, disguise, embarrassing situations and of course, rivalry and romance. Starting with a rather grim 1929 gangster hunt, the movie soon lightens up in...
Published on 23 Nov. 2000


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest comic film of all time?, 21 Jan. 2011
By 
M. Joyce (Cairo, Egypt) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This has been voted in a number of polls as the greatest comic film of all time and while I have undoubtedly laughed more uproariously at other (sometimes lesser) films, this is still undeniably very funny today and is superbly directed by that master of comedy, Billy Wilder. Jack Lemmon is, of course, brilliantly funny, but one should not underestimate just how good Tony Curtis and, yes, Marilyn Monroe, are in their parts and, my word, is she sexy or what? There are some choice performances in supporting roles, notably from Joe E. Brown, who gets to utter that one of the most famous last lines in film history. It is in black and white, of course, but somehow this just adds to the pleasure. The "extras" are very entertaining and Tony Curtis is on particularly good form. If you don't already own this, you really should!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply classic comedy, 27 Feb. 2003
'Some Like it Hot' is quintessential old-fashioned comedy, and damned good entertainment. It's got a fun, although somewhat predictable plot, but this film drags it all together - one of the best screenplays of all time; classic acting, especially from the Oscar-nominated Lemmon; perfect direction; and, of course, Monroe on cue to provide the music, of which there is plenty.
Curtis and Lemmon make the ultimate double-act, and every supporting performance is fantastic, making every scene a joy to watch. I'm not normally a fan of farce as a genre of comedy, but 'Some Like it Hot' is just done so well it's impossible not to be taken in by its non-stop madcap hilarity.
It really is as simple as that - whether you just want to relax and enjoy some solid entertainment, or you're a comedy fan, this is a must for any home collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie ,nice new extras., 7 Aug. 2009
By 
just to elaborate slightly on the extras on this two disc set.There is a commentary which comprises of interviews with tony curtis and jack lemmon.There are featurettes from the previous edition "nostalgic look back"(31:14},"memories of the sweet sues"(12:04),"virtual hall of memories"(21:05)and two new ones "making of..."(25:45) and "legacy of..."(20:23)and the trailer.Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without Question The Best Comedy of an Era, 8 Nov. 2005
"Some Like It Hot" is an outstanding comedy from 1959, directed by the genius that was Billy Wilder and starring three true Hollywood greats. Marilyn Monroe, Jack Lemmon and Tony Curtis supply all the laughs with thier flawless comedic performances. The film is based around two musicians (Curtis and Lemmon) who find themselves witnesses to a gangland shooting. They search desperatley for a musical job that will send them else where so they can escape the mob who are quickly tracking them down to ''silence'' them. The only available job is that of a girl group. Desperate times call for desperate measures and the unlikely pair take on fake names and through make-up and dress become women impersonators to join the gril group undetected.
Of course, thier quest is not an easy one and it leads to truly hillarious results. I'm not going to reel of endless details of the film's funniest moments but needless to say there are a whole wealth of them. Marilyn Monroe is outstanding in the film, and it proves once and for all what an underappreciated true great of comedy acting she was. Curtis and Lemmon are a flawless double act and both put in career defining performances here. The special features of the DVD are really great and a tremendous ammount to the set. The documentaries here, including interviews with Tony Curtis and many of the extra's from the girl band are really great and they add a behind-the-scenes look at one of America's greatest loved and most enduring comedy movies. Marilyn Monroe was reportedly at her most difficult during the film's production, but whatever was needed to create thier truly wonderful box office gem was well worth it. "Some Like It Hot" is an undeniably fabulous film that no self respecting film buff or lover should be without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Well, nobody's perfect!', 4 Oct. 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best comedy of all time? I'd say so, yes. Most comedies get dated so quickly that they become boring within 20 years. This one is approaching the half century and is still funny.

Set in 1920s prohibition, two struggling musicians are on the run from mobsters, but the only paying gig in town is an all expense paid trip to a hotel in Florida. One catch - they gotta be girls! So Joe and Jerry become Josephine (Curtis) and Daphne (Lemon). The tale stretches down on the train as Daphne wrestles with himself not to hit on his new 'girlfriend' Sugar but then has to fend off a creepy old millionaire on the beach. Meanwhile 'Joesephine' busiers himself dressing up as a millionaire to impress Sugar, with an hilarius intepretation of Cary Grant ('...nO..bOdy..torks like thAt').

The two funiest lines of the film are:

Osgood: What instrument do you play?

Daphne (exasperated): Bow fiddel!

Osgood: Oh, do you use the bow or do you just pluck it?

Daphne (with a glint in the eye): Most of the time I SLAP it!

There is of course the legendary final line as Daphne tries to convince Osgood that he cant marry him but trying not to admit that he's a man. When he eventually throws of the wigs and yells:

Daphne: 'No you don't understand. I'm a man!'

Osgood: 'Well, nobody's perfect.'

According to legend, the script writers were so stumped that when one of them suggested the line they both hated it. They wrote it down until they could come up with 'something better' and passed of one of the most famous final lines in cinema history.

With Marilyn Munroe's defining performance and comedy that shines 50 years on, this film is a dream and a timeless classic that belongs in any movie collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Golden oldie (spoiler), 3 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. S. K. Mackie "seanmackie" (NW England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Whenever I've come across films about trans-gender, I tend to really enjoy them, MRS DOUBTFIRE (1993) and TOOTSIE (1982) are two very popular comedies which I hold very dearly though Doubtfire is a family classic. But when I came across this film from over 50 years ago during my Auteur Theory seminars at university, this popular gem was shown to portray feminism in film and certainly my fellow uni mates and I thoroughly enjoyed the film which is often heralded as THE greatest rom-com of all time with three fabulous lead performances, a terrific script and some classic scenes as well as the 'perfect' final line to a film. Following the tragic death of lead actor Tony Curtis a few days ago, I gave the film a third viewing and once again was treated to a delight of a film that even after 50 years is still hugely popular and as funny as ever!

Set in Chicago, 1929, the film begins with a funeral car being pursued by police who start firing at the men inside the car. It emerges that the men are carrying hundreds of bottles of liquor to be delivered to the funeral parlour where in a hidden room is a swinging club with musicians and singers which involves lots of booze being drank. An undercover police detective goes into the club which is owned by local gangster Spats Colombo (George Raft) and is about to be raided. Working in the club are two down-on-their-luck jazz musicians; Joe (Tony Curtis) and Jerry (Jack Lemmon) whose opportunity of getting paid at the club backfires when the raid occurs leaving the men broke. Their trip to an employment office sees them believe they have the chance of joining a band that are heading to Miami only to find it is two female musicians they want. Instead they try another job but whilst trying to take a car from a garage owned by a gang, another car arrives with Spats and his gang confronting the others and gunning them down (vengeance from Spats to his rival for ratting him out to the police) which is witnessed by Joe and Jerry. The two somehow escape and go on the run and realize that they can't stick around in Chicago so they decide to take a bizarre route by joining the female band on the train, dressed up as women! Taking the names of Josephine and Daphne, the pair's awkwardness of dressing up in woman's clothing sees them settle in well as the other female musicians make them welcome.

Whilst on the train, the pair meet sultry blond-haired singer Sugar Kane (Marilyn Monroe) who makes both men feel uneasy because of her seductive nature, she too is running away from men and confides in them about how she yearns to get herself a millionaire husband when the group get to Miami. Once the party arrives in the warm paradise of Miami, they settle into their hotel though Jerry finds himself being pestered by a rowdy, retired millionaire named Osgood Fielding (Joe E. Brown) who tries to charm 'her' only to be rejected instantly. Joe on the other hand comes up with a plan to try and get together with Sugar by stealing the band's executive's suitcase donning a pair of glasses, wearing a naval uniform and putting on a British accent to try and charm her. She falls for him especially when he mentions about being involved with the Shell Oil Company and owning a luxury yacht though he comes up with a great strategy to be more intimate with her by using Osgood's boat that evening while the millionaire is Cuba-dancing with Jerry. The plan goes well, much to Jerry's annoyance, as Joe becomes romantic with Sugar and the pair share several passionate kisses (making up an excuse about struggling to enjoy love as she tries to make him enjoy it again). However it is clear that Joe can't keep up with changing his clothes and identities but things soon get more complicated for him and Jerry when Spats and his gang turn up to their hotel still looking for them leading to a hectic but satisfying conclusion.........

What results is an uproarious Laurel and Hardy-like farce with mistaken identities, burlesque-styled antics, and a madcap chase finale, all under the supervision of director Billy Wilder, who also co-wrote the script. Today the modern viewer sees this film with many homosexual overtones, but the film-makers made a point to stress the two male character's heterosexuality in this film. With their energetic yet contrasting persona's, Jack Lemmon and Tony Curtis make an ideal leading pair for a movie of this nature. Their energy and their sense of just how far they can exaggerate things make it very easy to like their characters and to become interested in what happens to them, and in turn that makes everything else fit together. Curtis, who was a mean-faced man of action, makes a surprisingly good woman, in both looks and mannerisms but it is Lemmon who is inspired with his faultless comedy-timing and when needed, a sense of the dramatic. As for the immortal Marilyn Monroe, she is at her most sexual here as the bubbly, desperado looking for love in all the wrong places. Despite her gold-digging instincts, Monroe's Sugar is cozy, vulnerable and altogether lovable, getting a lot of support too out of her solo singing, which include her classic signature song "I Wanna Be Loved by You." Joe E. Brown has a lot of fun with his role where he plays his character to sheer charming perfection and speaks the best line of the film (the last one) immaculately. Technically too the period feel of great depression era costumes and sets are also excellent, a very convincing feel of the time period.

The film's only fault might be a couple of overlong musical numbers, performed either by the whole band or soloed by Sugar Kane. Though to be expected in a Marilyn Monroe film, these musical acts are literal show stoppers that bring the comedy value of the film to a screeching halt. However, it is easy to overlook these minor defects in the movie as a whole with lines which just smack of sexual referencing, it causes belly laughs throughout. Credit goes to Wilder for one of the best comedy scenes in film involving all four major characters. The transitional cuts between Curtis and Monroe, attempting to let him feel love again, with Fielding and Lemmon, cutting up the tango dance floor, are absolutely hilarious. It never resorts to the sort of lowbrow humour of most of our modern comedy, and it demonstrates how light hearted comedy should be done and because by and large it is quite funny and after all, "nobody's perfect".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars undoubtably briliant, 19 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The premise of this movie sounds ludicrous, two men witness the St. Valentines day massacre and disguise themselves as women to avoid getting whacked. However the script is amazingly hilarious and the actors performances so remarkable that this blasphemous thought is forgotten within seconds, never to be thought of again.

To avoid the mafia Tony Curtis (a.k.a. Josephine) and Jack Lemmon (a.k.a. Daphne) join an all girl band and head to Florida where they plan to make a swift exit. However Cutis's character falls for the ukulele player, Sugar Kane played by Marilyn Monroe so he disguises himself as Shell Oil Junior and sets about winning her over. Meanwhile Daphne (Lemmon) plays with the idea of letting the rich Osgood the lll make an honest women out of him, after all a gal needs security.

This comedy puts to shame comedies from recent eras. There are simply too many sharp and witty lines to pick a favourite but Curtis's accent he uses for Sugar to disguise his voice is absolutely hilarious!

Curtis and Lemmon play well of each other and give their characters very different qualities that compliment each others comedic style. As always, Marilyn shines in every scene she's in.

This DVD also features interviews with the girls who played the rest of Sweet Sues band and Tony Curtis. Tony Curtis's interview is particularly interesting with cute little stories about Monroe, Lemmon and Wilder.

I cannot recommend this DVD highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Like Mine HOT!, 30 April 2009
By 
Jo-B Sebastian (Rand McNally, Southern Hemisphere (aka "Below the Equator")) - See all my reviews
First off, let me just say... The packaging of this edition is gorgeous! Featuring original poster artwork, this 2 DVD disc set comes in a sturdy Steelbook case. Not only is the metal casing sturdy but it's easy on the eyes too, giving it more of a vintage feel and adding texture to the printed cover. (It has a sort of grainy look... It's fantastic.) I can't stop looking at it, it's very beautifully designed. Nowadays most of Marilyn Monroe's film releases are cased in a boring white design with Marilyn on the front. I'd much rather have the original poster artwork, it just makes it feel so much more special. Don't get me wrong, I'm a huge fan of Marilyn Monroe, but these films are more than just Marilyn and it's sad to see the other actors and actresses put aside. Not to mention the original posters are gorgeous! On to the content: This is a 2 disc set, meaning it's brimming with special features! My favourite part of DVDs and why I buy them in the first place. I feel like it's a waste to buy a DVD that lacks any form of special features. The special features on this set are excellent. Featurettes, behind-the-scenes looks, interviews... There's a chock full of goodies on this edition, it was worth every penny. The transfer itself is a bit grainy but what can you expect from an old film? I personally find the grain charming, even beautiful sometimes, it exudes old Hollywood charm. If you're still on the fence about it, go for it. I promise you won't regret it. I just wish all of Marilyn's hits got this treatment, I'd buy them in a heartbeat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sarcasm IS the ultimate form of wit., 27 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
DO NOT watch this to see Monroe kissing Curtis or to have him put on 'that phoney accent.' Watch it instead to see Jack Lemmon fire off some of 'the greatest one-liners' in history. From the start of " I think they got me, I think they got me - They got the bow n' fiddle!" the sarcasm is magnificent. It reaches its height particularly around the beach scenes 'at the Seminol Ritz, Miami' e.g. "You will come to hear us play? If it's at all possible. Oh, do come, it will be such fun - and bring your yacht!" and "What do you think Josie - what does it say in your crystal ball?" to "You and Sugar! We're just like sisters! Well I'm your fairy godmother (retorts Lemmon wipping off his wig) - and I'm gonna keep an eye on you!" This man carries the film and he is brilliantly supported by one of cinema's greatest punchlines - "Well, nobody's perfect."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE MOST HILARIOUS FILM..........EVER!!!!, 8 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This is simply THE funniest film ever made!
Marilyn Monroe is at her sex kitten best and Jack Lemmon steals the show as Jerry/Daphne giving the best one liners in the history of cinema!!
The jokes come thick and fast so it deserves multiple viewings.
A brilliant cinematic experience!
Just remember, 'Nobody's perfect!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Some Like It Hot [DVD] [1959]
Some Like It Hot [DVD] [1959] by Billy Wilder (DVD - 2012)
£4.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews