Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CINEMA RESERVE 2 disc metal tin edition.
This is my favourite marilyn monroe movie,it may not be laugh out loud funnier than "some like it hot" but the performance by monroe is more subtle .It is about a working writer(tom ewell) who ships his wife and son("only a little one ,hardly counts") off to the coast for summer while he stays in the heat of the city.When he arrives back at his apartment he discovers a...
Published on 7 Aug 2009 by ciaran moore

versus
4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Billy knew best
The divine Marilyn is the real reason to see this fairly clumsy comedy, since her male lead Tom Ewell is a decent likeable jobbing actor but no movie star, in spite of having apparently starred in the theatre version of the play. He can't, as they say, carry the picture, and it's tragic to read that Billy Wilder tested, and wanted, the young Walter Matthau for the part,...
Published on 10 April 2008 by Felix Lector


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CINEMA RESERVE 2 disc metal tin edition., 7 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: The Seven Year Itch [DVD] (DVD)
This is my favourite marilyn monroe movie,it may not be laugh out loud funnier than "some like it hot" but the performance by monroe is more subtle .It is about a working writer(tom ewell) who ships his wife and son("only a little one ,hardly counts") off to the coast for summer while he stays in the heat of the city.When he arrives back at his apartment he discovers a beautiful young lady has moved into the apartment above.A lot of mishaps and misunderstandings ensue,i especially love the piano moments.Don`t want to spoil it ,so i won`t say anymore than to mention a great performance by tom ewell as the writer.The extras are, on disc one, a commentary by billy wilder biographer kevin lally,on disc two :"backstory:the seven year itch"(23:25),"legend of marilyn monroe"(48:23)(although it says on the tin 90mins),"marilyn:the final days"(112:28)and deleted scenes(3:21),which are really extended outtakes,a 30 second newsreel,restoration comparison and gallery.It is slightly disappointing that only the backstory tv episode deals with the movie itself ,a little talking heads featurette would have been nice .That said there is quite a bit on the discs so i suppose i shouldn`t complain.Well worth upgrading from the single disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an itch you have to scratch!, 13 Sep 2000
By A Customer
The 1955 comedy, "The Seven Year Itch," directed by Billy Wilder, is one of the most amusing sex farces ever filmed. Starring Tom Ewell and Marilyn Monroe, and based on George Axelrod's play, the film takes a humorous look at the problems of a typical middle-aged married man. Tom Ewell, and unassuming leading man with a flair and talent for comedy, is perfectly cast in this movie. Ewell plays the part of Richard Sherman, an average middled-aged man of the 50's...office worker, city inhabitant, with a loving wife and one son. He is left alone in the city for the entire summer while his family vacations in Maine. All is well until Mr. Sherman meets the beautiful blonde who rents the apartment above his for the summer. They soon get to know each other and become friends over champagne, potato chips, and a Rachmaninoff record. Their friendship causes Mr. Sherman to worry that his wife will find out about his relationship with the blonde bombshell. With his overactive imagination, Mr. Sherman dreams up numerous situations concerning this young woman, as well as his wife. Although his imagination causes Mr. Sherman much worry, it provides many of the film's most memorable and enjoyable scenes. Of course, the film is famous for the scene of Monroe standing over the subway grate, which has always been a classic movie scene. Monroe, although unnamed in the film, gives one of her best screen performances, which is "just elegant," as she says throughout the movie. She displays a talent for comedy as well as beauty, which should not be overlooked. Ewell's portrayal of Richard Sherman is delightful, hilarious, and perfect. His facial expressions and comedic timing contribute to the film's enjoyability. Along with these stars, the supporting cast is excellent as well. It includes such character actors as Robert Strauss (Mr. Kruhulik, the janitor), and Donald MacBride (Mr. Brady, Richard Sherman's boss). "The Seven Year Itch" is one of the ultimate 50's pop culture films. And since it was filmed in Cinemascope, it would be perfect to see on the big screen. Any fan of Monroe, Wilder, old movies, or 50's culture would enjoy this movie; I strongly recommend it. The comedy, timing, acting, and direction are flawless...and they all help to make "The Seven Year Itch" "just elegant!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Based on a well-known fact, 29 April 2003
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
[Fact] if your name is Richard Sherman (Tom Ewell) and your wife of seven years has gone to Florida for the summer, you will fall victim to the "The Seven Year Itch."
This film is based on a play by George Axelrod, who also wrote “Goodbye Charlie” and directed “Lord Love A Duck” .
The director Billy Wilder also directed “The Apartment” and “Sabrina” (1954).
As with Shakespeare, this movie is a classic, many scenes and lines have been immortalized and parodied. And I am not too sure that Rachmaninoff's Second Piano Concerto was not used to remind us of "A Brief Encounter".
The basic story line is ever since the time of Native Americans, in the summertime wives and children go south for the summer to escape the excessive heat. This leaves a residual of working husbands and sprinkling of single women or to be more precise, Tom Ewell and Marilyn Monroe. Tom has a great imagination and we see many of the scenes through his imagination. As the two accidentally meet and start to converse, Richard Sherman's (Tom) imagination only gets more exotic.
I am not going to quote the movie lines or scenes as if you have previously viewed this movie, then you know them by hart. If you are new to this movie, you need to have the characters deliver them. I will say one of my favorites is when Mr. Kruhulik, the janitor, comes to clean the rugs; he gets an eyeful, and then makes a logical assumption.
The movie is quite fun aside from being a classic and you may see yourself in it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classy comedy !, 2 Mar 2001
By A Customer
As a relative newcomer to Marilyn Monroe's films I greatly enjoyed this video. The interplay between Monroe and Ewell is fantastic and the dialogue is superb throughout. The comedy has dated well with most of the jokes still being relevant/funny today. Certainly puts a lot of modern day comedy filmaking to shame. Picture quality isn't the best thing about this video...but hey the film was made in 1955 and it rather adds to the overall charm! I can't see anyone being disappointed when buying 'The Seven Year Itch'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marilyn in another Classic Comedy? That's Just Elegant!, 10 July 2005
This is a decent comedy and I enjoyed it on the whole. I'll be honest and say and the only real reason and I took an interested in the film and watched it is Marilyn Monroe. I've been trying to watch as many as her films as possible lately, ever since a study of Photography at college found me researching the icon of the silver screen. The good news is for me is that there was plenty of Marilyn to enjoy in this classic comedy. I was pleased to find that she is supported by a good cast and a very funny script, and the film on the whole is a real winner. There were several laugh out loud moments for me, and considering my young age and the fact this is a film from the 1950's I would say that's something pretty impressive. For me, though, the reason the film was great has to be Ms. Monroe. She is just simply stunning and elegant in this movie (A word her character very much likes to use!). She really captures the audiences heart as "The Girl" and it's not hard to see why Tom Ewell's character fell for her obvious charms - she is just a sheer delight in the film.
A sequence which I found totally hilarious was that in which Ewell's character imagines a variety of heated liaisons with various women in his life - all of them supposedly throwing themselves at him. The way in which he and the "women" deliver the lines - in a classic dead-pan fashion had me almost crying with laughter. Really hilarious stuff. And that's not even mentioning the glorious skirt-over-subway scene. This is a film to watch and fall in love with. You'll really enjoy it if you like Marilyn, you want to laugh, you're looking for a warm movie to just relax to and you're interested in cinema history and classic Hollywood. A great film for so many people - buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Theatre., 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seven Year Itch [DVD] (DVD)
I can sit back and watch this film time and time again. It is like being in a theatre watching a play on stage….Brilliant film…but then again you probably know that all ready...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seven Year Itch [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
Bough for an elderly relative to enalbe reminissing. Looks like they might just pass this on to me when finished with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quintessential Monroe at her dazzling pouting best. Fabulous., 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seven Year Itch [DVD] (DVD)
The famous picture of her dress being blown up her legs when standing over a street grating is heavily edited/censoriby the puritans of the US film industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Seven Year Itch, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved The Seven Year Itch

A great film - marvellous performance from Marilyn and the rest of the cast. His imaginings make it rather special. Definitely recommended to the nostalgia lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marilyn DVD, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seven Year Itch [DVD] (DVD)
DVD of Marilyn Munroe, arrived quickly, well packaged. Was gift for friend who was delighted with all the information on the DVD. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Seven Year Itch [DVD] [1955]
The Seven Year Itch [DVD] [1955] by Billy Wilder (DVD - 2012)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews