Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colourful, tuneful musical
This is ostensibly a biopic of the famous Dolly Sisters, 'icons of the jazz age'. I can't say how accurate it is, as I don't know anything about the Dolly Sisters. However, given that they were brunette, while Haver and Grable are blonde, I suspect it isn't terribly so.

However, as entertainment, it is superb. The leg-show is well done and tasteful, the...
Published on 2 Aug 2006 by Mr. Gtj Charmley

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars folly dolly
another hollywood biopic with this time betty grable and june haver in full on (and i mean FULL on )colour so at times you may need sun glasses!its fun with even a number with artistes dressed up as madam rouge,powder puff,mascara etc with little songs for each (i kid you not!)however its not busby berkely,fashions meant to be 1914 with shoulder pads (?)and impossibly...
Published on 30 July 2010 by R. Poole


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colourful, tuneful musical, 2 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. Gtj Charmley "gerardtjcharmley" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is ostensibly a biopic of the famous Dolly Sisters, 'icons of the jazz age'. I can't say how accurate it is, as I don't know anything about the Dolly Sisters. However, given that they were brunette, while Haver and Grable are blonde, I suspect it isn't terribly so.

However, as entertainment, it is superb. The leg-show is well done and tasteful, the costumes and acting superb. Yes, the plot is formulaic 'boy meets girl', albeit multiplied by two. John Payne plays his normal selfish rogue of an entertainer, while June Haver and Betty Grable are scrumptious in the title roles. The film was designed to show off Haver and Grable, and it suceeds in this. Although I'm reliably informed the two were at each other's throats off-screen, on screen, they make a most agreeable double-act and are believeable as sisters.

The print is excellent, and the DVD includes the film trailer and newsreel footage from the premiere. If you like Betty Grable or technicolour musicals, you'll love this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars folly dolly, 30 July 2010
By 
R. Poole "baby boomer" (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
another hollywood biopic with this time betty grable and june haver in full on (and i mean FULL on )colour so at times you may need sun glasses!its fun with even a number with artistes dressed up as madam rouge,powder puff,mascara etc with little songs for each (i kid you not!)however its not busby berkely,fashions meant to be 1914 with shoulder pads (?)and impossibly blonde hair but then cinema goers of the time were going to see this for fun and not historical reality so its just a nod to the facts.no surprise there then.not the best but its ok of its kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous Musical, 2 Dec 2014
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fox studio head, Darryl F. Zanuck, purchased John Kenyon Nicholson's story, 'The Dolly Sisters' as a vehicle for Betty Grable and Alice Faye. Unable to persuade Alice to make a comeback June Haver was cast in her place. The fictionalised account of the two Hungarian singing stars, Jenny and Rosie Dolly,(both brunettes), was turned into a box office success under Irving Cummings direction. A typical Fox musical with a fragile, predictable plot, it was a Technicolored turn-of-the century escapism romp full of glitzy showmanship. Several old and new numbers were used with the romance supplied by John Payne (Gable's choice) and Frank Latimore (Haver's man).

The costumes were stunning as were the performances of the blond leads. The two hit songs to emerge from the film were 'I Can't Begin To Tell You', by Mack Gordon and James V. Monaco (Oscar nominated), sung by Grable, Payne and Haver, and 'I'm Always Chasing Rainbows', based on a Chopin melody, sung by Grable. The support cast are admirable as are the rest of the songs and dance routines staged by Seymour Felix.

The film is wonderful, compulsive entertainment despite its biopic and period inaccuracies with a few kitschy scenes. Made in 1945 and lasting 83 minutes, they don't make them like this anymore, as the saying goes. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Dolly Sisters, 14 Sep 2011
By 
M. Hamilton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although this wasn't an authentic version of the lives of the Dolly Sisters, I enjoyed this DVD, which brought back many happy memories of forgotten music of the forties. Betty Grable and June Haver were in my opinion, well cast, although in real life the Dolly Sisters were not blond. This is a very enjoyable DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage classic, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased originally for my Mum and Dad but I have really enjoyed watching it with my Daughter, The story isn't anything special but Betty Grable and June Havers Hair and clothing is fabulous along with the rest of the cast a must see if you are a vintage lover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood at its best, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dolly Sisters [DVD] [1945] (DVD)
Great film, makes you feel nostalgic.
Hollywood at its best with great sets and costumes. Good feeling film, great for a wet Sunday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ok, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not what i thought it wuold be a bit boreing for me but watch it more than once so cany be that bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good musical with Betty Grable at her best along with her co-stars. I recommend this film if you enjoy musicals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old Memories, 22 May 2012
By 
Mrs. P. J. Usherwood "film buff" (kent,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must have seen this film over 50? years ago, but always liked Betty Grable. Have got Video's where she has a "Bit part, but thought I would like to have another. enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Old Fashioned Musical, 27 Jun 2010
By 
E. Jepson (Greasbrough South Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the good old fashioned movies of the 1940's, good songs, good acting, good story.

The picture quality is perfect, the colours brilliant, if you would like to wallow in nostalgia, I would highly recommend this movie.

Just one small quibble, I don't understand why the person who wrote the synopsis of the film on the package, says that the June Haver character is killed by a passing car, when in fact she is not involved in a car accident at all, she is alive and well when the film ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dolly Sisters [DVD] [1945]
The Dolly Sisters [DVD] [1945] by Irving Cummings (DVD - 2012)
£4.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews