Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Guilty Pleasure
This most fondly remembered film from the 1950's is romantic escapism at its finest and most frivolous. There are no deeper meanings here, just a beautiful and colorful dish of Rome garnished with three equally pleasing romantic stories. An attractive cast and an appropriately romantic score from the great Victor Young make this film based on John H. Secondari's popular...
Published on 15 May 2005 by starlighthotel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm just an old romantic
A woman's film, my husband fell asleep after about ten minutes but I enjoyed it although now it did seem a bit corny. I can remember watching this years ago - call me an old romantic but I think I am living on my memories!!!
Published 23 months ago by Anatomy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Guilty Pleasure, 15 May 2005
This most fondly remembered film from the 1950's is romantic escapism at its finest and most frivolous. There are no deeper meanings here, just a beautiful and colorful dish of Rome garnished with three equally pleasing romantic stories. An attractive cast and an appropriately romantic score from the great Victor Young make this film based on John H. Secondari's popular novel of the day a rousing success. Sinatra's fine rendition of the Jule Styne and Sammy Cahn title song doesn't hurt a bit either.
Dorothy McGuire, Jean Peters and Maggie McNamara are three secretaries who follow the tradition of throwing a coin over their shoulder into the beautiful fountains in Rome and making a wish. The wish is supposed to be about staying in Rome forever, but of course is really about finding love and staying in Rome forever.
Frances (McGuire) is in love with her boss John Shadwell (Clifton Webb), a famous writer who has been in romantic Rome many years, yet can't see what everyone else already knows. Anita (Jean Peters) is going back home to America in two weeks so breaks office rules when she accepts an invitation from Georgio (Rossano Brazzi) to the country for a weekend. And Maria (Maggie McNamara) is the new arrival, enraptured by the beauty of Rome and a playboy Prince (Louis Jourdan) she sets her sights on.
Nothing is rushed in Rome as one of the girls explains to newcomer Maria, and neither will this film be. Each story takes its time but the scenery is so beautiful you never get bored, not even for a moment. There are complications to each romance I'll refrain from revealing here, so there will at least be a few surprises awaiting you if you have not seen this before.
The film begins at the fountains in Rome and will end there, with the title song being sung by a chorus as everyone's romantic sory is sorted out in enjoyable fashion. Color was only good in musicals and escapist fare like this. Here the glorious technicolor should get star billing, as it holds our attention even during the more leisurely moments of the story.
If you don't want a heavy meal but like to go straight to the desert instead, you can't go wrong with this one. A great film to kill a couple of hours on a lazy Saturday afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars three gold coins, 14 Aug. 2012
By 
R. Poole "baby boomer" (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Coins in the Fountain [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
you can come to this from 2 angles...the absolutely gorgeous scenery or as a delicious rom com.You could just watch it for the stunning locations (suprisingly devoid of people)or just let the story gently enfold you.O.K its all very light,every body lives happily ever after and its very unrealistic but sometimes you need this sort of thing and this film delivers this in spades without getting sugary.I suppose its really what they used to call a "womans film" but who cares,the acting is first rate and its all in stunning colour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Coins in the Fountain, 6 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Coins in the Fountain [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite films from the 1950s. A lovely romantic story with the star of the film, the wonderful Trevi Fountain and Frank Sinatra singing the title song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned escapism, 7 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Coins in the Fountain [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
Filmed in Rome in the early 1950's, a simple story about well brought up and well dressed young American ladies finding True Love. Nothing terribly unusual - girls meet boys, lose boys and find boys again in time for final credits. What makes the film a joy are the shots of Rome, Venice and the Italian countryside at that time. Beautiful! The cities are uncrowded, and there is very little traffic in Rome (even less in Venice). According to those who remember it, traffic in Italy really was very sparse at that time. Escapist entertainment pure and simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but I loved it - the music, 22 Sept. 2014
By 
GERRY MCMENEMY (Argyll,Scotland.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Coins in the Fountain [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
I saw this film in the 1950's as a young boy. My aunts took me to the cinema one evening, probably to keep me out of mischief. I was only 10, but I loved it - the music, the actors, the gorgeous Rome locations and the storyline. I was delighted to discover that it is every bit as warm and romantic and entertaining today. I am still singing the theme song.
Gerry Mc Menemy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars three cions in a fountain, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Coins in the Fountain [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
good story happy with purchase well packed bought back memories of my visit to Italy and have watched it a few times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic service and product, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Coins in the Fountain [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
Thankyou for next day delivery I really enjoyed watching them which are great quality,they remind me of Romewhere I visited recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Coins in the Fountain [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
wife thoroughly enjoyed the nostalgia it brought back from visit in the past to see no crowds to have to avoid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Coins in the Fountain [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
It is nice to be able to find old films like this for a reasonable price not all about violence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3 coins in the fountain, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Coins in the Fountain [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
Lovely film, a bit dated but was lovely to see the scenery and ten go and visit Rome to inhale all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Three Coins in the Fountain [DVD] [1954]
Three Coins in the Fountain [DVD] [1954] by Jean Negulesco (DVD - 2012)
£4.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews