Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars26
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 December 2002
Summary: The finale to the greatest set of books ever written!
No matter your taste in books, this is definitely a must read, even if you have never read any other books by the author. He draws to close events that happened in The Keep, Reborn and Reprisal, and introduces old favourties from The Tomb and The Touch.
This is the grand finale to the ultimate battle of good versus evil, with the fate of humanity at hand.
Wilson writes through the perspective of his characters, showing their perspectives, and how events affect them, good or bad. You really get to know the characters, and can immediately empathise with them, and their challenging plight in trying to stop the ultimate bad guy!
I read this first, not realising that it was the last in a series of 6 books. It did not detract from the story, but made me want more. I've since become a huge fan.
If you like horror, fantasy and realism (the events, no matter how fantastic, are written in such a way, that you will think that they are actually happening); a gripping story and deep, varied characters, this is the book for you. Go now, read it!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2002
My first introduction to F. Paul Wilson, and the worlds of Repairman Jack, Glaeken and Rasalom was by happening across this masterpiece. Finding out that it was the last of a series of 6 books only made me want more. Every time I pick this up to read, I simply have to finish it.
Drawing together elements and characters from the first three novels in the series (The Keep, The Tomb and The Touch) and continuing from Reborna dn Reprisal, Nightworld is the dramatic finale of the ultimate battle: Rasalom, the agent of evil and the malign force, and Glaeken, the champion of humanity. Set in modern day New York, Wilson provides us with a tale of how the semmingly hopeless task of defeating a powerful, near omnipotent enemy can be achieved by a diverse set of characters and a lot of hope, and the belief of the greatest hero of them all, Glaeken.
Wilson's strengths lie in telling the story through the eyes of his characters. Each chapter concentrates on one or a few of the main players of the tale, showing us their feelings, hopes, experiences and weaknesses. You get to know the characters, and can empathise with them immediately. He can also make the fantastic appear very matter of fact, relaying the events as they unfold through the media. It is almost as if the story is really happening.
The pace picks up just when it needs to, especially just before the end, with each character having to desparately overcome several obstacles. Wilson's love of his characters is more than apparent, and they are certainly not 2 dimensional.
Flaws? When I find some, I'll let you know. But to get a true picture and taste of Nightworld, read the other books. The only other is that I want to spend hours discussing the book, but it is best experienced first hand. Why are you still here? GO, READ!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 July 2012
After reading all those Repairmen Jack novels and getting hooked on what has been a long-running, yet constantly engaging series - there has to be an end and this is it. For those who have followed the series, this does tie up the loose ends of all the minor characters - although many have already been killed off by now and this is of course, Jack's chance to wreak his final revenge for the loss of many friends.

It is possible now to see this as part II of The Dark at the End (Repairman Jack) - and so we have an extended and expanded version of the original "Adversary" series, that focuses more on Jack and his connection to everything. Finally we understand what place "Munroe" village has in the secret history, for example.

If you have followed the series and are hooked, then this book is gripping reading and in fact, almost compulsory reading. Anybody else is best warned off and pointed to an earlier point in the timeline. The atmosphere here is bleak and hopeless - the outlook for every character is totally depressing. But what Wilson explores is how we all find meaning and the will to go on, when we know there is no realistic hope. What is it about human beings that keeps them going and keeps them optimistic?

For some of the characters it is other people who keep them going - but inevitably for some, they have to find the strength within themselves and that is the main dynamic running through the action in this part of the story. We get some really horrific scenes and the descriptions of a Lovecraft-like dystopia will probably be the most obvious characterisation. But in a way, this is more like Michael Moorcock's idea of chaos and law acting out across the multiverse.

As human beings we are beset by the vagaries of a chaotic world and we have to find our own order in a universe that gives up no clues as to meaning. What is more noticable in this revised version of events, is the idea of God and the Heavens abandoning us. We are here in a world, where it's just us against the chaos and futility. Bill is the main character who has lost his faith, but throughout this book, all of them realise that they are on their own and have to find a solution within themselves and cannot rely on support from elsewhere.

In summary, fans will find more of what they have already enjoyed about this series and will be happy with the extended explanations and integration of Jack and his family within the final conflict. Of course there are going to be more and we already see prequels like Cold City (Repairman Jack) on the horizon - but this is a satisfying conclusion.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2012
< This is a review of the revised and expanded version of `Nightworld' published by F. Paul Wilson in 2012, although some of the comments are relevant to the earlier (circa. 1992) version of this novel. >

`Nightworld' is where it all ends. What began with `The Keep' and was continued through a number (one could almost say innumerable) `Repairman Jack' novels is tied up and finished in this novel. In it we say goodbye to a number of favourite characters (both good and bad) and some which should never have been allowed into print. It's a good novel, but a novel of two-halves.

On the plus side this is a fine end to the Adversary Cycle/ Secret History of the World Cycle which has taken up the more recent Repairman Jack novels (inc. the Young Repairman Jack novels). Praise where praise is due, the sheer readability of these novels has kept me returning to F. Paul Wilson year-on-year, as a new novel in the sequence is published.

As in all good horror novels the characters aren't too overdeveloped* (we never get a look into the inner lives of most of them), rather the novel is events driven, yet they have become well known to us over the past few years. It also has Rasalom (aka. The Adversary, Sara Lom, Rafe Losmara, Sal Roma: the possibilities are endless - let the reader understand), perhaps one of the most ridiculously bad baddies in recent years. It is the perfect read for a long journey home. The ideas are also interesting: Chaos/ Gravity Holes, airborne Leviathans, creates from the chaos realms etc. There is also Wilson's ability to understand and write about society on the edge, of what humanity might be like were the rules of society suddenly to disappear, though one cannot help but think that this has more to do with his right wing political philosophy (Libertarianism) than it is necessarily to do with his creative spark.

On the negative side: What F. Paul Wilson has never done well and which hasn't been improved in the rewrite is the twee nature of Jeffy and the Gia/ Vicky relationship. In what should be the darkest of horror novels, charting the end of civilisation as we know it, these two bring light and insufferable childish niceness so that when they appear, my heart immediately sinks. Whilst the latter is (unfortunately) integral to the plot, I do wish the former had remained a thought in Wilson's head or had been edited out at an earlier stage in the cycle.

There is also the problem of the constant and often near indecipherable Americanisms which litter the text - yes Wilson is an American author, but American authors seem to get stuck on Americanism which makes their novels appear provincial to those who live on the other side of the Atlantic and thus who don't share their product driven society. I appreciate that Wilson is an American author, but at times it seems that the novel is being used one longer commercial break, so constant is the product placement. (I don't care what brand of "beer" Jack drinks, or that he uses a Glock as opposed to a H&K or a Smith and Wesson; such information is superfluous and detracts from the text. English, even American English, is a versatile language, it does not need to limited to popular brand names.) The use of Yiddish idioms by Abe Grossman is, however, more understandable, it fits within his character framework, rather like a Englishman in foreign climes this tendency has become more and more pronounced as the novels progress. What it does mean though, is that if someone does not understand the American/ New Yorker idiom, it can be very difficult to understand exactly what it being said.

Finally, too much time has been wasted finding places for earlier characters from the Repairman Jack/ Adversary cycle, characters whose presence add little/ nothing to the text other than to have a walk-on part, these characters seem to have been included merely to remind us of his earlier work (and perhaps to encourage us to re-read them). One has to wonder if it is an attempt to get us to go back and read his back catalogue, in a similar way to that of `Repairman Jack: By the Sword' was an attempt to re-launch his earlier novel `Black Wind'.

Does the world need a new and expanded version of `Nightworld'? Yes and no. YES, because it updates the novel to bring it into line with the recent Repairman Jack/ Secret History of the World corpus. This series of novels have taken the story well beyond the scope of the 1992: there are new characters, Rasalom has been explored and expanded as the role of Jack. It also reassigns parts of the story to other (newer) characters, whilst others find themselves pretty much written out of the text.

NO, because the novel does not go far enough in some ways. It is too much an expansion of the 1992 novel, it retains too much of the original and it doesn't extend the novel so much as expand it - all that takes place, takes place within the scope of the original novel. One can't help but think that if Wilson had taken the opportunity to rethink and rewrite the novel a much better novel would have emerged from this process. What we get is a larger (sometimes bloated) version of the original - Abe Grossman would no doubt be proud!

In spite of my criticisms on style Wilson remains one of my favourite writers, one to whom I can return again and again.

Coda: Naturally you are not going to begin reading F. Paul Wilson's work with this novel. If you are new to it (and this review hasn't put you off) then start with `The Keep' and go from there, you won't be disappointed.

* 'Dracula' is perhaps one of the most famous and most read horror novels in history, yet in terms of literature it is very badly written, with little or no character development, yet it remains one of the most important and most read books in its genre.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
An inventive, nerve wracking apocalyptic horror. Let down a little by too many characters and too little Repairman Jack.

The Good:
Lovecraftian horrific monsters. Compelling terror. Jack good in a tight corner. Very good shoehorning overall of too many characters. A number of naive bad guys meet an appropriately gruesome death... sadly, but fair, some of the good guys meet a grim death also. Many dramatic fight scenes. The end of the world was very inventive.

The OK:
Sometimes the shoehorning of the characters doesn't quite work. The Hawaiian sidestory takes Jack away for too long, and is too much of a distraction from the mega events taking place elsewhere. Rasalom's conversation seemed a bit trite for a world ending entity. What was he going to do when everybody had been eaten? Could have done with more world collapsing scenes, and the authorities attempts to restrain the bad things. Humanity rolls over a little easier than it would.

The weak:
Both Gia and Sylvia in particular (shame she wasn't eaten) betray a level of stubborness that is in fact out right stupidity in the face of the evidence. It felt jarring. The heroes were too passive for too long. This was true in the last two Repairman Jack novels. It was clear Rasalom should have been taken on much earlier, Glaeken's passivity was never fully explained. The sing a happy song bit at the end... hmm would have left it out. Finally (and perhaps most importantly), plotline dropped, there was lots of evidence in previous novels that some force was affecting Jack, that he was the Heir... all that been suddenly dropped made no sense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 March 2011
This essential conclusion to the adversary cycle, starts off brilliantly with the re-introduction of all the main characters from the earlier books and the beginning of the breakdown of the world we know as the days start to become rapidly shorter for no apparent astronomical reason and ferocious creatures are unleashed from huge holes in the ground at night. The story develops into a series of parallel quests as the group tries to re-trieve the elements required to re-forge the sword from "The Keep". It's a good conclusion to the books but does not quite live up to most of its predecessors. In fact after Reborn it's probably the weakest book of the six. The arrival and concept of Nightworld is superbly handled but the conclusion is rather predictable and left me wanting something more.

Note that FPW has now essentially re-told the adversary cycle plot from the perspective of his most popular character Repairman Jack who was introduced in "The Tomb". This series of books are generally more entertaining and lighter in tone (due mostly to Jack's colourful personality and his ability to always keep control) and now appear to be changing the plot considerably from the original story. For this reason this book will soon be re-released with major revisions. I'll certainly be getting the new version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
I've thoroughly enjoyed this series of books. The storyline expands from book to book and it is important to read them in chronological order. Repairman Jack is a great character with obvious flaws but this makes for a very realistic person. His love for 2 people shines through and keeps him sane in some very trying ordeals. The rest of the characters are well thought out and the books end in a great finale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
long awaited, as I had read all but the last 2 books in a continuous orgy of repairman jack over 2 weeks. The final chapters left as much unsaid as they tied up loose ends. I was left wondering, " What happened to Rasalom after........." and other characters seemed to just "hang" at the end.

I enjoyed the book but felt that it could have been a bigger book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2016
I read Nightworld when it was first published years ago but really can't remember much about it. Having read all the other books in the series I had to get this updated version which I enjoyed. It's fast paced, barking, but easy to read. I now move on to the 3 volume in between series which I believe will be the last we see of Repairman Jack. It's been a good ride.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
I read the series in mostly the proper order. Along as the reborn and reprisal then night world get read in that order at the end then you will get the story though there was a few things like the Lady character that I haven't came across but I will get round to reading the repairman series in time and will fill in the blank spots.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.