Customer Reviews


3,278 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,402)
4 star:
 (1,232)
3 star:
 (464)
2 star:
 (122)
1 star:
 (58)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gripping Story with Many Twists & Turns
"Safe House" - 2 flash comments on the front cover refer to this book as ' . . . . a dark, absorbing thriller...' and ' ... an exciting well crafted thriller...' These comments could not be more apt. It is a brilliant book, it really is. The sort of story that would translate well to the small screen in similar vein to "Broadchurch".

I hate...
Published 1 month ago by Chris in Hampshire

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is that it?
I bought this book on the basis of the multitude of good reviews and it started off well, setting up the characters and relationships up well. Unfortunately the climax never arrived and the ensuing drama didn't seem related to the build-up.

Reasonable for the price paid but didn't live up to the early promise.
Published on 25 Feb. 2013 by James Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2328 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gripping Story with Many Twists & Turns, 24 Jan. 2015
By 
Chris in Hampshire "Mrs C" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Kindle Edition)
"Safe House" - 2 flash comments on the front cover refer to this book as ' . . . . a dark, absorbing thriller...' and ' ... an exciting well crafted thriller...' These comments could not be more apt. It is a brilliant book, it really is. The sort of story that would translate well to the small screen in similar vein to "Broadchurch".

I hate books that take me a long while to get into. I like to be drawn in at the first chapter and this story does just that.

The story is set on the Isle of Man, the home of the TT Races. Rob Hale (1 of the main characters) is in hospital. He has had a motor bike accident and lost consciousness. Rob has been out for hours and now wakes for the second time, to see a young lady doctor studying his chart. As well as concussion, Rob had sustained a fracture to his left shoulder, bruised ribs, minor abrasions to his left side and bruising on his leg. Although barely awake, Rob wanted to know how Lena was, his friend that had been taken in the 1st ambulance according to the facial haired paramedic. He told Rob that she had been hurt worse and had to be taken first.

No one seems to know about Lena!

Dr Stanley comes to see Rob and warns him about the side effects of his accident and loss of consciousness - headache, dizziness, nausea and confused thinking! Rob again asks about Lena telling Dr Stanley that she had been taken in the 1st ambulance. There was only one ambulance and only one person found at the scene of the accident - Rob Hale, Dr Stanley confirms.

The story goes on with police interviews, Rob's parents visiting him and the journey he undertakes to find out what happened. Along the way we meet Rebecca Lewis a Private Investigator from London. We learn of Laura, Rob's deceased sister and we go to the safe house - but is it really safe?

All through you will keep thinking you know what is going on, that you know what the mystery of it all is, that you know how it is going to end. How wrong will you be? As you follow all the twists and turns and dead ends I think you will be surprised at the end!

An excellent book, a real pager turner and a story that you will remember. Enjoy your read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


197 of 208 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fast paced, thrill ride of a novel!, 2 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Safe House (Hardcover)
Best known for his 'Good Thief's Guide To...' series of comedy/crime novels, Chris Ewan turns his hand to the more serious end of crime fiction with his newest novel, 'Safe House'.

Rob Hale is a plumber on the Isle of Man, called out to repair a boiler in a remote cottage by two mysterious looking men, and a more talkative young woman named Lena. The next day, he takes Lena on a motorcycle ride, which ends in a crash. Waking up in hospital, Rob asks about the woman travelling with him, only to be told she doesn't exist. Rob is discharged from hospital, intent on finding out who the woman was, and how she disappeared. He is aided by Rebecca, a private investigator hired by Rob's parents to look into the suicide of his sister, just weeks previous. However, as they follow the clues and begin to uncover the mystery, Rob starts to wonder who Rebecca is really, and how she knew his sister.

As a huge fan of his earlier work, this change in direction and genre from Chris Ewan immediately piqued my interest. Would a writer more well known for his humorous comedy crime capers, be able to tackle a serious thriller?

Of course he would!

What Ewan accomplishes with his first foray into the world of thriller writing, is nothing short of remarkable. Safe House begins with a great hook...what would you do if you woke up in hospital after an accident, and everyone around you denied the existence of the person you were travelling with?

From there, Safe House travels at high speed throughout. It's a breathless, exciting read, which had me turning the page well into the late nights. That initial hook takes you on a journey into action thriller territory, which is up there with the best writing in the genre.

Ewan also hasn't lost that humorous edge which came with his previous series of books. There are some fantastic dead-pan lines delivered by Rob, but Ewan saves his best work for the character of Rebecca. An incredibly sardonic and tough female character.

You know...tough is the wrong word to use here.

The character of Rebecca is an example of something sadly missing from this genre in some instances. A female character from the pen (or keystroke) of a male writer, which isn't over-thought out. Ewan gives the impression he's created her as he would any other character, giving her aspects of personality which would fit within any other character. In other instances, the opposite can sometimes be true, so this was a refreshing read. I dearly hope this character isn't left behind...

An exciting start, to what promises to be an excellent addition to the genre of thriller reads, Ewan has with Safe House created a fast-paced, excellently written, and superbly plotted novel. With characters which burst off the page from the start, and a new setting in the Isle of Man which I cannot wait to see explored further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 10 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Kindle Edition)
Fast paced thoroughly engrossing thriller with lots of twists and turns. Compulsive reading could not put this down but did not want it to end. First book by this author I have read and will definitely be looking for more by him.
Anyone who enjoys a good entertaining thriller should this book, more please and soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 100 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 17 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Safe House (Kindle Edition)
I only purchased this book, because it was in the 20p section and didn't really know what to expect. It has only taken me 3 sittings to read it. As although in places it seems really far fetched, it all becomes clear at the end. Easy to read!! Anyone who is interested in crime or detective novels this is a book for you. I would have gladly paid more--
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Safe house, 21 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Kindle Edition)
Gripping novel and believable characters ,was hard to put down, beware work will suffer reading this. Well worth the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is that it?, 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book on the basis of the multitude of good reviews and it started off well, setting up the characters and relationships up well. Unfortunately the climax never arrived and the ensuing drama didn't seem related to the build-up.

Reasonable for the price paid but didn't live up to the early promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!, 25 Jan. 2013
By 
E. Lodge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Kindle Edition)
I was looking for something new to read when I came across this one! I am so pleased I did. I LOVED the characters and the plot, which had some good twists and surprises. I didn't find the ending to be predictable. I will be purchasing more by Chris Ewan. I really enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor, 27 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Safe House (Paperback)
I really wanted to like this book. I am always eager to try a new Author, if only as an excuse to start collecting another load of books. I can say however that Mr Ewan's books will not be amongst my collection.

The plot is very convoluted and the execution is so one dimensional that the book lacks any atmosphere or feeling of tension. I felt no empathy toward any of the characters, all of whom were under developed. The type of genre and the storyline should have had the reader on the edge of their seat. I found the further I progressed the more unbelievable the plot became and the slower the pace, a bit like watching paint dry.

I gave up two thirds of the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 21 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book and it kept my interest throughout. The plot was well thought out and well written. The characters were also believable. Just about the right length as well. An excellent read. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Safe Bet, 12 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Hardcover)
Downloaded on a whim more than anything. Saw there were a lot of good reviews (though that's not always a guarantee). Cracking read from start to finish. Only criticism is one of style. I struggle to "get" how a book can be divided between first and second person. I know James Patterson does it regularly, and he's obviously doing something right, but it still jars when I read it. The only author I can recall doing it in a way that seemed acceptable was Harold Robbins, but he would split the first and third person narrative between different parts, so there was a clear dividing line. That aside, enjoyed the pace of the novel, the way the explanation unfolded gradually, still leaving you in the dark until close to the end. Well worth reading. Expect the price to rise very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2328 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Safe House
Safe House by Chris Ewan
£4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews