Customer Reviews


3,191 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,355)
4 star:
 (1,213)
3 star:
 (450)
2 star:
 (116)
1 star:
 (57)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


189 of 200 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fast paced, thrill ride of a novel!
Best known for his 'Good Thief's Guide To...' series of comedy/crime novels, Chris Ewan turns his hand to the more serious end of crime fiction with his newest novel, 'Safe House'.

Rob Hale is a plumber on the Isle of Man, called out to repair a boiler in a remote cottage by two mysterious looking men, and a more talkative young woman named Lena. The next day,...
Published on 2 Aug 2012 by Luca Veste

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is that it?
I bought this book on the basis of the multitude of good reviews and it started off well, setting up the characters and relationships up well. Unfortunately the climax never arrived and the ensuing drama didn't seem related to the build-up.

Reasonable for the price paid but didn't live up to the early promise.
Published 20 months ago by James Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

189 of 200 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fast paced, thrill ride of a novel!, 2 Aug 2012
This review is from: Safe House (Hardcover)
Best known for his 'Good Thief's Guide To...' series of comedy/crime novels, Chris Ewan turns his hand to the more serious end of crime fiction with his newest novel, 'Safe House'.

Rob Hale is a plumber on the Isle of Man, called out to repair a boiler in a remote cottage by two mysterious looking men, and a more talkative young woman named Lena. The next day, he takes Lena on a motorcycle ride, which ends in a crash. Waking up in hospital, Rob asks about the woman travelling with him, only to be told she doesn't exist. Rob is discharged from hospital, intent on finding out who the woman was, and how she disappeared. He is aided by Rebecca, a private investigator hired by Rob's parents to look into the suicide of his sister, just weeks previous. However, as they follow the clues and begin to uncover the mystery, Rob starts to wonder who Rebecca is really, and how she knew his sister.

As a huge fan of his earlier work, this change in direction and genre from Chris Ewan immediately piqued my interest. Would a writer more well known for his humorous comedy crime capers, be able to tackle a serious thriller?

Of course he would!

What Ewan accomplishes with his first foray into the world of thriller writing, is nothing short of remarkable. Safe House begins with a great hook...what would you do if you woke up in hospital after an accident, and everyone around you denied the existence of the person you were travelling with?

From there, Safe House travels at high speed throughout. It's a breathless, exciting read, which had me turning the page well into the late nights. That initial hook takes you on a journey into action thriller territory, which is up there with the best writing in the genre.

Ewan also hasn't lost that humorous edge which came with his previous series of books. There are some fantastic dead-pan lines delivered by Rob, but Ewan saves his best work for the character of Rebecca. An incredibly sardonic and tough female character.

You know...tough is the wrong word to use here.

The character of Rebecca is an example of something sadly missing from this genre in some instances. A female character from the pen (or keystroke) of a male writer, which isn't over-thought out. Ewan gives the impression he's created her as he would any other character, giving her aspects of personality which would fit within any other character. In other instances, the opposite can sometimes be true, so this was a refreshing read. I dearly hope this character isn't left behind...

An exciting start, to what promises to be an excellent addition to the genre of thriller reads, Ewan has with Safe House created a fast-paced, excellently written, and superbly plotted novel. With characters which burst off the page from the start, and a new setting in the Isle of Man which I cannot wait to see explored further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 10 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Kindle Edition)
Fast paced thoroughly engrossing thriller with lots of twists and turns. Compulsive reading could not put this down but did not want it to end. First book by this author I have read and will definitely be looking for more by him.
Anyone who enjoys a good entertaining thriller should this book, more please and soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 17 Dec 2012
This review is from: Safe House (Kindle Edition)
I only purchased this book, because it was in the 20p section and didn't really know what to expect. It has only taken me 3 sittings to read it. As although in places it seems really far fetched, it all becomes clear at the end. Easy to read!! Anyone who is interested in crime or detective novels this is a book for you. I would have gladly paid more--
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Safe house, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Kindle Edition)
Gripping novel and believable characters ,was hard to put down, beware work will suffer reading this. Well worth the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is that it?, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book on the basis of the multitude of good reviews and it started off well, setting up the characters and relationships up well. Unfortunately the climax never arrived and the ensuing drama didn't seem related to the build-up.

Reasonable for the price paid but didn't live up to the early promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just Ok, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Kindle Edition)
I finished this book so must have been OK but having read several more books since have already forgotten the storyline of this book. Not very memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!, 25 Jan 2013
By 
E. Lodge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Kindle Edition)
I was looking for something new to read when I came across this one! I am so pleased I did. I LOVED the characters and the plot, which had some good twists and surprises. I didn't find the ending to be predictable. I will be purchasing more by Chris Ewan. I really enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Kindle Edition)
Twists and turns in every chapter, this was a fabulous read. I was on the edge of my seat until the last page was turned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Kindle Edition)
Started reading this as it was already loaded onto my Dad's iPad, and needed to kill some time! Could not put it down! Really enjoyed it! Looking forward to reading another Chris Ewan book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kept in suspense. A very good read., 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safe House (Kindle Edition)
I like Chris Ewan's style of writing. It kept my attention all the way through. I would read more of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Safe House
Safe House by Chris Ewan
£3.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews