Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wings flying high!
This is a superb follow up to the much heralded 'Band on the Run' and features the best Wings line up of Paul, Linda, Denny Laine, Jimmy McCulloch and Joe English. The album, full of rich melodies, rockets to life with Venus and Mars and then into Rock Show which captures the excitement of going to a concert in the 70s. Love in Song is a beautiful McCartney song, good...
Published on 18 Aug. 2007 by Donny Rob

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Venus & Mars is alright tonight
If following Band On The Run up was a daunting task, it certainly doesn't translate on listening to this album. Recorded in New Orleans, there is a certain spirit to many of the songs that was obviously inspired by their surroundings (just as Band On The Run had been inspired by Lagos).
This to my eyes was simply an album made to give wings some quality filler to...
Published on 20 April 2003 by crozzauk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wings flying high!, 18 Aug. 2007
By 
Donny Rob (Doncaster, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Venus And Mars (Audio CD)
This is a superb follow up to the much heralded 'Band on the Run' and features the best Wings line up of Paul, Linda, Denny Laine, Jimmy McCulloch and Joe English. The album, full of rich melodies, rockets to life with Venus and Mars and then into Rock Show which captures the excitement of going to a concert in the 70s. Love in Song is a beautiful McCartney song, good enough to appear on any Beatles album. We then have a follow up to The Beatles' Honey Pie in the form of You Gave Me the Answer - a fond look back at the dancebands of the 20s and 30s. Magneto and Titanium Man is an action packed track, inspired by Marvels comics.

The album continues with great numbers, including a vocal by Jimmy McCulloch on Medicine Jar. Listen To What The Man Said hits the heights as a classic 70s pop song and this classic Wings set closes with a knock out version of the Crossroads theme, which was used to close the TV programme to heighten the drama.

Venus and Mars are alright and Wings are too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Venus and Mars - Uplifting, 25 Feb. 2011
By 
Glenn Kitteridge "Glenn K" (Cheshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Venus And Mars (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to see the 1975 World Tour rehearsals at Elstree Studios . This album was out that summer and although they played quite a few career spanning tracks, including some Beatles tracks , "Venus and Mars " was the BIG FEATURE .
I saw them at Hammersmith Odeon, twice , and the minute Paul sat on stage playing his acoustic to Venus and Mars everyone was enthralled ! A real live Beatle and a good band , now with Jimmy McCullough and Joe English joining Linda and Denny and Paul .
Rock Show on the album is longer than the one heard on the radio as a single edit , none the worse for that as it blasts out ! I loved " Love In Song" with its 12 string and "Back to the Home Land " lyrics. This is a beautiful and timeless piece of music. "Letting Go " , I love , the brother of " Let Me Roll It " from Band On the Run , good lyrics .
Other highlights , " Medicine Jar" by Jimmy McCullough, great rock track with a good vocal from Jimmy , those lovely Paul and Linda backing vocals that are so under rated , and blistering guitar from Jimmy . What a shame Jimmy ended up dead four later at such a young age , how did that happen ?
"Listen to What The Man Said" most people will know, perfect single for the sunny summer of 1975 , "Soldier Boy . kisses girl " people criticise Pauls lyrics sometimes, but there is a touch that gets you .
" Treat Her Kind / Lonely Old People " great melody , brave song , it wasn't hip to sing about old people in 1975.
"You Never Give Me The Answer " , sort of 30's pastiche (prabably for his Dad) , is a cousen of "Honey Pie " from the White album , not my taste . " Magneto and Titanium Man " had the big comic backdrops on the Concert Tour, commercial and unusual, proving Paul could write about anything, not to everyones taste though. Denny sang "Spirits of Ancient Egypt" , which I always wanted to like , but never quite gets there."Call Me Back Again " with Paul showing off on vocals , but quite a weak track really .
Finished by "Cross Roads" after the Lonely Only People medley , then the immortal line "Nice Bass Player"
After Band On the Run " there was a feeling of anti climax from some people. But its upbeat , full of great hooks and melodies, great vocals as always, so well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RED LIGHTS GREEN LIGHTS AHEAD FOR WINGS, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venus and Mars [VINYL] (Vinyl)
i just love this album, first released in may 1975 and i remember it so well and i bought the album early 1976 along with the 7" single LISTEN TO WHAT THE MAN SAID , which was issued with a picture sleeve.
from the very first time i placed the album on my turntable i was totally hooked and played it constantly until it wore out,
then a few years ago i purchased the album once again from EBAY , and it is a first pressing with all inserts included (2 stickers 2 posters) and i was hooked once again but i have taken much more care of it these days.
so now when i found out that the album was to be given the remastered treatment from the Paul McCartney Archive Collection
i placed my purchase by pre-order with amazon as soon as it was listed for the 2 L.P. edition and of course i am delighted with it the sound is so much more superior from this remaster it is incredible and there are some sections i really can"t remember hearing before, the vocals on this album is much clearer and so enjoyable to listen to.
the original release of the album was released before the fantastic wings over america triple album and paved the way for the 1976 tour of america..so without VENUS AND MARS , i do not think the tour in america would have been as successful .
great album, brilliant sound quality and 180 gram vinyl....what more can you ask for, EXCELLENT ALBUM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Album, 4 May 2004
By 
Mr. J. A. Smith "thetoot" (Blackwell) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Venus And Mars (Audio CD)
What a wonderful album this is. From the twinkling, tingling opening of the title track we move into the fantastically exuberant Rock Show and any worries you might have instantly melt away.
Already you're hooked.
The thoughtful Love in Song 'My heart cries out for love and all that goes with loving' is spookily realised through synths and water-bird trumpets, slowly grinding its melody through a vast landscape of sound. It is a track that grows with further listening but that, despite its melody, points to the difference between this album and Band on the Run. The darkness and vastness, the more-mature sound and floating melodies of Venus and Mars to me equate to a dreamy star-filled night, spread outside your bedroom window. Band on the Run is beautiful, but never as defined in its motive (This is possibly why it is also the more accesible, popular album. It can be moulded better to your own imagination. Venus and Mars presents its cosmic-blend and your mind is set off into its spacey blackness. Though there is room for movement, it is movement primarily within this intergalactic world).
You Gave me the Answer is music-hall kitch, but sweetly honest too, even in its parody, and Magneto and Titanium Man is just great. Brilliant. It sounds so fresh now that I can imagine if it was re-released, with some kind of funky comic-cartoon video, it would be a great hit.
Letting go is grinding, guitar rock, and beats down your stereo with a mallet whilst Spirits of Ancient Egypt is another funky, slightly hazey track.
I love Medicine Jar too. Often dismissed because it isn't by McCartney, and because Venus and Mars is only usually bought by McCartney fans (Rather than, say, the general music fan), it is a stonker. A great stomping rhythmn and some great imagery.
Call me back again is an echoey stadium track, McCartney on great form vocally, and rises and rises into a great singalong grandness.
Listen to what the man said, everyone knows, and is the most poppy of any of the tracks here.
Treat her gently is sweet and melodic (Though maybe a little patronising for the elderly, of which Sir Paul is kind of one now though not so lonely) and Crossroads theme grinds us to a halt.
Overall a great album. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another extraordinary japanese item, 11 Aug. 2001
This review is from: Venus & Mars (Audio CD)
This album (the following-up to the best seller "Band on the run", published in 1973) is, probably, one of the most important collection of songs ever composed. Take a look at numbers such as "Rock show", "Magneto and Titanium man" "Spirits of ancient Egypt" or the superb ballad "Lonely old people". Pure McCartney. But not only the music was great. The original gatefold vinyl, designed by HIPGNOSIS in 1975 (the same year of Pink Floyd's WISH YOU WERE HERE) included two posters, an inner sleeve, a sticker in the cover, and a beautiful marker for books. Well, ALL THAT PRECIOUS EXTRAS are included (perfectly reduced to the CD shape) in this special japanese edition. Even the CD itself represents the original vinyl label... So, a splendid time is guaranteed for all the buyers of this japanese import edition of one of the greatest albums of the 70's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'Venus and Mars are alright tonight!', 5 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Venus And Mars (Audio CD)
The latest Paul McCartney Archive remaster of 'Venus and Mars' (1975), the follow-up to the runaway success of 1973's 'Band On the Run' is well worth the money. The book and inner sleeve packaging are classy and the level of photographic detail is also excellent. The remastering is sharp and clean yet warm and discrete unlike many remasters which suffer from excessive noise saturation.

All in all, 'Venus and Mars' is a highly enjoyable product and is marked by a sense of cohesion and consistency. This is a 'good' album; certainly one of Wings' best. However, it is not a great album (unlike the near-great 'Band on the Run' or 'Flaming Pie') due to McCartney's characteristic pot-addled lyrical banality during the 1970s and which continued into the 1980s. 'You can take a pound of love and cook it in the stew...' from the otherwise musically engaging 'Spirits of Ancient Egypt' is a clear example of this. And yet despite the lyrical shortcomings and the sense that McCartney doesn't really have all that much to say the music throughout is varied and workman-like with scarcely a duff track in earshot. The production is imaginative and prog-inflected - reflected by the song suite/tenuous concept theme. One gets the clear sense here that McCartney was possibly attempting to emulate Pink Floyd's output of 1973-1975. The guitar figure in 'Love In Song' even sounds vaguely like that of 'Shine On You Crazy Diamond' which was released several months after 'Venus and Mars'. The album design also reflects this and was done by Hipgnosis and George Hardie who designed the covers of Floyd's 'Dark Side of the Moon' and 'Wish You Were Here.'

My personal favourites are the slow, sensual, New Orleans groove of 'Letting Go' - which sounds a little like the Average White Band's 'Pick Up the Pieces'; 'Venus and Mars/Rock Show' . Possibly the best track on the album is 'Call Me Back Again' - a Southern Rock successor to 'Oh! Darling' from The Beatles' Abbey Road. Allegedly the song was intended as a coded message to John Lennon with a nod at a potential Beatles reunion - briefly on the cards in 1974 during John's 'Lost Weekend' separation from Yoko. As for pure nostalgia I even like 'Crossroads Theme' and 'You Gave Me the Answer' a 1920s pastiche which picks up where 'Honey Pie' from the 'White Album' left off.

So in all in all well-worth a listen. As for the bonus CD the first four tracks are wonderful: 'Junior's Farm,' 'Country Hams' 'Bridge Over the River Suite' and 'Sally G'. Otherwise give the other tracks a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars McCartneys planets of sound, 13 Oct. 2007
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Venus And Mars (Audio CD)
Venus And Mars is the fourth album Wings released and followed up the critically acclaimed and massively successful "Band On The Run" . Recorded in New Orleans the recording sessions saw the band expand from a three piece to a five piece with the addition of Jimmy McCulloch on lead guitar and Geoff Britton on drums .These two didn't get along though and their enmity led to Britton quitting halfway through the recording having only contributed to three songs . He was replaced by American Joe English so the album could be finished which of course it was , being released on May 27th 1975.
It received a mixed critical reception but some of that was undoubtedly backlash after the lauded "Band On The Run". Venus And Mars , like anything McCartney had a hand in post Beatles nowhere near qualifies as innovative or even especially diverse but it does contain some superb pop/rock songs . First single off the album the sprightly and hugely whistle-ble "Listen To What The Man Said" is exactly the sort of melodious monstrously enjoyable fare McCartney has always excelled at .You can quall at his over-matey manner and his irritating constant use of the Victory sign but he can write tremendous songs. Which makes awful awkward rawk fare as errr "Rock Song" even more baffling. Especially as it's book ended with the fragile, lovely but curt title track and the gossamer light "Love In Song". No word will do to describe "Magneto And Titanium Man" but bouncy , maybe effervescent , a fact that will alienate many but it's another peerless emollient McCartney moment. As is "You Gave Me The Answer" which even with its quaint vaudevillian air is superlatively melodious and enjoyable.
The album does have some variety too with the bluesy brassy strains of "Letting Go " , the jerky rhythms and spectral keyboards of "Spirits Of Ancient Egypt" ( Sung by Denny Laine) up against the distorted wha wha boogie of "Medicine Jar" ( written by Jimmy McCulloch and Colin Allen with vocals by McCulloch) and the New Orleans influenced swamp blues of "Call Me Back Again". Best of all is the way that "Listen To What The Man Said" segues into the divine ballad "Treat Her Gently (Lonely Old People)"a song which showcases McCartney's under rated vocals . Maybe too sentimental for some I suppose but the melody is just exquisite .
I think its safe to ignore the closing "Crossroads Theme" and the extra track s recorded at the same sessions and used as B-sides are two forgettable instrumentals -"Zoo Gang"(B side to "Band On The Run") and "Lunch Box/Odd Sox" ( B-side to "Coming Up" in 1980 with another track whose name escapes me) ."My Carnival " B -side to "Spies Like Us" in 1985 is more interesting , a typically up-beat and vibrant song but with an off the cuff live feel.
Along with the oft mentioned "Band On the Run" , "McCartney 2" and "Tug Of War" this is my favourite post Beatle McCartney album .A confident classy collection of pop and rock with just enough stylistic and assimilated verve to stop it getting stale or too cloying. Watching him on TV sometimes you want to slap him , or at least I do, but I repeat he writes tremendous songs. And for that I'd forgive him just about anything .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Underated, 4 Sept. 2000
This review is from: Venus And Mars (Audio CD)
Evertone seems to slate everything Paul McCartney did post-Beatles. Why? It seems the people who do this have probably not listened to his solo and Wings stuff much. This album, along with Band On The Run, Ram, and McCartney prove them wrong. Ok, It's not as good as Band On The Run (not many albums are), however, a lot of the tracks would not be out of place on Beatles albums. For example, 'You Gave Me The Answer', although not the strongest of the album's songs, would not be out of place on the White Album (neither would Ram's "Heart of The Country"); While "Call Me Back Again" would fit into Abbey Road or Let It Be. Other stand-out tracks which are pure McCartney are Venus and Mars (although the Reprise is a bit annoying), the fantastic "Rock Show" and the joyous "Magneto and Titanium Man". If one considers the aim of this album, like most of McCartney's music, which is to produce good fun, enjoyable music it succeeds. It does not try to be profound or clever and fail like some of Lennon's music from the time, and like McCartney's role in the Beatles it is good, lighthearted pop music. If one takes a classical music cross-reference, McCartney is rather like Shostakovich - producing music that was rarely ground-breaking, but that is not to its detriment, as this album is a credit to McCartney. Fortunately nowadays McCartney's post-Beatles music is beginning to be appreciated in an unbiased manner without some shortsighted wannabe 'knowitall' coming out with the 'shot the wrong Beatle' cliché. A good album, not quite deserving 4 stars, but a good buy for those experimenting in Wings and McCartney music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'AFTER THE 'BEATLES' ---'THE MUSIC JUST KEPT ON COMING', 28 Feb. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
'VENUS AND MARS' greatest-hits albums aside this is perhaps my favourite
'Wings' release, of course 'Band on the Run' and 'London Town' are pretty
close contenders.
I First bought this on Vinyl, since the emergence of the CD I've made it a
mission to replace as much of my Vinyl onto this format as it is possible do.
(I've still got all my Vinyl, wouldn't part with it)
'Paul McCartney' is perhaps one of the greatest song-writers over the past 50
years, a period that of course included the many numbers written with fellow
music-legend 'John Lennon'
I wouldn't like to admit just how many Beatles/ Wings/ Paul McCartney solo/
John Lennon/ George Harrison and yes 'Ringo' CD's and Vinyl I have.
This album has many great sounds on board for me, for instance....'Venus
and Mars' drifting into 'Rock Show' 'You Gave Me the Answer' 'Magneto and
Titanium Man' 'Venus and Mars(reprise) 'Spirits of Ancient Egypt' 'Medicine
Jar' 'Listen to what the Man Said' and 'Treat Her Gently(Lonely Old People)
among the many great offerings to be enjoyed.
This for me is quite simply one of the 'All Time Great' albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Venus & Mars are more than alright!, 8 May 2009
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Venus And Mars (Audio CD)
Following an album like "Band On The Run" was always going to be a difficult ask, even for an artist as talented and renowned as Paul McCartney and so, when "Venus & Mars" was released in May 1975, it suffered, unfairly, by the inevitable comparisons, rather than being reviewed on its own merits. Largely excellent, "Venus & Mars" was mostly recorded in New Orleans, Louisiana and, despite the change of drummer part of the way through the recording process (Joe English replacing Geoff Britton owing to a personality clash with guitarist Jimmy McCulloch), it is a fluid, cohesive album with a delightfully eclectic feel. More than any Wings album before, this also feels like an album recorded by a band rather than Paul McCartney plus assorted musicians, with other members sharing songwriting and singing duties.

The album opens with McCartney in a wistful and then playful mood with "Venus & Mars/Rock Show", the latter being a catchy, energetic rocker namechecking several concert venues possibly even purposely written with a world tour in mind and then continues strongly with the hauntingly beautiful ballad, "Love In Song", which features a tremendous vocal performance by Paul. The vaudeville-flavoured "You Gave Me The Answer" is a fun piece of whimsical silliness, specifically produced to give it a 20s/30s feel. The enjoyment continues with a jaunty electric piano intro to "Magneto & Titanium Man", a bouncy song inspired by some of the characters from Marvel Comics. Bringing what used to be "side one" on the vinyl albums to a close is one of my personal favourites from this album, the moody, sultry "Letting Go", which boasts a sublime, bluesy guitar riff.

The second half of the album begins with a reprise of "Venus & Mars" and then there is a rather splendid rocker, "Spirits Of Ancient Egypt" featuring effects-heavy guitars and Denny Laine on lead vocals. Perhaps one of the big surprises on this release is "Medicine Jar", a superb riff-heavy rock song about the evils of drug addiction written (with Colin Allen) and sung by guitarist McCulloch. Although it is atypical of the album it adds much to the depth of the record overall and is one of the many highlights of this underrated release. "Call Me Back Again", a slow-paced, bluesy number with some passionate (and some may say over-wrought) McCartney vocals takes the tempo down a little, but then it is pumped straight up with the brilliant, irrepressible "Listen To What The Man Said", one of Paul's most commercial and deservedly successful songs of the decade. Ending the album, there is the gentle, melodic and thoughtful "Treat Her Gently/Lonely Old People", a sentimental piece in waltz time, and then a short instrumental version of the TV soap opera "Crossroads" (written by Tony Hatch) with the lead-guitar howling out the melody. Superfluous, perhaps, but still perfectly agreeable.

All-in-all, I would rate this as one of the best post-Beatles albums Paul McCartney has released. Although not every single track is a classic, there isn't anything on "Venus & Mars" I dislike or even consider ordinary. I first had a copy of this album around twenty years ago and I have listened to it regularly ever since, so that is perhaps an indication of the appeal and longevity of this release. The pleasant bonus tracks (Zoo Gang, Lunch Box/Odd Sox and My Carnival) on this particular version are a decent addition for McCartney collectors, although they don't add much other than value for money to this disc and are unlikely to really thrill anyone other than those who want to own every track Paul has ever written. However, for those who are looking to create or expand their post-Beatles Paul McCartney collection, this album is a must. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Venus And Mars
Buy MP3 Album£8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews