Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars72
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 December 2012
The twelve tracks on the disc comprise single movements of piano concertos and solo piano works, all rendered to perfection by the young and unusually talented pianist.

In the concertos, orchestras and conductors are distinguished: Orcestre de Paris with Christopher Eschenbach, Wiener Philarmoniker with Zubin Mehta, Orchestra of the Mariinsky Theatre with Valery Gergiev, and Chicago Symphony Orchestra with Daniel Barenboim.

Highlights in the concertos include Beethoven's No.1, Chopin's No.2, Rachmaninov's Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, and last but not least Tchaikovsky's No.1; solo piano works include well known and beloved small gems polished to perfection by the artist like Chopin's Etude No.3, Satie's Gnossienne No., and Schumann's Traumerei.

An unusually beautiful disc. Strongly recommended.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
Lang Lang is clearly an international super star. Perhaps because of this I have been wary of buying one of his recordings, fearing there would be too much showmanship on display and not enough music. But having bought his disc to give him a go I have to admit I was wrong. The choice of music, the display of musicianship , is equal to his virtuoso talents. He is an amazing talent.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
A lovely selection of piano music played sensitively by this marvellous pianist. Highly recommended and good value. Try it if you like classical music at all.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
He brings such emotion to his playing, a true master of his craft. I could listen to this all day long.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
This is an excellent CD by a great artist and is a joy to listen to. I would recommend it to friends.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
An excellent introductory album to Lang Lang which has now persuaded me to download more of his performances. The service from Amazon was, as usual, exemplary.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
Lang Lang is a wonderful pianist. This recording is fine except for the track titles being embeded in Chinese characters.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
What can you say regarding this artist - excellent value for money , gave me the goose-bumps whilst listening to this great and very talent artist
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
Lang Lang is a favourite of mine(even when playing in Andrea Bocelli's backing band) excellent renditions of well known pieces.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
Everything this artist touches turns to gold. He has a knack of turning the less interesting pieces into the most beautiful sounds.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.29

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)