Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memorable
When a band calls their first release World Music you expect African rhythms and quite a bit of navel gazing. What you don't expect is an album that takes the idea of World Music and actually travels the globe. From the Indian feeling Run To Your Mama to the Middle Eastern Goatman there is a lot of diversity here with a large guitar sound backed by drums and instruments...
Published on 6 Dec 2012 by Syriat

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better on Spotify.
The album is not bad and has its moments particularly when it touches on the funky or ethnic influences. Sometimes it veers touches late eighties/early nineties grebo which cheapens it. The packaging is fantastic. I think the vinyl mastering is too digital and sounds like a worse quality version of the Spotify edition. It would benefit from an old style pre digital...
Published 11 months ago by Michael Fleck


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memorable, 6 Dec 2012
By 
Syriat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: World Music (Audio CD)
When a band calls their first release World Music you expect African rhythms and quite a bit of navel gazing. What you don't expect is an album that takes the idea of World Music and actually travels the globe. From the Indian feeling Run To Your Mama to the Middle Eastern Goatman there is a lot of diversity here with a large guitar sound backed by drums and instruments from all over the globe. The fact that they come from Sweden is all the more surprising.

Golden Dawn is a great example of a funk work out crossed with hypnotic percussion - it sounds like it was made yesterday and in the seventies at the same time. Run To Your Mama has an Indian vibe and yet it has a guitar that crunches like glam rock - yes this really does mix influences and pulls that trick off extremely well. It has a toe tapping quality that will lead you to the dancefloor if its ever put on in that environment.

Other psychedelic influenced albums have come out this year, Tame Impala are getting a lot of airplay as an example. However, this is a stronger set of tracks and is really worth checking out. One of the albums of 2012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adages, 10 Dec 2012
By 
Glenn "Omaha" (Devon England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: World Music (Audio CD)
Swedish mystery ensemble Goat has produced one of the more dynamic and truly psych-eccentric albums of the year/for some time, toying with World percussion, disco and the brashest guitar work, like Maggot Brainesque mayhem on 'Goathead' where the female vocal tries to out-shout electric shriek and feedback until an acoustic calm washes on the sudden shore of its blitzed world.

Songs occasionally begin with spoken maxims, as on second track 'Goatman' where an echoed American male voice intones 'there is a Creole expression to walk together, where life is hard people depend upon and help each other so that man may pray together to praise the same moral principles and together reaffirm them' and the song segues into its African beats, repeated female chant/song, and the first of the album's wah-wah and then caustic guitar layers. Then there's fifth 'Golden Dawn' where an echoed female voice informs us, just after the harpsichord introduction, 'the important thing is this, to be able any moment to sacrifice what we are for what we could become', lines from Belgian naturalist Charles Frédéric Dubois.

Sixth 'Let It Bleed' has a funky rhythm and freeform saxophone with indecipherable female vocals, whereas seventh 'Run To Your Mama' has a Far Eastern percussive rhythm above a Black Sabbath guitar riff and the clearly audible, repeated sung line 'boy you better run to your mama now', not quite sustaining the album's toying with aphorism. Tracks like these do not have the raw power of 'Goathead', and I would have liked more of that madness.

The album finishes on ninth track 'Det som aldrig forandras/Diarabi' [`it has never changed'?] where the harmonium and percussive rhythms merge their Far Eastern sounds with rural folk - a little funked-up rhythm guitar as well in the background - and at seven minutes long it does build into a synth-orchestral climax that does seem to embrace, and perhaps postulate musically the genuine truism of the album's title, 'World Music'. It is a delightful listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HeaVY PSYCHeDeLiC KRauTRoCK aFRoBeaT GRooVeS, 15 April 2014
By 
Steve Astronaut (Moon Base Bristol) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Music (Audio CD)
I ordered this one after seeing TV coverage of their Glastonbury performance and it's great. They've taken a combination of heavy psychedelic krautrock afrobeat grooves and chants and mashed it all up into something that is their own. It could be considered 'record collection rock' with all those influences but I don't care because it sounds like they've got great record collections. And it's not just 70's sounds either, it reminds me of The Slits at times. If they build on this they will be unstoppable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly inspirational, 2 Oct 2014
This review is from: World Music (Audio CD)
I have been waiting to hear something as original and rule-breaking as this since the latter days of 'Krautrock' in the 1970s. Goat blend such influences with a heavy dose of psychedelic guitar, fuzzy bass, jazzy instrumental influences and an insistent rhythm. Nothing, neither the instruments nor the occasional chanting vocals, follows the usual cliches we've come to expect, and yet the riffs are also very melodic and catchy. Having watched the Youtube videos of their appearances at Roskilde and Glastonbury festivals, I'm sure they are even more mesmeric live, and it's a slight pity that some of the ideas developed in the shorter tracks here aren't extended further in the way they do live. I've always hesitated to give any review of mine on Amazon five stars, as the reviewers are a self-selecting sample who've already invested in the purchase, but here I think it's merited. You'll probably have difficulty thinking of anything to directly liken Goat to, but it's breathtaking music with a panoramic sweep. The 2014 second album 'Commune' is slightly more subtle, but just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like 1969 all over again: man!, 11 Sep 2014
This review is from: World Music (Audio CD)
I got to hear the music of this band from the radio station 6 music. Liked what I heard and later brought the CD. Listened to track 1(diarabi) and was impressed by this Eastern sounding rock instrumental. Then there's the rest of the album. I was completely blown away by the heavy psychedelic guitar work mixed with the various percussion and loud thumping bass, the mix of rhythms of the world, and the powerful siren like voices of the the female vocalists that front the group. Unlike was mentioned in the Greek myth; these "sirens" don't lead sailors to their deaths, but more likely lead the sailors to stop and listen to this Swedish combos great psychedelic music and raise fists up in the air to anthemic tracks such as"run to your mama", "goatman", and "let it bleed". Rock music is seldom played like this these days and as goat are quite a new band; only time wil tell if they go on to greater things and become major stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow this is pure adrenalin, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Music (Audio CD)
Great fun, Im not sure there are songs here but not a bad thing, I can't stop puting it on ! African rythms, screaming guitars - it takes you of to another land ! Great for when you have just got in from work and need to escape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great album, and very Swedish, 23 Jan 2013
By 
W. Morrison (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Music (Audio CD)
I'd read glowing reviews of this, but never quite got the actual sound of this from any of them. Not surprising, as it's one hell of a mixture of influences. Imagine one of Dr John's female backing singers stepping up to the front of stage, leading a band who were contemporaries of Can, Jimi Hendrix, Funkadelic and Hawkwind, but with a core of buzzing, jangling Afrobeat, European folk and hypnotic spiraling Middle Eastern raga. The "World Music" part of this doesn't sound like an affectation, a fashionable add-on, it's at the heart of the music; looking outwith the usual psychedelic canon to find the roots that lie in something far older and more universal. They pull it off with a lot of gusto, a lot of charm and ultimately with an immense conclusion which takes the cycle of the album right back to where it began.

Still, despite those influences it's strangely Swedish. The record I'm reminded of most through all of it is Bo Hansson's Lord Of The Rings, and that's no bad comparison as far as I'm concerned, but Goat are far more propulsive, more diverse, heavier and far more funky.

I gave it 4, but only because I reckon that they're going to make something that's even better than this. Can't stop playing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shake those maracas! yeah!, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Music (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant album from start to finish, and is guaranteed to have you throwing out shapes that you never even realised you owned. This album has everything that was truly awesome about sxities and seventies psychedelia and then some! For example, you get all the inventive drumming that might have been heard on some of Santanas work; the waling, bombastic guitar solos that you might have expected from Jimi Hendrix and some of the wild keys that might have been at home om the Doors or a Terry Riley album. The vocals are really straight forward incantations that just add to the hypnotic effect of the music, and the occasional vocal sample in between songs sends a message of peace, love and mind expanstion.

Fantastic.

This is far from a re-hashing of the past, however, and the overall product is truly original and exciting.

I can't wait to see more of GOAT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Music (MP3 Download)
Great album, really original and interesting album. Goathead is a tremendous song, especially the acoustic section at the end. Hypnotic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What, ONLY 11 REVIEWS????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 30 Aug 2013
This review is from: World Music (Audio CD)
Didn't think i'd have to give this a review, can't believe it only has 11 reviews so far, absolutely staggering, what's up with you guys, do you all think the same as me - sooooo good it can't possibly need reviews?!! This is a MARVELLOUS album, completely unlike anything i've bought in recent years. This is fresh and raw and powerful. From the moment the album opens up you know you're into a mould-breaker. This was Manchester's Piccadilly records' number 1 album for 2012 (I have a lot of albums from 2012 and I wouldn't argue that it is a worthy contender)- bought for me as a pressie and VERY welcome - thanks Hayley & Jay!! If you like something a bit different that encompasses just about everything, african drumbeat, rhythmic funk, amazing guitar psychedelics, everything. GREAT STUFF - this one is getting a lot of repeats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World Music
World Music by Goat
Buy MP3 Album£7.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews