Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I read this 20 years ago and find it is still relevant today
I read this book when I was 14 and at school and could really relate to what Alice was saying.In fact I was sneaked a copy as it was felt that the content was too adult for me. What a joke - after all it was supposed to be relating the life of a contemporary. After 20 years I found the painful honesty of Alice's diary writing as she tries to 'make it' in both the drug...
Published on 27 Sep 1999

versus
46 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A curious work of fiction
Go Ask Alice is definitely a most bizarre book. When first published in the early seventies it was presented as an actual diary of a fifteen-year-old drug-user, later it turned out to be written by a middle-aged, mormon woman by the name of Beatrix Sparks. This definitely could explain some of the more puzzling aspects of the book. Within days of having her coke spiked...
Published on 14 Oct 2003


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I read this 20 years ago and find it is still relevant today, 27 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Go Ask Alice (Paperback)
I read this book when I was 14 and at school and could really relate to what Alice was saying.In fact I was sneaked a copy as it was felt that the content was too adult for me. What a joke - after all it was supposed to be relating the life of a contemporary. After 20 years I found the painful honesty of Alice's diary writing as she tries to 'make it' in both the drug and straight worlds just as poignant. The world may have moved on but life for teenagers continues to be as daunting today just as it was then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 19 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Go Ask Alice (Paperback)
I have read this book over and over again since I was 14. Each and everytime I find something new and understand it just that little bit more. To me Alice's diary demonstrates the pressure on teens now, haven't changed in any real way at all, to what it was like then. There are still people pushing drugs, kids still despise what their parents say and it just keeps going on from one generation to the next. This book made me think a lot more about every decision I made and how it might affect me. I think about Alice at the most unusual times like when I'm shopping as if she was my friend and I actually knew her. Growing up is hard enough but to try and do that and quit drugs at the same time would be torture. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone no matter what age. Parents will appreciate it because it will remind them of just how hard it was to be a teenager. For teenagers it'll be a bit of a wake up call that will show you just what drugs will do to you and that you have to choose your friends wisely. This is a book that you will read over and over again as if each time was the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heartstoppingly good, 19 May 2002
By 
RaRa (london, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Go Ask Alice (Paperback)
im 15 and read this book in a day because i couldnt put it down. i didnt stop reading all day and did no work in school and spoke to none of my friends. the book shows emotions no one could ever speak to you it helps you understand the highs and lows of drugs, the freedom they give you but can then take away. deffinately a book every teenager should read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alice in a 2002 context, 8 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Go Ask Alice (Paperback)
As a drama teacher in some of the most drug ravished schemes in Glasgow, I found this book to be more than just a concience tugging read. It has been a life line to so many young people who have to make uninformed decisions on a daily basis that drastically alters their lifes. Alice is a real person who reaches the highs that few people in education are willing to admit exsist.It also, without predjudice and vindication, makes the reader horrifyingly aware of the lows. In a society where education cannot compete with pop culture, Alice has a voice that touches and penetrates with a message few could so convincingly sell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tragic diary of a teenage girl addicted to drugs, 1 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Go Ask Alice (Hardcover)
Have you ever wondered what it is like in the horrific world of drugs? All you have to do is read this amazing diary of a girl who became addicted to drugs. This book shows you how life can be sometimes if you don't make the right choices. Go Ask Alice is set in the early seventies(a time where drug use was at an all time high). The main character is a teenage girl who feels very inadequate and has a very low self-confidence level. All she wants to do is fit in like everybody else. She doesn't have many friends and the ones that she does have are very dorky and unpopular. Most of her inadequacy comes from her utterly perfect family. Her parents have always pushed her to be something that she could never be-"perfect". Alice had always been a good teenager. She dealt with normal teenage problems such as weight problems, peer pressure, and love. She had never thought about taking drugs before. She didn't think that she needed them. Alice's world is turned upside down though after she goes to a party and someone puts drugs in ger drink. After that night Alice was never the same. She spent all of her time searching for drugs and the more she took the harder it was to stop. Alice was way too far into the world of drugs for her to ever stop. Her whole life revolved around drugs. She was desperate for them. The drugs gave her an escape from the reality of her own life and the expectations that she couldn't live up to. I strongly recommend this book to anyone that wants to open their hearts to a girl that just wanted so much to belong. You might even be able to relate to her. You will be drawn into Alice's world and never be able to leave. This is a wonderful book and I think that everyone should have the chance to read Go Ask Alice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A curious work of fiction, 14 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Go Ask Alice (Paperback)
Go Ask Alice is definitely a most bizarre book. When first published in the early seventies it was presented as an actual diary of a fifteen-year-old drug-user, later it turned out to be written by a middle-aged, mormon woman by the name of Beatrix Sparks. This definitely could explain some of the more puzzling aspects of the book. Within days of having her coke spiked with acid at a party, Alice is shooting speed and is launched into the degenerate world of drugs which consists of rape and prostitution, vindictive peers and (gasp!) homosexuality. Alice finds it impossible to get out of the vicious circle where junkies are constantly throwing free drugs at her. (Who would have guessed junkies were so generous with their suplies?) Alice almost makes it back to a happy, normal life with the help of her family, who are like characters out of a fiftie's sitcom (She even has a little brother named Tim), but alas, what kind of ending would that have been?
It is important for kids and adults alike to have good information on drugs (and the misery that often go with them) but if you're looking for a realistic book, this ain't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but unconvincing, 8 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Go Ask Alice (Paperback)
Like P, I have serious doubts as to the authenticity of this so-called diary. As s/he and other reviewers have already pointed out, most of it seems to be the work of Beatrice Sparks, in many cases employing a degree of linguistic sophistication that no bona fide teenager would use.

We also get to see very little of the central character's life outside of her drug use, which suggests to me that this book is at the very least heavily edited, if not predominantly a work of fiction. Some of the episodes - such as Alice and a friend being raped by a heroin-addicted adult couple - just seem far-fetched, especially when most real-life heroin users will testify that the drug virtually kills a person's sex-drive stone dead.

The fact that the aforementioned Sparks has penned a series of heavily embellished and rewritten books that purport to be based on real teenage diaries such as "Jay's Journal" (which got her into trouble with the real Jay's family for exploiting the story of their son) also raises doubts as to how seriously it can be taken.

If you want to read a balanced, practical book about the subject of drug use you'd be better off reading Andrew Tyler's "Street Drugs". If you want to read a more convincing account of real life struggles with drug addiction try Jim Caroll's "The Basketball Diaries" or even William Burroughs' "Junkie".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 2 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Go Ask Alice (Hardcover)
I can't think of one reason not to read Go Ask Alice. The main problem adults have with Go Ask Alice is they are afraid of the book turning their children on to drugs when it really scares them away. When "Alice" starts on drugs, she is very enthusiastic on how great they are, but after about a month she resolves to never do them again. This happens several times in the book until she has one friend left, if even that. Drugs completely screw up her life. She is overdosed one night, goes crazy, and ends up in a hospital. If that isn't bad enough," Alice" is then put in a MENTAL hospital. Once she gets out of the looney bin, "Alice" reforms, goes back to school, and starts a new life. After reading this book, if anyone is still thinking about taking drugs, they might want to read the editor's note., Sadly enough, "Alice" overdoses and dies 3 weeks later. I don't think it really matters whether or not Go Ask Alice is a real journal, or if it was written to scare teens away from drugs it doesn't matter, because there are real life Alices everywhere in the world, and the last thing we need is more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A hoax?, 31 July 2007
This review is from: Go Ask Alice (Paperback)
It's been suggested by several sources that the diaries in this book is based on aren't genuine - that why were written by someone in the publishing industry.

Having read the book, I have strong doubts about the authenticity of these diaries. They just don't ring true - they feel more like an adult writing in a style he/she considers a 15 year old girl would write in. The grammar is simply too good (in my opinion) for a 15 year old to have written ... and when was the last time you heard a 15 year old use words like 'echelon' and 'antagonistic'.

It's an enjoyable enough read; but the book's main selling point is its claim to be true, and I found this very hard to believe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocked, 8 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Go Ask Alice (Paperback)
When you think all is going well, it isn't truely shocking to the end. A good insight to a teenager, nice read although harrowing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Go Ask Alice
Go Ask Alice by Anonymous
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews