Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars19
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£16.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 August 2012
The CD of Robert Plant with the Band Of Joy was OK without being outstanding as we'd expect from the man,but this truly superb DVD is another level altogether. Songs from the album,some old Zepellin songs including amazing versions of 'Black Dog','Ramble On' and 'Gallows Pole' that simply are unmissable.Also a song on which Buddy Miller sings 'Somewhere Trouble Don't Go' is an absolute standout with Mr. Plant playing some fine harmonica. All recorded live in Nashville obviously on a snowy winters day, but this set really turns up the heating in a big way.My only quibble is why little inserts of Robert chatting are added between some songs when there is a full interview that's very interesting on the bonus section. The Band Of Joy are as a band simply awesome, Robert's in great voice and with the excellent Patty Griffin on backing vocals and acoustic guitar this adds upto one of the best music DVD's of the year. If your a Robert Plant fan this is unmissable, if not get it anyway because I just don't see how anyone could not enjoy and get to tap their toes to such an amazing gig as this. 5 STARS ALKL THE WAY !
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
I lost interest in the members of Zep after they split because nothing they did subsequently came anywhere near the perfection of those incredible albums. But then came Raising Sand and suddenly good old Planty had returned to form. Band of Joy continues his resurgence. This is an excellent concert with a bit of eveything thrown in - rock, country, blues (and yes) a few Zep goodies as well. My particular favourite is Gallows Pole which is taken quite a way from the Zep version but the song remains the same. (sorry, couldn't resisist that). Rock and Roll is pretty faithful to the Zep version and it really rocks!
The whole band are excellent and are clearly having a great time judging by their gleeful expressions. I just wish I had been there.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
A true artist who could easily fritter away his talents by touring with his old band and filling stadium and taking the money. You can tell he still gets Joy ( forgive me) from playing music in whatever style excites him at that moment and God bless him for it. If one day that invloves his old mates, great, if not I wont cry either way.

JImmy you better get your chops together just in case , you KNOW what I mean.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2012
Forget all about ego's and music genres, make this the last thing you watch one night and go to bed happy. It is brilliant !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
Excellent DVD. New songs and some old Zep songs, played superbly by a group of excellent musicians. No fancy electronics, just a great variety of songs, played with perfection. How many of today's, manufactured artists will still be performing, like this, in 40 years time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2015
One of the best DVDs around, the music incorporated old led zeppelin songs within a relaxing old american country style which is fantastic, a must for any one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
What can u say Mr Plant at his best a must buy for any Mr P fan.Arrived from the USA within three weeks but well worth the wait.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
I enjoy listening to RP and admire how he has persevered as a solo artist. Worth listening too when at all times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
Had to return the first DVD sent as would not work, but once second one arrived, thoroughly enjoy the DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
I first came across Robert Plant on John Peels radio programme in 1969. The first time I saw Led Zep was on a friday night arts programme on BBC1. They played Communication breakdown, it was incredible. I also pre- ordered Led Zep 1, from the local record dealers NEMS, of Liverpool. Being a petulant teenager by album no 3, ld gone off the band. As the years have gone by, l have reacquainted myself with Robert and Led Zep. I saw a documentary on BBC 4 last week, with Robert Plant. It was amazing, he is articulate, intelligent, modest and can still sing fantastically. The bonus was after, the documentary, there was a tribute to Bert Jansch and Bob Plant was on that to. I worked with someone who's parents were next door neighbours of Bob and apparently he couldnt even replace a blown fuse in a plug. With a voice like his who cares. Bonus for me he had Welsh lessons, lets hope he has more of a grasp of the iath than Prince Charles
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)