Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant Surprise on Varos
Surprisingly dark, yet fantastic at the same time, who knew a Colin Baker story could be so good?

Actually, I'd been at a loss for a while. I'd been getting what was generally considered the best story (or best two) from each Doctor, on DVD, but I was stuck at one for Colin Baker. No one could settle on one they liked, until a while later I kept hearing...
Published 17 months ago by Edgar Duncan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars decent dvd
The storyline is ok, the special effects are very good for the time and budget and the casting is very good. However the special features on this dvd are very poor. The audio commentary for this story is possible the best feature of this dvd. value for money is good.
Published 5 months ago by joshuaconnor


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the extras, 31 Oct 2012
By 
J. Armstrong "jamesls12" (heckmondwike) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Vengeance on Varos (Special Edition) [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
We all know Colin Baker wasn't well served by his stories (or his outfit!) and this was never my favourite, but the wealth of extras make it interesting enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VIOLENT JUST HOW IT WAS MEANT TO BE, 3 May 2009
By 
Mrs. D. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this story was not the best of mr colin baker's but it does give rememberal faces such as sil and peri and the doctor it also includes bits of horror and voilence and murder, the dvd it's self was a great thing to bring to stores. BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable and entertaining, 15 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Not bad. Didn't have a good plot though. At the beginning when they land on Varos, the Doctor just knocked the guard out immediatly. The guard Didn't say anything like "I'll shoot" or anything like that. In fact, he thought the Doctor was an illusion. But it does have good parts. When the Doctor, Peri and a couple of slaves go through a maze full of illusions, it's got quite a few twists. All in all, it's not bad for a Colin Baker adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Experimental but needed a few improvements, 5 Sep 2005
Colin Bakers reign as the sixth doctor presented turbulent times for DOCTOR WHO but Vengeance On Varos is one of his better adventures. The idea of a planet almost dominated by watching live executions and experiments on television is a good one but this serial is spoilt by wooden acting [particularly by Baker] and totally unnecessary violence.
Overall though I reccomend this to you as a DOCTOR WHO fan but its far from perfect WHO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another Money Spinner, 19 Sep 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who - Vengeance on Varos (Special Edition) [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
If this is getting a Special Edition there'll be no end to it!!! There's no way I'll be shelling out for just a few back slapping documentaries - if you genuinely rate this one (and I don't think many of us do) do yourself a favour and save a few by getting this instead Doctor Who - Vengeance on Varos [DVD] [1985].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Here We Go Again ..., 27 Feb 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who - Vengeance on Varos (Special Edition) [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Now the BBC have got near to the end of restoring the old VHS tapes of Doctor Who to DVD format, do we now have to suffer an interminable series of "re-hashed" "Special Editions" for the sake of picture quality? Talk about trying to screw as much money out of those people who are gullible enough to buy a repeat performance for the sake of owning "picture perfect" DVD's!

OK. I am a HUGE Doctor Who fan and always have been. But I will play devil's advocate here: The whole ethos of Doctor Who, when they were originally sold on VHS, was that the picture quality was the same as when the episodes were originally transmitted on TV. And that, to my mind, was the whole point because it took you back to those days when the picture quality was less than good. It was virgin, original and even more authentic because of that. Which I remember well, as I watched the very first black and white episodes of Doctor Who on my console television. But when the restoration team first started to transfer these stories to DVD back in 1992, I was the one of the first to applaud such a remarkable feat. Because they cleaned up, to a greater extent, all of the original faults which made it a far more enjoyable visual experience. And I have since collected every single Doctor Who DVD that has been issued. With the result that my collection is now nearly complete. But how far do you go ...?

Now we have "Special Editions". Either with further "improved" picture quality or the addition of more "extras" which were supposedly not originally available when the DVD's were first released. If you really want to spend your hard-earned cash on a "pristine" picture and sound quality DVD which has had even more flaws removed, that is entirely your prerogative. But is it REALLY necessary? Because it is now even further removed from the original "feel" of Doctor Who. And what happens next? Special Editions of the "Special Editions"? Just how far will the BBC go in trying to con us into spending money which, to die-hard fans such as myself, is totally unnecessary? I guess that will depend on sales ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who - Vengeance on Varso (1985) - Would have been a lot better if it starred the Fifth Doctor (Peter Davison) & Nyssa, 2 Jun 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who - Vengeance on Varos (Special Edition) [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I have never been and never will be a Colin Baker Dr Who fan. In my previous comment, I think Colin Baker is brilliant as a supporting actor or a heavy as he was in 1983 adventure `Arc of Infinity', but as the Sixth Doctor he was not the right choice, and also I could not stand irritating Nicola Bryant sickening and rubbish mock `American Accent'. So I reward this DVD `3' stars.

The only thing that stands out in this DVD is the supporting cast of Martin Jarvis, Owen Teale , Jason Connery and the three main villains Forbes Collins, Nicholas Chargin and Nabil Sahaban gives excellent outstanding performances in this mix bag adventure. This could have been an excellent adventure if it was televised in late 1982, and had Peter Davison and Sarah Sutton in the lead roles as the Fifth Doctor and Nyssa.

I hope the BBC release the remaining Jon Pertwee and Tom Baker adventures `The Ambassadors of Death', `The Mind of Evil' , and `Terror of the Zygons', and bring an advanced and realistic CGI version of Tom Baker's missing adventure `Shada', and a seperate Special Edition DVD of 'Revenge of the Cybermen' as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hugely overrated, 9 Nov 2003
By 
Vague Boy (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
If this story is overrated (and it is) that is probably more indicative of the weakness of the surrounding stories. Colin Baker's Doctor (entirely UNLIKE Patrick Troughton) is just plain unliveable and the story suffers because of this.
The ideas behind the script are pretty thought provoking (even more so today in the era of digital TV) but something went wring in the translation to the TV screen. Like a lot of the stories of this time, you reflect more on the missed opportunities that anything taking place on screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Vengeance on Varos (Special Edition) [DVD] [1985]
6.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews