Customer Reviews


13 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Premium paracord, 31 Jan. 2015
By 
Mister G (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 550 Paracord Type III Commercial 7 Strand 100ft Javelin Blue (Misc.)
(I bought this product, though in a different colour. Therefore I have posted my review here too - which Amazon allows - in case someone finds it useful and otherwise might miss it).

Some people have said that some paracords are not 'proper' paracord based on their relatively low breaking strain. This seems to be a misunderstanding. There are various grades of paracord, all with different breaking strains - Type I, IA, II, IIA, III and IV, with a *minimum* breaking strength ranging from approximately 43 to 340 kg (Type I and Type IV respectively).

This "Wild Elk" paracord is the second highest rating - type III (the seller claims a breaking strain in excess of 250kg). It is far stronger than many paracord alternatives. I have found it very useful and have yet to snap it.

At the same time, I bought Web-Tex 100m Roll of 3mm Para Cord - Olive Green (also see 100m Paracord on Reel) for situations where I do not need a high breaking strength. It costs half the price per metre but has a far lower breaking strain (a *maximum* of 70kg according to the seller as opposed to Wild Elk's advertised *minimum* of 250kg) - this cheaper alternative appears to be Type I or Type IA. Beware the word "maximum" - I can imagine people weighing 60kg thinking it is safe to be suspended by it. By buying both, I don't waste this premium paracord on light duty needs.

You may be interested to know that there is a reflective version of it although only in black, orange & brown, and it can be a bit lumpy (less suitable for making bracelets): 550 Paracord Type III Commercial 7 Strand 100ft Black Reflective, 550 Paracord Type III Commercial 7 Strand 100ft Orange Reflective and 550 Paracord Type III Commercial 7 Strand 100ft OD Reflective.

Great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good paracord, but a bit thicker than other colours, 29 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 550 Paracord Type III Commercial 7 Strand 100ft Javelin Blue (Misc.)
This is nice paracord indeed. It is very flexible and soft, making it perfect for bracelets and other craft projects. Having bought paracord from a variety of sources, I now appreciate now good this Wild Elk stuff is. As another reviewer has mentioned this colour, javelin blue, does seem to be slightly thicker than other colours. However, when made up into a bracelet, the difference is not at all noticeable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 550 paracord, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 550 Paracord Type III Commercial 7 Strand 100ft Javelin Blue (Misc.)
This is a good all round paracord, it is easy to craft into bracelets or key fobs and the colour is brilliant. It comes in 100ft lengths which is easy to manage but allows you to make loads of items. Have used this product to make several items and I am still amazed at the quality of the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 25 Aug. 2013
By 
Nigel (Abbots Langley, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 550 Paracord Type III Commercial 7 Strand 100ft Javelin Blue (Misc.)
What can you say about 100ft of cord ? It seems to be a quality product and I am very happy with it. I have the blue and yellow.
I made a bracelet just to see if I could and it turned out fine. Very happy. I would purchase this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but careful using it in two-colour patterns, 3 April 2013
By 
A J Furniss (Farnborough, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 550 Paracord Type III Commercial 7 Strand 100ft Javelin Blue (Misc.)
For some reason Javelin Blue (at least the batch from which my order was cut) is slightly bulkier and stiffer than most other colours. It's fine in itself but doesn't always lie well in two-color designs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 7 April 2013
This review is from: 550 Paracord Type III Commercial 7 Strand 100ft Javelin Blue (Misc.)
This paracord is just as described. It is perfect for making paracord bracelets and other projects.The blue is a nice colour, I joined it with neon green colour paracord and made some nice bracelets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars vibrant colour that doesn't fade, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 550 Paracord Type III Commercial 7 Strand 100ft Javelin Blue (Misc.)
genuine 550 cord as such very strong, the colour is as advertised and having used it on several occasions can say it doesn't fade , great product well made and high quality, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real paracord at a reasonable price., 9 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 550 Paracord Type III Commercial 7 Strand 100ft Javelin Blue (Misc.)
What more could you ask for? Real 7-strand paracord in a good variety of colours. I use mine for bracelets for other general purpose cordage applications
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paracord, 18 May 2013
This review is from: 550 Paracord Type III Commercial 7 Strand 100ft Javelin Blue (Misc.)
Did what it said many uses for paracord use it for knots and for safety line when kayaking looks good too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 550 Paracord Type III Commercial 7 Strand 100ft Javelin Blue (Misc.)
Excellent item. Brilliant for crafts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews