Customer Reviews


214 Reviews
5 star:
 (160)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Privateering on Vinyl: Two Glorious Slabs of Analogue Heaven
It is very refreshing to find that even in today's digital world major artists are still releasing their work on the vinyl format. This latest offering from Mark Knopfler comes as a double ca 200g vinyl edition with a very solid heavy-weight cover to support the vinyl. The inner sleeves are thick cardboard which I changed for antistatic, plastic lined paper to minimise...
Published on 1 Oct 2012 by P. Kelly

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deluxe Box - Rip Off?
I ordered the deluxe box set as I was so eagerly awaiting this new album. Have to say I was more than a little disappointed, mainly because it does not include the third disc that comes with the standard box set i.e. the 5 live tracks! I would have thought "deluxe box set" would mean everything, apparently not.
The box does include 3 bonus tracks not available...
Published on 27 Sep 2012 by Graeme


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars !st Class Mark, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Privateering (Audio CD)
As usual another first class cd from Mark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Sep 2014
This review is from: Privateering (Audio CD)
Just fantastic as ever with Mark Knopfler
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost arrived before it was ordered, 22 Aug 2014
This review is from: Privateering (Audio CD)
Excellent from a delighted Customer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Privateering (Audio CD)
Excellent album from a class artist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 17 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Privateering (Audio CD)
I find this album boring and repetative and thats coming from someone who has purchased every album Mark / Dire Straits / Hillibillies has ever released. Will always be a fan but begining to wish Mark would take a leaf out of Springsteen's book! Grow old disgracefully - its much more fun !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening., 3 Oct 2014
A good listen to a great musician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Nov 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Privateering (Audio CD)
Excellent. Classic Knopfler
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 18 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Privateering (Audio CD)
As an avid Mark Knopfler fan I was eagerly anticipating this release after his other fantastic solo efforts. Unfortunately I found this effort somewhat lazy sounding and lacking his usual class and style. Even if it was reduced to one CD with the best tracks picked I don't think it would match his other great albums such as Sailing to Philadelphia, Shangri La or Get Lucky. Great shame but I guess even the greats can't always get it right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars music fine but CD not, 30 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Privateering (Audio CD)
The music is classic Knopfler - laid back and easy listening, but not groundbreaking. I enjoyed it.
Bought the CD but returned it because the electronic index, image and data on CD-1 was for Bob Dylan's album Tempest although the music was Privateering. This screws up track selection by title etc and is sloppy quality control by the manufacturers.
This has happened to me before and I have decided to return all such items as faulty rather than live with it. I also
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love at First Listen, 12 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Privateering (Audio CD)
I have loved Mark Knopfler's music for the best part of 30 years. There is familiarity here but also lots of new and wonderful discoveries, and all of it outstanding. Mark Knopfler always takes you on a journey, and this is a superb album in which to continue your journey with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Privateering
Privateering by Mark Knopfler (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews