Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a sampler its cheap and its got lost of great stuff
You could quibble that it doesn't have your favourite track by the splendid artists included. You could quibble that its missing your favourite artist,
But , if you want to try a pile of excellent tracks by a good range of excellent artists , what better way and what cheaper way to do so- Well done Proper - keep on keeping on with this scheme
Published on 27 July 2012 by brucehead

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, I was expecting 'singers night'/'folk club' type presentations ...
Disappointing, I was expecting 'singers night'/'folk club' type presentations. Sadly, none of the performers were able to create the enjoyable material, qualities or atmosphere of 'proper folk'. It was okay but, perhaps, they were trying too hard to be 'commercial'?
Published 3 months ago by Paintbox


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a sampler its cheap and its got lost of great stuff, 27 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Proper Folk Too!! (Audio CD)
You could quibble that it doesn't have your favourite track by the splendid artists included. You could quibble that its missing your favourite artist,
But , if you want to try a pile of excellent tracks by a good range of excellent artists , what better way and what cheaper way to do so- Well done Proper - keep on keeping on with this scheme
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sampler, 19 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Proper Folk Too!! (Audio CD)
Another attractively priced sampler of modern folk showcasing the new generation of folk singers, such as Seth Lakeman. Like any good sampler it encourages you to listen and then search out more of the music. I particularly liked June Tabor & Oysterband singing 'Bonny Bunch Of Roses' and Kathryn Roberts & Sean Lakeman impressed on first listening singing 'Money Or Jewels' from their album 'Hidden People'. An excellent introduction to some fine music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic CD, fantastic value, 15 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Proper Folk Too!! (Audio CD)
All folk fans know how expensive folk CDs can be, so it was fantastic to find this 10 track CD for less than £5!

I'm new to the folk scene and enjoying discovering new artists, so this was perfect to get a taster of different artists.

On the strength of 2 of the songs, I actually went out and bought June Tabor & Oysterband and Bellowhead albums.

Bellowhead's Lillibulero is brilliant!

I'd highly recommend this to everyone, a fab selection of songs and artists and great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best 2 quid you'll ever spend., 18 Sept. 2012
By 
High Speed (Dorset England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: This Is Proper Folk Too!! (Audio CD)
10 excellent tracks from artists at the top of their game.

From Bellowhead's lively rendition of Lillibulero, through Heidi Talbot's haunting 'My Sister The Moon', to Show of Hands west country anthem 'Now You Know', seriously there isn't a bad track here.

If there was any justice in the music world, this would be the next Christmas number one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proper folk music at a bargain price, 26 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Proper Folk Too!! (Audio CD)
I'm not a folk fan but I like to have some in my collection for when the mood strikes and for adding to my more esoteric playlists to spice the flavours up. This fits the bill sonically and price wise. I also get to increase my knowledge of contemporary folk to boot. Proper value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good selection at an amazing price, 17 Aug. 2012
By 
P. Pridgeon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Proper Folk Too!! (Audio CD)
Unlike many collections this is a very good choice, and at a price that was unbelievable. A chance to listen to some artists that you might not have heard; but all very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good modern folk 'sampler', 17 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Proper Folk Too!! (Audio CD)
I've bought a few of these compilation CDs from Amazon and they are all excellent value for money, this one being particularly so. If you're interested in modern British folk music, this is an excellent collection, the only down side is that if you collect/listen to other similar music, for example Bellowhead, you may already have some of the tracks. But the tracks are good, well balanced and if you're unsure about 'folk' music, this could be a good introduction for you because it not only shows how good the musicians are, it also gives a balance across some of the modern sub-sets of folk. Go buy it, it's worth it !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant proper folk again, 16 July 2012
By 
Derek Abell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Proper Folk Too!! (Audio CD)
Anyone who liked the first CD will love this one.
And if you like this one you'll also like Bending the dark by Imagined Village.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hey Nonny Nonny!, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Proper Folk Too!! (Audio CD)
What a bargain this is! For £2, you get a varied diet of rousing and lyrical folk songs from grandees of the genre. There is something to tickle everyone's palate: an achingly beautiful ballad by Kathryn Roberts and Sean Lakeman (Money or Jewels), a Hardyesque love song by Show of Hands (Now You Know) and the beguiling pixie-voiced Heidi Talbot singing My Sister the Moon. Lastly, Jon Boden and Sam Sweeney sing Sweet Thames Flow Softly, which, according to the editor, didn't fit with their other stuff in Bellowhead's album Broadside. For me it is the icing on the cake - how could they have resisted lines like: 'I kissed her once again at Wapping...after that there was no stopping'? A proper feast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Intro and temptation, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Proper Folk Too!! (Audio CD)
I bought this because I wanted to increase my range of my most liked recent 'folk' beyond Show of Hands and a couple of others. I have not been disappointed.

It's been tempting to immediately buy more of all the artists sampled here - but I've started with Fay Hield's Orfeo (the sampler CD offers a £1 discount on this and other selected CDs).

Calling the CD a 'sampler' is a bit misleading because it stands up in its own right as a well thought out and pleasurable production. Do I need to add I highly recommend it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Is Proper Folk Too!!
This Is Proper Folk Too!! by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews