Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cosh The Driver
Package is in digipack format, not a jewel case. This is supposedly a 2010 remaster, but to be honest it sounds exactly the same as the previous CD release. All the tracks from the double LP are here, and depending on how you like your Pistols its a great selection of songs. I won't go into detail because if your a fan you've heard them time and time again. If your new to...
Published on 10 Aug 2010 by iwannabeme

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Glad i didnt pay full price
I bought this as a used copy as i had the original on vinyl many moons ago!
I must have got carried away with nostalgia as its not as good as i remember, Some of the tracks are belters (IMHO) e.g Silly Thing, My Way ,Friggin in the riggin,Anarchy and GSTQ but that doesnt make it a worthwhile purchase for me ....Shame really!!!
Published on 29 Feb 2012 by delboy66


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cosh The Driver, 10 Aug 2010
By 
iwannabeme (Carnoustie, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Package is in digipack format, not a jewel case. This is supposedly a 2010 remaster, but to be honest it sounds exactly the same as the previous CD release. All the tracks from the double LP are here, and depending on how you like your Pistols its a great selection of songs. I won't go into detail because if your a fan you've heard them time and time again. If your new to the Sex Pistols, start with Never Mind The Bollocks, then get this one.
Comes with mini stickers that are taken from the orginal UK vinyl release, a nice and welcome touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...and it only took 32 years to get right!, 10 Aug 2012
By 
T. Bucknall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finally! the definitive Swindle cd that i had pretty abandoned hope of ever hearing!
given the low opinion this album is held in by the band themselves and music critics combined with the circumstances of its creation, i had resigned myself to the fact that it would never receive a proper CD release but suddenly out of the blue here it is!

this CD basically follows the tracklisting of the initial UK Pressings but tacks "Watcha gonna do about it?" on to the very end of the CD
The opening track, a symphonic version of God save the queen has no spoken overdubs and can finally be enjoyed as a piece of music and a testament to the fact that the pistols songwriting could be surprisingly melodic
the only odd thing about this cd is that the morse code ending of "No one is innocent" cross fades with the start of the next track. thats not a criticism just an observation

Lonely Boy is a slightly different mix without the reverb on the drums, presumably the "finished" master has long since been lost and the compilers of the cd had to go back to an early version

I have no hesitation in recommending this as the definitive CD issue
give in to this guilty pleasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't like it, you can just..........download the [explicit] MP3 version instead, 6 Jan 2010
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
The Sex Pistols 'biopoc' film 'The Great Rock'n'Roll Swindle' was cobbled together from various failed film projects after the band had split [with Eddie 'Ten Pole Tudor' taking Johnny Rottens uncooperative place], and the films soundtrack spawned two LP records - the nearest thing to the Sex Pistol's second studio album, but actually nothing of the sort. Great raucous fun though from the Sex Pistols and their mates, and often surprisingly sharply delivered.

I was 18 when this anarchic double album 'The Great Rock-n-Roll Swindle' was released [2 years after Punks anthem album: 'Never Mind the Bollocks']. I absolutely loved this double LP set - and the accompanying movie [particularly Irene Handle standing tastefully in the background]. But then I was a young(ish) punk [the target audience], and all my records were '20 of a different kind'. I bought this `Great Rock-and-Roll Swindle' double album knowing that my mother, father, aunts, uncles, and grandparents still absolutely loathed The Sex Pistols with a passion.....I mean how cool was that!

Granted the album was an endearing mess, with even the album tracks on the cover not corresponding with their order on the LPs - although the LP labels do say "Sorry about incorrect listing on sleeve - it's another swindle". For me `Never mind the bollocks' had already done all the anti-establishment stuff. And after all the Sex Pistols had shamelessly self-promoted themselves by being as rude, shocking and noisy as possible. At the time `Never mind the Bollocks' was banned from some record shop windows, with the law even sitting in judgement on whether the album cover was obscene [apparently the word was just Anglo-Saxon for a small handball, so no it wasn't]. In the era of `decency', Mary Whitehouse and a total swearing ban on TV, the Sex Pistols shocked - and in many ways deliberately so as part of their `great rock-and-roll swindle'. Any publicity is good publicity and their fame/infamy rapidly meant money, success and influence for them [Glen Matlock, their original musical architect and songwriter, was 'sacked' early on for allegedly liking The Beatles but more likely for valuing pop over posing] - but fortunately the Sex Pistols also had the raw energy and talent to deliver the goods. In this 'Swindle' double album the Sex Pistols are their honest selves, musically mooning at their fans and neither giving a t*ss. As one mature reviewer of the time said at the end of his review: "after playing this Sex Pistols album, every other record in your collection seems tame".....

For the Punk purist, please note that some CD releases have been heavily edited from the original, and the correct order of the tracks from the 1979 album should be:

Side One: God Save The Queen (Symphony) / Johnny B. Goode / Road Runner / Black Arabs / Anarchy In The U.K.
Side Two: Substitute / (Don't Give Me) No Lip Child / (I'm not your) Stepping Stone / Anarchie Pour L'U.K. / Belsen Was A Gas / Einmal Belsen War Wirflich Bortefflich (Belsen Vos A Gassa)
Side Three: Silly Thing / My Way / I Wanna Be Me / Something Else / Rock Around The Clock / Lonely Boy / No One Is Innocent
Side Four: C'mon Everybody / E.M.I. (Orchestral version) / The Great Rock 'N' Roll Swindle / Friggin' In The Riggin' / You Need Hands / Who Killed Bambi

From memory, the above order roughly follows the correct order of the tracks within the film [this 'album' is just the movie soundtrack after all]. Apparently back in 1979 the double album was released in 2 versions with varying track listings, with the above [from my LPs] being the most common vinyl track order. To get the album as nature intended, avoid this edited CD and download the correct version of 'The Great Rock 'N' Roll Swindle' [Explicit] as an MP3 offering from Amazon instead [or there is an expensive but complete 'import CD']. Despite their massive influence on popular culture, the Sex Pistols were only around from November 1975 to January 1978.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Glad i didnt pay full price, 29 Feb 2012
I bought this as a used copy as i had the original on vinyl many moons ago!
I must have got carried away with nostalgia as its not as good as i remember, Some of the tracks are belters (IMHO) e.g Silly Thing, My Way ,Friggin in the riggin,Anarchy and GSTQ but that doesnt make it a worthwhile purchase for me ....Shame really!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Album that nearly killed punk!, 11 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. Douglas Anderson "Dougie" (Falkirk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In general this album is rubbish and i would not recommend it to anyone. However as a pistols fan it contains the odd classic like sid's My way or the Winterland version of Belsen. At amazon's price of 3.99 it was worth it. But for anyone new to the sex pistols, go and buy Never mind the Bollocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's A Swindle!, 28 Feb 2005
By A Customer
Forget objectivity this album is so obviously an insult to it's intended audience that it's beyond a joke.Then why do i find it so incredibly entertaining then? Punk rock always had a sense of the ridiculous.That was often missed by it's detractors but as it was an antedote to the po faced mush that preceeded it we can understand that.It's a mixed bag based on a film that was never really a film and contains all kinds of curios that many Pistols purists still find beneath contempt.As a collection of music it is fine, and like it or not, a part of the Pistols legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Swindle? Definitely!, 24 Mar 2002
With the departure of Johnny Rotten, the Sex Pistols should have been no more, and this album is excellent proof of that. It is mostly novelty songs and songs sung by other members of the band, but there is nothing that comes even close to anything that was sung/snarled by Johnny Rotten.
Let me ask you this - if it wasn't for the name 'Sex Pistols' on the front, would you buy and album of mostly cover versions sung by the other members of the band or their manager after the singer left, filled in with some accordian music and badly recorded rehearsals? I think not, and I regretted buying it on vinyl all those years ago for exactly these reasons. Never Mind the Bollocks was an awesome album, but this is only the Sex Pistols in name.
Go and buy Never Mind the Bollocks instead, it's a million times better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charming Mess, 6 Oct 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This is perhaps more McLaren’s album than that of the Sex Pistols. It’s a mess, it’s in bad taste, but at least it’s an interesting mess. The God Save The Queen Symphony with vocals by McLaren is truly strange. The French version of Anarchy by one Jerzimy accompanied by an accordian is poignant but bizarre, while the two version of Einmal war Belsen Vortefflich (the second with vocals by Ronnie Biggs, are beyond redemption. The famous My Way a la Sid Vicious has a certain tragic charm and does not seem out of place amid all the weirdness. The orchestral version of EMI with vocal by Steve Jones is quite impressive with its sinister lyrics, while Friggin’ in the Riggin’ , sung by Steve Jones is crude and vulgar. This is followed by the entirely pointless You Need Hands by Malcolm McLaren. The album concludes with Tenpole Tudor’s messy but at least enthusiastic Who Killed Bambi. Bearing in mind that this is a soundtrack and that the group had already split up at its release, it’s still probably one of the worst second albums in history. Whereas the first album mocked the establishment and the music business, this one mocked the Sex Pistols themselves. It’s a very interesting piece of rock ‘n roll history but not a great listening experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great Rock n Roll swindle, 30 Sep 2011
By 
D. Jordan (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
New item good price, Brings back memories of my school days, great album if you like old school punk rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you think it's a swindle, you can just..........download the [explicit] MP3 version instead, 7 Jan 2010
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
The Sex Pistols 'biopoc' film 'The Great Rock'n'Roll Swindle' was cobbled together from various failed film projects after the band had split [with Eddie 'Ten Pole Tudor' taking Johnny Rottens uncooperative place], and the films soundtrack spawned two LP records - the nearest thing to the Sex Pistol's second studio album, but actually nothing of the sort. Great raucus fun though from the Sex Pistols and their mates, and often surprisingly sharply delivered.

I was 18 when this anarchic double album 'The Great Rock-n-Roll Swindle' was released [2 years after Punks anthem album: 'Never Mind the Bollocks']. I absolutely loved this double LP set - and the accompanying movie [particularly Irene Handle standing tastefully in the background]. But then I was a young(ish) punk [the target audience], and all my records were '20 of a different kind'. I bought this `Great Rock-and-Roll Swindle' double album knowing that my mother, father, aunts, uncles, and grandparents still absolutely loathed The Sex Pistols with a passion.....I mean how cool was that!

Granted the album was an endearing mess, with even the album tracks on the cover not corresponding with their order on the LPs - although the LP labels do say "Sorry about incorrect listing on sleeve - it's another swindle". For me `Never mind the bollocks' had already done all the anti-establishment stuff. And after all the Sex Pistols had shamelessly self-promoted themselves by being as rude, shocking and noisy as possible. At the time `Never mind the Bollocks' was banned from some record shop windows, with the law even sitting in judgement on whether the album cover was obscene [apparently the word was just Anglo-Saxon for a small handball, so no it wasn't]. In the era of `decency', Mary Whitehouse and a total swearing ban on TV, the Sex Pistols shocked - and in many ways deliberately so as part of their `great rock-and-roll swindle'. Any publicity is good publicity and their fame/infamy rapidly meant money, success and influence for them [Glen Matlock, their original musical architect and songwriter, was 'sacked' early on for allegedly liking The Beatles but more likely for valuing pop over posing] - but fortunately the Sex Pistols also had the raw energy and talent to deliver the goods. In this 'Swindle' double album the Sex Pistols are their honest selves, musically mooning at their fans and neither giving a t*ss. As one mature reviewer of the time said at the end of his review: "after playing this Sex Pistols album, every other record in your collection seems tame".....

For the Punk purist, please note that this imported CD is the correct copy of the original [one cheaper UK CD release has just 12 tracks, although full 24 track UK CDs also exist], with order of the tracks from the 1979 album being:

Side One: God Save The Queen (Symphony) / Johnny B. Goode / Road Runner / Black Arabs / Anarchy In The U.K.
Side Two: Substitute / (Don't Give Me) No Lip Child / (I'm not your) Stepping Stone / Anarchie Pour L'U.K. / Belsen Was A Gas / Einmal Belsen War Wirflich Bortefflich (Belsen Vos A Gassa)
Side Three: Silly Thing / My Way / I Wanna Be Me / Something Else / Rock Around The Clock / Lonely Boy / No One Is Innocent
Side Four: C'mon Everybody / E.M.I. (Orchestral version) / The Great Rock 'N' Roll Swindle / Friggin' In The Riggin' / You Need Hands / Who Killed Bambi

From memory, the above order roughly follows the correct order of the tracks within the film [this 'album' is just the movie soundtrack after all]. Apparently back in 1979 the double album was released in 2 versions with varying track listings, with the above [from my LPs] being the most common vinyl track order. To get the album as nature intended, either buy this often expensive imported CD or download the correct 'The Great Rock 'N' Roll Swindle' [Explicit] sequence of tracks as an MP3 offering from Amazon instead. Despite their massive influence on popular culture, the Sex Pistols were only around from November 1975 to January 1978.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews