Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scribbler
Fantastic entertainment. You can dip into this when the urge takes you, an excellent compendium for short trips away, or while laying in the bath wrinkling.
Published on 23 Aug. 2012 by scribbler

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pot boilers.
The selection of stories is good - for the occasional read. No harm in that - there is a need for light weight work.
Published 17 months ago by Mr L C Hughes


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scribbler, 23 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Science Fiction Megapack (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic entertainment. You can dip into this when the urge takes you, an excellent compendium for short trips away, or while laying in the bath wrinkling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch, 29 July 2012
By 
Mole "Mole" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Science Fiction Megapack (Kindle Edition)
If you like SF, then here is a collection of some really good stories, including several by some of the best known names in the genre. It also includes one by Ayn Rand, someone that I had never considered as an SF writer; it is a novella of a dystopian future, that in some ways could be seen as a prophetic tale that might have inspired one or two other stories.

This collection has some really good narratives; stories that make you think and cause you to question what you know and believe. Within the collection, there are sufficient different ideas to appeal to almost any SF reader and offer a really excellent look into some of the best writing around.

It's a really good collection, a great addition to the other volumes in the series and one that is well worth getting. Suitable for use on the Kindle when travelling or on holiday. I thought that it was well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First Contact stories that break the mould, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Science Fiction Megapack (Kindle Edition)
A collection of sf stories by legends and rising stars, including two of the greatest, Asimov and Philip K Dick.
The general theme of the stories seem to be first contact with alien races, but if you are expecting something in the vain of Spielberg's Close Encounters, than think again. Each of the stories takes its own approach to the concept, often portraying humans as the advanced alien race, or as a space-fairing race coming into contact with new species and entities, like in Beyond Lies the Wub, by Philip K Dick, where the humans barter for a large porcine creatures with the locals but get more than they bargain for. There are other tales too, such as The Life Work of Professor Muntz by Murray Leinster, which is a time travel story and The Big Trip Up Yonder by Kurt Vonnegut Jr., a cautionary tale about the dangers (or the lack of them) of the fountain of youth.
The Megapacks are generally some of the best sf stories curated by some of the biggest names in Sf and will definitely entertain, amuse and challenge the stereotypes of sf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, excellent value at this price., 11 Dec. 2014
This review is from: The Fourth Science Fiction Megapack (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed almost all of these, including the story of "Tiny" and even when I could guess the likely outcome of "Slim" and "Red's" story. Why not 5 stars? At least one story was familiar from previous reading, may even have been another megapack, but haven't checked; also, I didn't enjoy Anthem - this is not just because I disagree with the underlying premise and philosophy, the whole style was too agressive. I have no problem with people presenting beliefs in narrative form, that is what SF is about. I have enjoyed stories even while disagreeing with the author, what I disapprove of is the feeling that the world of a story is merely a "set up", a "straw man", highly unpleasant, simply so the reader accepts and welcomes the punchline. I dislike being lectured at or manipulated - this did not earn the right to be heard and was too forced. And, to be blunt, the underlying philosophy is abhorrent and contradictory - Prometheus gains many of his ideas from books he finds, even though he calls them "my books", he and his mate are dependent upon others for their home and their ideas. I did not feel that this deserved to be included. And I would feel the same way if someone were to present my beliefs in such a propagandistic style. Philosophical, political or religious allegories have survived or become classics because they are well written and readable, so that they are appreciated even by those who disagree with their views - e.g.; Rowan Williams' recommending Philip Pullman's writing or the love of C.S. Lewis's Narnia stories by Christian and non-Christian alike. Some people are unaware of any allegorical or hidden meaning at all and still love Aslan. Anthem is no Narnia and Rand is no Lewis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant.... Classic Sci Fi short stories., 30 Nov. 2013
This review is from: The Fourth Science Fiction Megapack (Kindle Edition)
An eclectic mix of some great Sci-fi short stories... Some very clever, some strange but Sci Do nonetheless. I am a big fan of the SF short stories and this did not disappoint. This series of books is a great wee purchase. Recommended for SF fans everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The fourth science fiction megapack, 25 Dec. 2013
By 
Alan Martin Atkinson "a.atkinson17" (stockport,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Science Fiction Megapack (Kindle Edition)
This collection reminded me of why I loved science fiction as a youth. Especially the stories of Harry Harrison and Isaac Asimov.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Science Fiction Megapack (Kindle Edition)
I love the variety of stories here from the range of different authors. Lots of surprises. Some quite long almost small books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Sci-fi fans, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Science Fiction Megapack (Kindle Edition)
If you love Sci-fI then these Megapacks are the business. Great for a short journey read when it can be difficult to get into a full book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pot boilers., 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Science Fiction Megapack (Kindle Edition)
The selection of stories is good - for the occasional read. No harm in that - there is a need for light weight work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Holiday read., 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Science Fiction Megapack (Kindle Edition)
Bought it for a holiday read found the stories encapsulating and interesting and varied. Excellent value for money worth a buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews