Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We have here a COD/Battlefield and Halo killer.
Since Farcry instincts on the xbox when it was less known, it has evolved into something bigger and better each time whilst also learning from past mistakes.

4 years ago we had Farcry 2, a brilliant and realistic game, that with it's brilliance was marred by frustrations and chore like gameplay coupled with a nonsensical storyline or dilemmas with no...
Published 16 months ago by B. white

versus
0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Was expecting more. Buy 2nd hand if you must play it!
The base graphics engine is a work of art and its a crying shame they don't license out their IP to other gaming companies for use in other games! I still love and still play Far Cy 2 on Xbox & PC, especially online with the PC version. But after several years of waiting for FR3-- this is it?!!!

I loved the Far Cry 2 Dunia engine, it was so naturally beautiful...
Published 15 months ago by --


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We have here a COD/Battlefield and Halo killer., 30 Nov 2012
By 
B. white "UNDEAD WOLF 8D - Gamertag" (Uk - London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - Insane Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Since Farcry instincts on the xbox when it was less known, it has evolved into something bigger and better each time whilst also learning from past mistakes.

4 years ago we had Farcry 2, a brilliant and realistic game, that with it's brilliance was marred by frustrations and chore like gameplay coupled with a nonsensical storyline or dilemmas with no consequence.

Now we have a somewhat anticipated Farcry 3 to top the year off, you may have read some reviews already giving it 10/10 and saying it's the best shooter ever made. They aren't far off.

FC2 was a chore to play, vehicles were slow and would need repairing every few yards, enemies could withstand a full clip before dying, enemies would somehow drive round a corner and attack you, enemy checkpoints would always respawn. The controls were a little sluggish and death meant suffering all of this again to travel to an objective again!

Thankfully Ubisoft was made aware of these problems, now the controls are more fluid and sharp. The vehicles are faster and scarcely break down. You don't have to worry about malaria. Enemies die if you shoot 1 bullet in the head. They don't magically spawn round corners from you or at checkpoints. Overall the game is a lot more fun to play.

First being the Insane edition, the content. You get a funny little Vass bobblehead, a cool survival pouch, an interesting survival guide that looks hand written (not just some strategy guide full of item locations in the game etc) and some nice DLC content.

GAMEPLAY: 10/10

COVER/FIRE MECHANIC:
There is now an intuitive cover and fire mechanic, where if near a wall your character realistically holds his gun upwards so it doesn't go through the wall like a ghost gun. If you press RT you will do some erratic shooting and holding LT makes you pop up to shoot, you aren't locked onto the wall and thus makes it the best cover/fire system I've used. Especially in comparison with perfect dark zero and Resident Evil 6's versions.

AI:
The AI in this game don't just magically respawn and no longer take bullets like The Terminator, but also don't magically appear near you to attack. They make their own patrolling rounds on the island or sometimes get into their own gun battles with the islands Natives (The Rakyat) or might simply be getting attacked by animals, and chancing upon such scenarios makes the world feel more realistic. If you attack them on the road backup will come and search for you in the area, it's nice. You can also use stealth to evade them, hiding behind bushes etc.

PERKS:
The game now has a perk system in single player, but not Call of Duty, you have 3 types of skills, the Heron, the..Bird, and the Spider (I forgot the 2nd) The perks you get are pretty good and feel quite useful in the game. From different takedowns, and health/stamina attributes to the running slide and dragging bodies. There are also perks in multiplayer more akin to Call of Duty.

VEHICLES:
Unlike the last game, they are faster and stronger. They also come in slightly more variety such as jet ski's and now the readily available ATV. They handle nicely too and you can handbrake with B, even jump out of the moving vehicle with a nice rolling animation. For those who don't know, you can use hang gliders too which handle better and are perched in places you won't be able to resist gliding from. Vehicles are all first person view and some have an unchangeable radio station, the music suiting the games theme perfectly. The only big problem is Ubisoft made the near fatal error of removing Vehicles from mutliplayer, more on this later.

WEAPONS:
Farcry 2 did certainly get one thing right, the guns, they were nice to look at and most realistic to use than any other game. They would over time get worn and rust before jamming and simply breaking in your hands. I think this game may have removed the weapon degradation and jamming? I don't particularly mind this. But the guns look even better and they sound fantastic, if fired in a WWII bunker it sounds the part. There are a good number of weapons too, from bows to heavy machine guns and of course the flamethrower. I should mention fire propagation is back.

REALSIM:
The game still has the cool and painful looking healing mechanic. If your health dips into the last bar, rather than waiting for it to slowly regenerate, you can hold Y to regain the bar via healing yourself in a context sensitive fashion to however you were injured. Drop from a height and watch your dislocated thumb be snapped back into place. Get fired at? Watch the bullet be pulled out with your teeth then spat out, scratched by a crazy big bird? you'll wrap up the scratch wounds on your arm. Stand next to a grenade? a piece of shrapnel will be pulled from his hand. This mechanic is unique and fun to have. You can otherwise heal yourself with a syringe should you have some. Sometimes the healing animations do get muddled up, how crashing my car off a cliff would result in biting a bullet out ones arm I don't know. And there are fewer animations than Farcry 2, still nice to have though.

The game now has a crafting system like Skyrim, it factors in near everything, a wallet for how much money, a loot back for, loot, holsters for how many weapons you can carry (4 max) all different types of ammo pouches. They are made from skinning various animals, and it adds a nice new depth to the game, as you brave an area rife with tigers and rabid dogs. Plants and such can also be harvested for different syringes and effects.

You have a camera now which can be used to scout the area ahead and tag enemies or even take pictures, I presume you can view these. You will tag enemies upon aiming at them I believe but this is bad for a immersion and any challenge so I recommend turning it off in the options.

The animals are the level of depth Farcry 2 lacked, African savanah and no Lions? To be fair Lions and tigers etc don't need to be killed in a videogame but it isn't real after all and doesn't represent peoples disposition towards those animals. So it's a joy to see this game has realistic pigs, goats, dogs, crocs, tapir's (with ant eater trunks), large birds, tigers, cheetah's, panthers, turtles, sharks, jellyfish, manta's, vultures, monkeys, crows, the list goes on.. Without these mostly dangerous animals, the game would be standing on 3 rather than 4 legs.

MULTIPLAYER:
Sadly this didn't work for me, and others, Ubisoft chose P2P servers rather than dedicated, and look at the result. Hopefully this will be resolved. You can however get all the weapons via ranks and several attachments/perks/equipment/special tier weapons like psyche gas and barrel bombs, also a somewhat basic tattoo editor.

CO-OP:
You play as 1 of 4 characters, all different and thrown together in their same goal. But out for revenge after their money stolen by a boat captain. This mode is somewhat linear goes along set routes, it's ok though for a extra bit of content with a friend or two.

MAP EDITOR:
I loved FC2's one, so couldn't wait for this one. It does have some more content, like Thematics such as WWII and Chinese Temple pieces. It feels a little restrictive thanks to Ubi Massive including AI, Wildlife, and Vehicles that can't actually be used in the editor (it won't validate) Other than this annoyance and having to be careful with memory, you can make near anything. I'm currently making the area behind my flats, will run up and down the garden paths shooting my friend.

VISUALS: 9.8/10

Gorgeous visuals, your tv/monitor will look like you could jump inside it and being in a once in a life time holiday. The trees/foliage and grass, the views and everything inbetween. The lighting effects are rather nice, the water looks lovely and froths as it contacts the edges of structures. The guns all have nice design and the muzzle flash is great whether close or far (real looking battles from afar) The character modeling is decent and lip sync too. The reason not a full 10 is sometimes you turn and see objects materialize, all large games will do this to handle memory (a fully loaded world that's always visible would screw performance, but if you're facing one way, why have the things behind you rendered?) However other games don't allow you to see things materialize at like a group of bats swarming together. Also the draw distances in this game aren't as good as Farcry2, at least they don't seem it. Down a path about 200 meters, walls and tree's tops won't be visible, yet large rock/mountain set pieces will be.

The game has a mini map (no more switching back & forth between physical map like FC2) However a lack of options to configure the HUD and turn off tool tips etc is a shame for such a visually nice game, hopefully Ubisoft add this soon.

SOUND EFFECTS: 10/10

This game has very good sound. The guns mostly all sound wonderful and change if fired in a certain interior type. The dialog is great, most notably Vaas (the sure to be memorable psycho and antagonist of the game) The script is well written and enjoyable, but delivered in equal measures.
The music is great, somewhat tribal yet mixed with a "lost world" feel and pieces of dark/insanity. Though you won't hear it a lo as the game opts for a more realistic exploration.

STORYLINE: ?/10

You play as air head Jason Brody, he and his girldfriend, 2 brothers and friends go on this once in a life time holiday to party and be typical annoying tourists. But things end up tragically wrong, and you end up alone and hunted.
Thanks to the great antagonist Vaas I think the story will be enjoyable to play through. But The premise of the game is freedom and you must reveal more of the map via climbing and removing scramblers from radio towers, plus doing side missions and exploring. So the main story would be rescuing your friends etc. There probably isn't a big revelation lying in wait but I've not completed it so can't say.

BAD SIDES:

For a brilliant game it has some niggles to iron out.
- Firstly there's a lack of HUD configuration which can affect immersion.
- Secondly Ubisoft removed vehicles from multiplayer to opt for more COD style team play. Bad move as vehicles are a staple of the Farcry series and differentiate it from most other games, it added unpredictability and much fun. 90% of fans according to a poll are angry with this choice and want them to not be restricted in the editor (you cannot publish maps with them in it)
Whether or not Ubisoft will make that change is anyones guess.
- The multiplayer is a bit off, the pre-made maps, the lobby, I can't put a finger to it. They did remove the new cover & fire system which is beyond me, removing such features will make it more linear and boring.
- Finally the game has some bug issues, the map editor is prone to freezing meaning SAVE OFTEN! to avoid frustration. Also the multiplayer isn't too playable at the moment, Ubi changed from Dedicated servers to P2P, this could be to do with it. I sat in a lobby for 5 minutes, only 2 people joined but they left with frustration, and me and my friend played firestorm for 20 minutes, no one joined. Patches are in the works however.

OVERALL: 10/10

The game offers what Call of Duty, Halo and Battlefield cannot or do not.
A large and addictive RPG-esque singleplayer.
Crocs, tigers, bears, gliders and more.
A big map editor for endless multiplayer fun.
Hopefully these bug/multiplayer related problems will be fixed and vehicles added as they stop it from being the perfect game experience.

But otherwise brilliant game, and perhaps game of the year narrowly ahead of the great Hitman Absolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Game!, 30 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - Insane Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I am really loving this game, great graphics and storyline! You are Jason a guy who was partying with his pals on holiday, and they get kidnapped by pirates lead by Vaas (The insane guy) as you probably already know. Your task is to save your friends using the great amount of weapons available. Far Cry is huge, I doubt you will even want to play the main missions with all these other things going on around you such as side quests, pirate outposts, wild animal encounters (Leapords, Boar, Goats, etc.) Compared to Far Cry 2 this is 10x better, the story is much more solid although they are both pretty similar. There is lots of equipment to choose from - snipers, tag camera, molotovs, C4, combat knives, crossbows! So much fun. When you are using the equipment you may use it stealthily or guns blazing, you can sit on a cliff sniping or get on a zip line and hip fire your AK47. You get XP for killing people/capturing outposts, you can use the points on new skills such as an extra health bar or new ways to kill enemy's. You can craft things too using flowers and skins you have picked, these things are extra equipment slots. The multiplayer is nothing special, just another call of duty type game but there is a coop game too which isn't too fun. The Insane Edition is very good, you get 2 DLC's and a lot of guns, the little survival booklet I got was scrunched up like a dog had tried to eat it, not sure if its supposed to be like that but I don't like it. The Vaas bobble head is quite cool but its head doesn't wobble enough! So yes brilliant game, try to get this edition if you can because its definitely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under 50 quid for a great game, good DLC and some nice little extra's! Great stuff!, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - Insane Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I shall keep this review short and sweet as haven't put a huge amount of time into yet as haven't had it long but my initial impressions (which I value alot :P) are fantastic graphics which are up there with Forza Horizon and Crysis 2 in my opinion. The character models and voice acting are outstanding so far and the sheer amount of content and things to do is incredible. Im not a major fan of sandbox type games as prefer more linear narratives generally but I believe it is done extremely well here and is alot of variety. I could go on and on but basically in terms of value for money and I think it has been dropped in price significantly since release already it is a must purchase for any action/adventure/FPS/light RPG hell any fan of games really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game in ages!!, 2 Dec 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - Insane Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Not a lot to add that hasn't already been written,but i buy a lot of games...despite my advancing years! and i've been disappointed a lot lately,i played Dishonored twice in about 2 days,and while it was good it was bloody short,same with Call of duty black ops 2,anyway this is big,fun and well worth 5 stars. My only niggle is that for some bizzare reason my bonus code for extras will not work! Annoying to say the least,as i purposely bought the limited edition. And why is it 114.00? I paid 49.99 in HMV!Anyway,great game and now i need to get back to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saturday and still no game?, 1 Dec 2012
By 
Dj Sherman (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - Insane Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This rant has nothing to do with the quality of Far Cry 3 or the developers or publishers.

I pre-ordered this back in August as I was extremely excited about it and am a huge fan of video-games in general.

I was hesitant to use Amazon as I pre-ordered Bioshock 2 back in 2010 and waited 2 weeks after the release date for my pre-order. I eventually cancelled the order and bought it off Steam.

Low and behold the first game I order since then and their delivery service screws up and my copy of Far Cry 3 is sitting in a Yodel depot in Dartford.

Personally I am not going to use Amazon again for anything until they change their delivery policy.

Please sort this out Amazon, I have sent your customer services a message but deemed it necessary to post over these pages about my issue as I don't want people to have to deal with waiting for something like I am even though you'd think by pre-ordering you would have some kind of priority.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do you know the Definition of Insanity?, 3 Jan 2014
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - Insane Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Far Cry 3 is overall a brilliant experience that everybody should have. The graphics to start with are amazing. Crisp visuals, stunning locations and textures. It truly is a delight to look at.

The gameplay is also fantastic. It's not a standard 'run in guns blazing' sort of game, unless you want to make it that way. There's plenty of stealth to be had and personally, that makes it much more fun for me. Hiding in tall grass, round corners, marking enemies and taking them out with a bow silently never felt so good.

The story line is brilliant as well. It's very immersive and get's you right into the game, albeit sometimes it get's a little strange! Character acting is also top notch, making them actually seem as crazy as the island you're on.

The Insane Edition is also a great little purchase. It comes in a survival style cloth wrap with an exclusive survival guide and free downloadable content. You also get a unique bobblehead of Vaas dressed as a hula-girl. Pretty Unique Indeed..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - Insane Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
great game and great coop and sound track to go with this amazing bundle game of the year for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - Insane Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
i had nothing to complain about, good product and it containes verything it said it did. just the box was slighlty damged but thats okay cause you throw that away any way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - Insane Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game was a surprise to me. I never played Far cry 1 but did play Far Cry 2 and i hated that one. Far Cry 3 is a revamp of the franchise and Ubisoft did a great job with it. How everything just looking so real and all wanting to kill you makes it a very tense game. The story line is brilliant and I have had no technical issues so far. If you have the chance buy this edition. (The booblehead is a great trophy of your insanity)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - Insane Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A sunny island, a psychopath, another sunny island, free-roaming, RPG-elements, jeeps, boats, wild animals, lots todo. In short: a must-buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5f1d3a8)

This product

Far Cry 3 - Insane Edition (Xbox 360)
49.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews