Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A forgotten prog rock classic
Kayak are a keyboard driven band who mix rhythmic complexity with sweet and subtle melodies. This is their finest hour; 50 minutes of rich and varied music with some moments of transcendental beauty.
Published on 4 Oct 2004 by Yellow Dog

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars memory lane
I know these songs from my childhood. I liked the singing, sharp as a knife and the instrumental craftmenship. But nowadays this Dutch group sounds lika a seventies symphonic group in the tradition of Yes. Still allright, but don't expect the magic feeling you might have had hearing it in the seventies.
Published 5 months ago by J. G. Vd Warenburg


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A forgotten prog rock classic, 4 Oct 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See See the Sun (Audio CD)
Kayak are a keyboard driven band who mix rhythmic complexity with sweet and subtle melodies. This is their finest hour; 50 minutes of rich and varied music with some moments of transcendental beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brain Shredder, 4 Aug 2012
This review is from: See See The Sun (Audio CD)
Thank the Gods for Esoteric, once again. Holy F*****ing Cow this is one of the most brilliant and thrilling albums of all time by any band. 70s yes but still timeless. Forget references to other bands, Kayak were in a league of their own, creating a musical world of dramatic compositions, melodic roller coasters, stunning performances, lyrical genius and gripping emotional adventures. Prepare your brain, crank it up to 11 and let yourself go. Turn up "Mouldy Wood" and "Lovely Luna" to 12 and feel your head explode. Ten stars for Kayak!!! Ps Esoteric, next up will be Royal Bed Bouncer, right???!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great find, 23 Oct 2012
This review is from: See See The Sun (Audio CD)
I was in Amsterdam in the 70s and 80s (what a great time to be there!) and went to every Kayak concert going. What a great band! I didn't realise so many of their albums were available again (I bought a double remastered CD in Holland a couple of years ago - Starlight dancer, Phantom of the night and Periscope life), all great CDs. See, see the sun was one of their best records. Speaking of great Dutch bands of the 70s though, don't forget Alcuin. Just as good in their own way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best prog albums I've heard!, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See See The Sun (Audio CD)
My title says it all!
Totally different and refreshing!
Wish I'd have discovered this way back, never mind I have it now and not parting with it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars memory lane, 13 Feb 2014
By 
J. G. Vd Warenburg (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See See The Sun (Audio CD)
I know these songs from my childhood. I liked the singing, sharp as a knife and the instrumental craftmenship. But nowadays this Dutch group sounds lika a seventies symphonic group in the tradition of Yes. Still allright, but don't expect the magic feeling you might have had hearing it in the seventies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Prog Rock, 25 July 2013
By 
Marc Notelteirs "Marc" (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See See The Sun (Audio CD)
I owned the lp album in the seventies and later the first cd release, but this remastered version has much improved sound quality. If you are a progrock fan you should not miss his. It's up there with top work of Yes, Genesis, Pink floyd and others. A real masterpiece in my opinion. check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Um clássico holandês (portuguese only), 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See See The Sun (Audio CD)
Essa pérola do Rock Progressivo holandês é a prova de que 1973 foi um ano especial. Kayak, em seu melhor momento. Só não dei 5 estrelas porque achei que a remasterização ficou aguda demais. Tive que reforçar os graves do meu equipamento pra curtir esse clássico em sua plenitude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

See See The Sun
See See The Sun by Kayak (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews