Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pricey but solid.
I've been after these since first seeing them on the P90x+ workout series. In that they used the earlier version of the powerstands which were made of metal and a few inches higher. Due to their design, the metal ones were causing a few injuries so they were redesigned and made slightly lower and now from plastic. This caused a real backlash on the american amazon site...
Published 19 months ago by Flyingfox7

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a cheap product for the price they charge
I just received this product today and I can confirm that this product is NOT SO WELL made for the massive price they charge, one of the stands have a clear crack around the hole where the bar handle is inserted, this reveals the poor material used that could later crack when one starts using the stands on a regular basis, seriously, they should sell Iron built stands for...
Published 9 months ago by Ibrahim


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pricey but solid., 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Horton's Push Up PowerStands for P90X, P90X2 and P90X3 (Sports)
I've been after these since first seeing them on the P90x+ workout series. In that they used the earlier version of the powerstands which were made of metal and a few inches higher. Due to their design, the metal ones were causing a few injuries so they were redesigned and made slightly lower and now from plastic. This caused a real backlash on the american amazon site with people complaining that they wanted the metal ones back and that these and had obviously been made cheaper in order to maximize profits. Whatever the reason, taking this product as it is I feel that these are the best stands on the market. First of all they're huge, the base being over a foot across making them very stable when doing wider grip push ups. The grips are really thick and very comfortable in the hand being padded with soft rubber as they are. The rubber base also helps them grip when used on wood floors. Although plastic, the info sheet says they can support upto 300lbs which I believe. I'm 6ft 5" and often use them as a kind of parallel bars by balancing in planche positions and they support me with ease. They arrive in 2 pieces and have to be assembled with bolts and allen keys which are provided, the process taking a minute or two at most.

My only gripe is the price tag which does seem a little steep, the fact that they are branded with Tony Horton's signature seemingly meaning they can be sold for more but i suppose thats the same with all branded items.

These stands certainly won't dissapoint, but at the price you need to be using them regularly in order to justify their purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a cheap product for the price they charge, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Horton's Push Up PowerStands for P90X, P90X2 and P90X3 (Sports)
I just received this product today and I can confirm that this product is NOT SO WELL made for the massive price they charge, one of the stands have a clear crack around the hole where the bar handle is inserted, this reveals the poor material used that could later crack when one starts using the stands on a regular basis, seriously, they should sell Iron built stands for this price to justify 44 pounds, not some hollow plastic rings, bottom line, I returned these straight away after inspecting these within 5-10 minutes to get a refund and to better invest that in a better product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great push up stands, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Horton's Push Up PowerStands for P90X, P90X2 and P90X3 (Sports)
I wanted to incorporate more push ups again in my exercise regimen besides all the barbell, dumbbell and dipping exercises I do for chest at the gym. Doing push ups on stands have always felt better to my wrists.

* The Powerstands are made of plastic but they are solid. They are easy to put together, click the handles in their base and tighten the 2 bolts per stand with the provided Allen wrench (there's even a spare bolt included).

* The handles are thick and feel great. They have a diameter of about 4,8 cm (about 4 cm where there's no cushioning. The thickness provides good support for your hands and distributes the tension better making push ups more comfortable on the hands and wrists. The cushioning on the handles is what especially makes them feel good and gives extra comfort when doing a lot of repetitions. I hope the cushioning will last. I don't say that cause of the quality, it's not cheap cushioning like on the cheap push up stands for sure. It's just that the cushioning makes them feel nice. If worst case they'd tear after years of use, I think you could cushion them with tape like used on a tennis racket handle.

* The handles are slightly slanted. This is so the wrists stay in a better position during the push ups. They are about 14 cm high off the floor. This is high enough for a good stretch at the bottom of the push up. I wouldn't recommend going too low cause it's bad for your shoulder joint.

* The base of the stands is wide (about 28,8 cm). They will never tip over and with this peace of mind you can focus your mind on just cranking out those reps. The non-slip rubber on the bottom makes sure the handles don't slip on surfaces like that of laminate floors. A consequence of having the wide base, is that when doing diamond push ups, you won't be able to do them with the hands as close to each other as when you'd do them with hands on the floor, thumbs and pointing fingers touching each other (the bases touching each other will prevent that). You can still get close enough to do a good diamond push up though (shift your hands a bit to the edge of the handle instead of holding in the middle).

* Would it have been better if they were made of steel? Yes and no.
It would have given even more stability (due to weight) and durability, but with the stands the extra weight for stability wouldn't matter too much in this case since the stability mainly comes from the wide base and thick handle. Made out of plastic like they are, they are lighter in weight, 816 grams a piece to be precise, and thus easier to transport if you'd like to bring them along.
The best steel version would be one where the design is the same as this plastic one but welded everywhere, so not like the old version of these push up stands where they used bolts at the handles which carried the weight. A steel version would cost more to produce I'm sure.

* You can also perform some other exercises like L-sits with these handles, which are great for your abs. You can also use the stands to perform handstand push ups. Although the angled handles are somewhat of a negative aspect when it comes to these exercises and the height of the handles just a bit too low.

Overall I'd recommend the stands. They are pricey though and I contemplated quite a bit on my buying decision beforehand because of that. Being made out of plastic you'd think these could be sold for 10 pounds less. The only good alternative I had were some steel parallettes (used for gymnastics, crossfit) but they cost twice as much. I think it was worth it to pay the premium compared to the cheap push up stands, given the extra comfort, the stability and the thick handles of the PowerStands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality push up stands, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Horton's Push Up PowerStands for P90X, P90X2 and P90X3 (Sports)
I've just bought these as I'm doing a P90X / Insanity hybrid workout. I'm 6'4" and 16.5st.
The one downside to these stands is the price.
Apart from this they are top class. They need to be assembled which is very simple. Once assembled they are very solid, comfortable to grip and do not slide even on the varnished wooden floor I use. They have a wide base, approx 1ft across and non slip pads underneath. If you want a quality push up stand and are willing to pay then I highly recommend these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stands are functional, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Horton's Push Up PowerStands for P90X, P90X2 and P90X3 (Sports)
Stands are rigid and exactly as advertised. But there are cheaper, just as good stands available that do the same job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like it, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Horton's Push Up PowerStands for P90X, P90X2 and P90X3 (Sports)
Gamechanger. If you have done a lot of pushups this gear will bring you new opportunities to develop yourself. Very good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Horton's Push Up PowerStands for P90X, P90X2 and P90X3 (Sports)
Great buy the best on the market, although a bit pricy well worth it in my own opinion. I would recommend these to my friends and family. These take away wrist issues when doing many different types of push ups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quality, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Horton's Push Up PowerStands for P90X, P90X2 and P90X3 (Sports)
was suffering with sore wrist bought theses there great problem solved great quality well made took minutes to assemble quick post .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Way to bigger than I thought, but very sturdy, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Horton's Push Up PowerStands for P90X, P90X2 and P90X3 (Sports)
When I originally opened these power stands they were a little different than what I was expecting. I was expecting somethign simular to the ones in the videos. These are huge. When I put them together (after a small issue), I have found them much sturdier than the cheap ones I had been using.

I had a slight issue putting one of them together, but contacted the seller and they were really helpful and sent out a replacement one the next working day.

I did think about sending them back, but after lkooking at others on the market, these are by far the best. They are plastic, but very sturdy (see others that have reviewed on this too)

All round I'm please with them now and will be keeping them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stand powerfully!, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Horton's Push Up PowerStands for P90X, P90X2 and P90X3 (Sports)
Despite the hefty price tag and some concerns over durability over the old metal version. Once assembled and used, these feel great, strong and stable, and see how they (almost) justify the extra dollar. Much more stable than other designs used in past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews